We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for couples or families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room in Auckland. It had a separate bedroom/sitting room/ office and was right in the CBD. The views were great, too. We could see the harbor and our ship along with the skyline of Auckland. The staff were accommodating, letting us leave our luggage both when we arrived early and while we toured on the day we left after checkout. It was safe and secure, so we could enjoy ourselves before our room was ready. In general, a comfortable, roomy and reasonably priced place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pegjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 February 2011

Many thanks for your recent positive review of Waldorf Celestion.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Some of our rooms do have views of the waterside and you were obviously lucky enough to be allocated one of these on this occasion so we are delighted that you were impressed.

Hopefully you will pay us a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

Good hotel, would highly recommend it. Although they need a bigger sign so it's easier to spot the hotel. Only stay one night, but would definitely go back to this hotel if i'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cantfindaname10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 February 2011

Many thanks for your review of Waldorf Celestion.

We are happy that your comments were, in the main, positive. We do appreciate what you are saying about the signage, however we do feel that the current signage is in keeping with the building and the general area.

We do hope you will return to Waldorf soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

It was unclear driving by where to enter the parking area. We checked in and were assigned the last open parking space (out of 11). The rooms seemed quite new and the lights in the hallway for our floor were not working, so it was quite dark. The office room was quite small and unappealing, but we didn't need that space. The bathroom was quite nice and the small kitchenette was handy. We did have a somewhat obstructed view of the harbour and we enjoyed watching the container moving equipment. It was a short walk to the main downtown area and the sky tower.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusyMomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 February 2011

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Waldorf Celestion.

We are pleased with the positive comments that you have raised. We feel that the apartments are in an ideal central location for easy access to all the tourist hotspots.

The on-site parking is very limited as you mention; as such, the parking that we advertise is the nearby Arena secure car park.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Stayed in this hotel two times during my trip to New Zealand, all in all 5 nights. The hotel is in a very good location, just a 10 minute walk from Queen Street and 3 minute walk to a supermarket that is open 24/7. Not being in the immediate city center, it means that the this hotel is in a much more quiet area where you actually get some sleep. (I stayed in another hotel in the city center where the noise was so bad from the streets, it was impossible to sleep).

The rooms are stylish and trendy and has the all the amenities you may need. The rooms are aircondtioned, and at least I had a very nice and large balcony. There's no washing machine in the apartment, but there is a separate laundry room available for your use. The rooms are quiet and the beds are really comfortable. The Indian restaurant in the hotel, has very good food for a good price.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only minus I would give this hotel is that they need to pay attention to housekeeping. The first time I stayed in the hotel, the mirror doors had fingerprints and streaks on them, and the glass doors to the balcony were filthy and had not been cleaned in a long time. There were even bird droppings on the balcony doors, balcony and the windows.

But I would most certainly stay in this hotel again. I would also recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Auckland. It is great value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 February 2011

Many thanks for your positive review of Waldorf Celestion.

We are pleased that you found the location to be ideal for your requirements - central but not noisy.

Your positive feedback regarding the staff is very welcome and we will make sure that the team is aware. We also appreciate your comments on the housekeeping and these will be passed to the Housekeeping Manager for action.

Hopefully you will pay us a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Arrived 0200 am to the hotel in Central Auckland and checked in into our spacious apartment plus office within 5 minutes. We stayed in a modern, spacious ,nicely decorated 1bedroom apartment for 5 nights and the accommodation was as advertised- modern and very clean. The apartments have great lay out, good kitchen,internal laundry and very cheap & good internet service, We were perfectly located for all transport and only 5 minute walk to the city heart 12 minutes to a large 24 hours a day supermarket, 3 minutes from the railway station
Many restaurants and bars are very close by and as far as noise the apartment was quite regardless of its central location.
Great service, great security with 24 hours reception , very very good rate especially the extended stay rate-and would recommend for anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spikey7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 February 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf Celestion.

We are delighted that you were so impressed with your stay. We do feel that the location is ideal for travellers - central but quiet.

As you mention, the apartment setup is geared towards longer-term stays and we are glad that we could meet and exceed your requirements on this occasion.

We hope to welcome you back to a Waldorf property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Stayed here two night in an executive apartment, which was just NZ$10 more than the standard. Fantastic room, and the study/executive work room came in really handy for repacking all our gear before we caught our outbound flight. We walked in the front door of the hotel and though 'wow, this is nice!'

We had a room with a balcony looking east over the harbour on the 15th floor, and the standard of the furnishings was excellent. The bed was very comfortable, the room stylish, modern and spacious. Overall we felt exceptionally comfortable in the hotel. The staff were helpful at all times.

The location is probably a 10min walk to the restaurants at the Viaduct and 5-7 from Queen St, the main shopping area. In essence, it's easy to get to shops, restaurants or ferries around the harbour from this place. It is among inner city high-rise apartment blocks, so it doesn't perhaps have the atmosphere of a place near the Viaduct for instance, but really, I didn't care.

There is also a big supermarket less than 5min away and the kitchen in the apartment was well-stocked with pots, pans & utensils. Best of all, we had an Apex Rental car to return and the drop-off point/Auckland office is literally about 3min walk around the corner, which made it exceptionally easy.

Considering it was pretty much the same price as waterfront hotels, many of which had mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, and this still has an excellent location, I'd more than recommend this place. I know I'd go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

thank you for your excellent review on the loaction, room facilities and your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Loved the location and the flexibility of having an apartment. Well furnished and functional rooms. Would recommend to any group of travelers, or ideal for a family.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £77 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing