We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a holiday choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a holiday choice”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This apartment is definitely not your holiday choice.

We arrived on the 20th of Feb and stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The first impression was bad. The hotel sits on the corner of two very busy streets. There was no temporary street parking for us to drop luggage. Only one staff was working in the front desk and I have to wait for around 10mins to ask him where to park the car.

On the minute I opened the door of our apartment, I knew I had chose the wrong place. Two of the three light bulbs in the kitchen area were broken. The balcony ground was very dirty, with milk stain uncleaned.

In the evening when I was having shower, I discovered there is no shower gel in the box. I had to get out of the shower to call front office - and then I found out there was no way I could call front office using the phone in the living room. I had to call them by my mobile phone.

The staff came in to fix the light and refill the shower gel after we report the problems. But we were disappointed to stayed in such a unprepared and short staffed 4-star accommodation.

And there is no laundry in the apartment. In addition, you have to close the door really hard, otherwise people from outside could easily push it open.

Some good aspects: convenient location; easy access to city, harbor, good restaurants.

To conclude, we will not choose Waldorf again or recommend it to friends.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry_FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have passed on your feedback to staff as it helps to make us better.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    595
    178
    83
    28
See reviews for
462
490
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in one of the 2 bed apartments and were very impressed by the accommodation. Everything was bright, airy, well furnished and spacious. The kitchen was well equipped and the dining area a good size, we were able to invite friends around to eat with us. The staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The location is also excellent as we were within easy reach of the city centre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahu60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Nice accommkitchen was very baserodation , rooms are a title small, but otherwise a good hotel. The location is very convenient , and the staff are helpful- We found the rooms are only cleaned every second day, and in a week-long stay our sheets were not changed. The kitchen was very basic but good enough. Generally it is a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a 2-bed apartment on 6th floor (603). Spacious living room with large dining table, double bed-room and slightly smaller twin with large balcony plus a peek at a sea view (port). Really central. Very friendly, polite and helpful staff throughout our stay. We paid extra for their on-site parking which was very convenient. Only gripe was that, in the middle of summer, we could not get the bedrooms to be cool enough so we did not sleep too well at night (would suggest providing fans). The double bedroom has no natural light except from the frosted glass sliding door so might feel a little claustrophobic to some… but the twin room on the balcony/windows was too hot most of the time, unfortunately (no balcony door or opening windows). We used the complimentary pool at the complex opposite and that was great for lap swimming so appreciated that plus the free wifi. Would recommend but perhaps not as much in hot summer months.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. Please do not hesitate on your next stay to ask for the other Tower as it can be cooler in the afternoon. We look forward to seeing you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Lovely clean, modern and comfortable 2brm apartment with most things you need except in-room laundry facilities (house laundry available at nominal charge). Main living area and bedrooms a little small but reasonable location within downtown Auckland. Views from our sixth floor apartment not spectacular as we were in the rear wing looking behind hotel despite requesting higher floor room with a view and hopefully to also escape the street noise a bit (first night was Saturday night and there was a fair bit of noise coming from partygoers down below having a night on the town). From memory there were 18 floors to the top of the building so to get allocated a room on the sixth when you specifically ask for a high floor says lack of effort to me. Was that because we booked through a cheaper Internet booking website?? Always wonder about that!

It's worth noting too that if you are arriving by car there is absolutely nowhere to stop on the busy road outside while checking in which is a real problem and onsite overnight parking is expensive (approx $25/night) and very limited. Cheaper offsite parking is also available. Have to say all staff we dealt with were excellent and overall the apartments are good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Higher floor would be better but obviously not always guaranteed when requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muznkez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our lovely clean apartments and the great experience you had with staff at Celestion. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
307 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our 6 week swing through Bali, New Zealand, Melbourne and Singapore has caused me to reflect on how I go about choosing hotels. I want to book everything in advance - I'm not the kind of person happy about arriving in a city at 6pm and setting about finding a hotel. Trip Advisor is always my starting point - highest on the list that fits my budget, then seek other opinions and in terms of booking get prices from Booking.com et al but see if I can match that directly (booking directly a strong preference - I want the hotel to have the money, not a web agency).
The problem sometimes is that without knowing the city one can be misled by what looks and sounds like a "central location" or "proximity to the main sights" and end up by some huge intersection with busy roads to cross wherever you go.
This falls a bit into that camp - it's an unremarkable building in an unremarkable street. There is no parking right by the hotel, even unloading bags depends on a lane by the front door which looks like it should lead to parking - but the receptionist says it doesn't and you get fairly complex directions to a nearby carpark.
The lobby leaves a lot to be desired too - it's a long thin dark space with no charm. But the rooms are pleasant - we had a two bedroom apartment with plenty of space and a view (of another tower block - but a view) and, like so many places in New Zealand, a stove and cooking equipment. Does anyone use this stuff, food isn't expensive here. I can just imagine the look on a French hotelier's face if you suggested he install such things in his rooms - this is what restaurants are for!
So the rooms rescue what might otherwise be a fairly dire situation. It isn't a hotel, it's an apartment/motel in a tower block and it does that pretty well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate that you took time to give us valuable
feedback on your stay.
Unfortunately, we are not perfect, but we do strive each and every day to provide the very best in customer service and quality accommodation to our guests. Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A fantastic 14th floor, two bed place, with large living area, vast, full width balcony with great views. Galley kitchen enough for needs and good bathroom. Aircon fine with one unit in living area. We needed both bedrooms. One is OK, if fine about having NO window and had a super king size bed...Need to close double glass door if do not want the aircon...Other bedroom has floor to ceiling window looking to balcony & a king sized bed. Benefitted best from aircon with door open all the same. Down side was the air duct, related to the aircon system on balcony directly outside the bedroom window (which does NOT open all the same..) This WAS noisy and I needed earpugs accordingly, but worth it to wake up to that great view of the port...Come on!! At these prices what is NOT to like???!!! Lovely,polite reception staff too and a place to leave bags on day of departure....Young lady at reception said WERE aware of the problem I mention.

Room Tip: Higher the better maybe????
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymru27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Waldorf Celestion. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment.
Please let us know when you will be back! We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 114 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing