We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$129
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$202
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$184
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$266
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
US$290
US$247
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$229
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveller rating
521
624
200
97
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
624
200
97
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan indian restaurantvector arenabig supermarketmain bedroomcountdown supermarketon site parkingliving roomminute walksecond bedroomwell equipped kitchenferry terminalthe ground floorqueen streetcar parkingbeds were very comfortablecentral locationking bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
838 - 843 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Lovely clean, modern and comfortable 2brm apartment with most things you need except in-room laundry facilities (house laundry available at nominal charge). Main living area and bedrooms a little small but reasonable location within downtown Auckland. Views from our sixth floor apartment not spectacular as we were in the rear wing looking behind hotel despite requesting higher floor room with a view and hopefully to also escape the street noise a bit (first night was Saturday night and there was a fair bit of noise coming from partygoers down below having a night on the town). From memory there were 18 floors to the top of the building so to get allocated a room on the sixth when you specifically ask for a high floor says lack of effort to me. Was that because we booked through a cheaper Internet booking website?? Always wonder about that!

It's worth noting too that if you are arriving by car there is absolutely nowhere to stop on the busy road outside while checking in which is a real problem and onsite overnight parking is expensive (approx $25/night) and very limited. Cheaper offsite parking is also available. Have to say all staff we dealt with were excellent and overall the apartments are good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Higher floor would be better but obviously not always guaranteed when requested.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muznkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our lovely clean apartments and the great experience you had with staff at Celestion. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our 6 week swing through Bali, New Zealand, Melbourne and Singapore has caused me to reflect on how I go about choosing hotels. I want to book everything in advance - I'm not the kind of person happy about arriving in a city at 6pm and setting about finding a hotel. Trip Advisor is always my starting point - highest on the list that fits my budget, then seek other opinions and in terms of booking get prices from Booking.com et al but see if I can match that directly (booking directly a strong preference - I want the hotel to have the money, not a web agency).
The problem sometimes is that without knowing the city one can be misled by what looks and sounds like a "central location" or "proximity to the main sights" and end up by some huge intersection with busy roads to cross wherever you go.
This falls a bit into that camp - it's an unremarkable building in an unremarkable street. There is no parking right by the hotel, even unloading bags depends on a lane by the front door which looks like it should lead to parking - but the receptionist says it doesn't and you get fairly complex directions to a nearby carpark.
The lobby leaves a lot to be desired too - it's a long thin dark space with no charm. But the rooms are pleasant - we had a two bedroom apartment with plenty of space and a view (of another tower block - but a view) and, like so many places in New Zealand, a stove and cooking equipment. Does anyone use this stuff, food isn't expensive here. I can just imagine the look on a French hotelier's face if you suggested he install such things in his rooms - this is what restaurants are for!
So the rooms rescue what might otherwise be a fairly dire situation. It isn't a hotel, it's an apartment/motel in a tower block and it does that pretty well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate that you took time to give us valuable
feedback on your stay.
Unfortunately, we are not perfect, but we do strive each and every day to provide the very best in customer service and quality accommodation to our guests. Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A fantastic 14th floor, two bed place, with large living area, vast, full width balcony with great views. Galley kitchen enough for needs and good bathroom. Aircon fine with one unit in living area. We needed both bedrooms. One is OK, if fine about having NO window and had a super king size bed...Need to close double glass door if do not want the aircon...Other bedroom has floor to ceiling window looking to balcony & a king sized bed. Benefitted best from aircon with door open all the same. Down side was the air duct, related to the aircon system on balcony directly outside the bedroom window (which does NOT open all the same..) This WAS noisy and I needed earpugs accordingly, but worth it to wake up to that great view of the port...Come on!! At these prices what is NOT to like???!!! Lovely,polite reception staff too and a place to leave bags on day of departure....Young lady at reception said WERE aware of the problem I mention.

Room Tip: Higher the better maybe????
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymru27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Waldorf Celestion. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment.
Please let us know when you will be back! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel room was clean and basic. The location is decent. Borderline seedy area immediately surrounding the hotel but pretty easy walking distance to points of interest. The real problems are with the hotel amenities - or lack there of. There is essentially NO maid service (replaced bath towels only on 3rd day but not hand towel, washcloth or even making the bed). And they do not make you aware of this before hand so it's all the more disappointing when you return to your room after a long day to an unmade bed w/ dirty towels. The front desk staff is not helpful in the slightest re: accessing the city (fun tips, directions, etc). It was also hard to understand/communicate w/ the desk staff as English was not their 1st language. To make matters worse, upon checkout the desk attendant shorted me $5 change after I paid for parking. Lucky I caught it but just shouldn't happen. No complimentary internet (even 30 min/24 hours) is the least of this places problems.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UFPA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. Hotel apartments are often not serviced on a daily basis. We are always happy to provide a service when a guest makes a request. I have passed on your review to our reception team as we do strive each and every day to provide the very best in customer service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Having stayed in a not so good apartment in Wellington earlier this week I was a little apprehensive as to how this would turn out but was pleasantly surprised. The apartment was clean and well equipped with comfortable beds and sofa. Modern well presented furniture including balcony furniture (on one of the two balconies anyway). Friendly helpful staff and a good Indian restaurant in the lobby area. Excellent location for exploring the city and surrounding areas. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank sazzled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. I can only agree that it is a great location with easy access to many attractions & wonderful eateries in the Britomart area. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

My kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews