We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel room was clean and basic. The location is decent. Borderline seedy area immediately surrounding the hotel but pretty easy walking distance to points of interest. The real problems are with the hotel amenities - or lack there of. There is essentially NO maid service (replaced bath towels only on 3rd day but not hand towel, washcloth or even making the bed). And they do not make you aware of this before hand so it's all the more disappointing when you return to your room after a long day to an unmade bed w/ dirty towels. The front desk staff is not helpful in the slightest re: accessing the city (fun tips, directions, etc). It was also hard to understand/communicate w/ the desk staff as English was not their 1st language. To make matters worse, upon checkout the desk attendant shorted me $5 change after I paid for parking. Lucky I caught it but just shouldn't happen. No complimentary internet (even 30 min/24 hours) is the least of this places problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UFPA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. Hotel apartments are often not serviced on a daily basis. We are always happy to provide a service when a guest makes a request. I have passed on your review to our reception team as we do strive each and every day to provide the very best in customer service.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    600
    183
    84
    28
See reviews for
465
498
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in a not so good apartment in Wellington earlier this week I was a little apprehensive as to how this would turn out but was pleasantly surprised. The apartment was clean and well equipped with comfortable beds and sofa. Modern well presented furniture including balcony furniture (on one of the two balconies anyway). Friendly helpful staff and a good Indian restaurant in the lobby area. Excellent location for exploring the city and surrounding areas. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. I can only agree that it is a great location with easy access to many attractions & wonderful eateries in the Britomart area. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

My kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Very unimpressive entrance and lobby, but staff was welcoming and our room (apartment) was a real surprise. Two bedrooms, well equipped kitchen, balcony with a view and good price make this a great choice. Location is fine with an easy walk to the docks or central shopping areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We are in the process of making changes to the Lobby & painting has already begun in corridors. We hope to see you again soon!

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Where to start, this place needs help! When you arrive, the hotel doesn't even have a proper driveway area to drop bags off. Parking is off site. The website is wrong when it lists onsite as an option. When checking in, the staff is not helpful! When asked about a cart for bags, they simply pointed to a rickety old cart. Originally, they had listed my reservation as unpaid. I know I paid the reservation well in advance. The lobby is depressing and is overshadowed by the aroma of the Indian restaurant attached. The hallways are in need of help: bad lighting and ripped wallpaper in some areas. The rooms are alright but our balcony was full of random bags of shells. When I informed the reception staff upon checkout, they were confused why anything would be on our balcony. The hotel charges $50 if you loose a plastic key card they will simply reset anyways. The walls are thin and our neighbors were loud. They could easily help themselves with a bellhop, valet to take the cars off site to the parking and a component reception staff. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 306 in the Emily tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dk1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property/business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.”

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Not impressed only serviced the room once in 6 days. 1 roll of toilet paper. Only one lift which we had to wait for 25mins one day. Bed hard and quilt dirty covered by a sheet. Very budget for $165 per night - not again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I was disappointed to read your comments and am very sorry for the problems you encountered. There are some obvious areas that we need to address & with this in mind I ask that you contact me directly on 09 280 2200 where we have an opportunity to create a much better experience at our property
I thank you for bringing your experience to my attention.

My best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I like this place when travelling without a car, and this was my fourth stay. With a car, the hassles of loading and unloading, and parking mean that I generally look elsewhere. As usual, the apartment was clean, well equipped and the staff generally good. There were a couple of issues. Firstly, I wish they would get with the world and offer free wireless internet as a basic and necessary hotel facility (a common criticism of NZ and Australian hotels). Secondly, the housekeeping staff knocked on the door well before check out time to ask when I would be checking out. This has happened every time I have stayed here. I really dislike this. Sure, if I am late checking out, knock as much as you like, but leave me alone until checkout time please!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'not so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us.I have passed on your feedback to our Executive House keeper &staff as it helps to make us better. I can only apologise for any negative experience you had with parking.We now have the opportunity to implement changes & I would welcome the opportunity to create a better experience.

My kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Me & My Friend(Female) Stayed here for a night to celebrate her 21st, On Arrival I asked about the on site parking and he just ignored me and said there is only off site parking, even though it states on the website there is onsite parking so why was I told differently. The parking was a little walk away so we asked to take our luggage up to the room before taking our car away, he wouldn't let us do this so my friend had to stay with our luggage while I parked the car and walked back, Really? We already gave our credit card details for a bond, paid 200 dollars for the room and he was still acting as if we had no right to be there,
He then asked who else would be staying repeatedly even though we were telling him it was only the two of us, He clearly didn't believe us, when we asked for a second room key he just said "no there is only two of you" Uh yeah, two people, two cards... considering you have to put a room key in the room for power, what if one of us wanted to go somewhere and the other stayed? It made sense for us to have two room keys, no idea why we were questioned when we're the ones who have to pay the ridiculous $50 charge if we lost them, it is of no inconvenience to him he was just plain rude.
Anyway we stayed in a 1 bedroom on a high floor, it was lovely and we had a slight view of the water too. Rooms Modern and not too loud from street noise.
Area isn't the best if you plan on doing a lot of walking or have small children, a lot of drunk/homeless men try to talk to you on the street outside which can be quite uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Higher Floor, Facing the street has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.
I would invite you to contact me personally at 09 280 2203 (direct line), or celestiongm@waldorf.co.nz to discuss this with you further.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing