We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best NY pizza pie outside BigApple!”

Sal's Authentic New York Pizza
Ranked #120 of 2,225 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We've had the good fortune of being made privy to a legendary pizzamaker's secret family recipe and have spent years perfecting Salvatore Leo's well guarded pizza making techniques. We are proud to serve you AUTHENTIC New York Pizza...
1 review
“Best NY pizza pie outside BigApple!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I've had the chance to sample many of NY's finest pizza offerings, being half-American and my family is from there, and I can honestly say this is the best NY style pizza I have ever found outside of Manhattan itself!

Fantastic cheese, perfect amount of Marianna sauce and a base/crust that is as good as you're gonna get without that secret ingredient (good old NYC tap water)!

Sal's itself is a comfortable little place which fits the NY vibe without being too OTT on the American front.

Highly recommended for pizza aficionados!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    106
    50
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiwaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I love Sal's pizza. It tastes like the real American deal. The buffalo wings with blue cheese dressing are AMAZING, too! I always try and get my fix when I'm in Auckland. All that's missing is the snapple and rootbeer! =)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average. ”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I went there while staying in Auckland. Their price were really good but the pizza itself, on my point of view, was just big and tasteless. Still a good place.

Helpful?
Thank ulissesd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it so much we ate there twice”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ordered their meatball pizza on the first night of a two day stay and ended up ordering it the second night as well! The whole family enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Having toured the US extensively (along with the fact that I'm married to an American) I know my pure and proper US style pizzas. You just can't find them in a Melbourne. But, luckily, Auckland doesn't have that problem.

Sal's delivers the exact Pepperoni slices you'd expect to find pipping hot and pretty on the streets on New York. They're large, drooping, dripping with cheese and grease and effortlessly delicious.

$24 for a large Pepperoni is reasonable (as it will easily feed a hungry family or ravenous couple). Or choose a slice if you haven't the stomach and/or company.

The staff are friendly. The service is swift and efficient. And your tastebuds (though perhaps not your waistline) will thank you.

Definitely recommended for US citizens or aficionados longing for authentic American pizza.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arielred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sal's Authentic New York Pizza also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Sal's Authentic New York Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing