We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room in a prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I went over to NZ for the rugby world cup. Even though the rest of Auckland (that hadn't already been booked solid) doubled or tripled the price of their accommodation, Latitude 37 had a reasonable price that remained unchanged all-year round.

We booked a studio, the website describes it as being a measly 42m^2 but upon arrival we discovered that it was a lot more spacious than expected. The apartment was fitted with all the necessities: hair dryer, washer/dryer, new LCD telly etc, and a big old couch that could seat a family. The free carpark was also a plus.

A word of warning. If you come to this place under the impression that it is a hotel, you will be disappointed. This calls for a little extra responsibility when it comes to losing your keys, changing sheets and all the other 'expected' hotel services. Some things you must be prepared to do yourself. In my opinion, for the price and the quality of the accommodation, it's entirely worth it.

Notify reception if you plan to check in after 3pm, they'll give you the safe combination where you'll find all the keys and documents you need. Otherwise, it's also good to have a cellphone on you to contact the building manager (who is extremely friendly and helpful).

Overall, I enjoyed my experience here and would definitely stay again next time I'm in Auckland.

Room Tip: Perhaps you can request a specific room, if you can, ask for the West building facing the sea. Lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ariane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

We spent a weekend here in one of the two bedroom apartments. The apartment was clean, had a full kitchen, Sky cable, a balcony overlooking the SkyTower. But several things about the service left us with an overall negative impression of this place. First, it is very difficulty to check into. There isn't a check-in desk or office to pick up keys. There is no place to park when searching for the "after-hours" safe to pick up your keys/registration. The first thing in the packet besides your keys is the registration card that states it must be filled out "immediately" or else you will be charged $50.00 by the next morning. The threat of additional charges continues from there...if you don't check out by 10am, the threatened charge is $500 (more than the cost of our room). If you leave any "rubbish or dirty dishes" in the apartment when you leave, the charge is "minimum $75.00". There is a "power cap", fees for this, fees for that...it was endless.
Also, it was incredibly noisy. The walls were paper thin and you can hear everything. If you are a light sleeper, this is not the place for you.
On a positive note, the price does include one parking space. And the location was very central. You can walk to the wharf, main shopping areas, and tons of restaurants within minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have stayed here for 7 nights every year for the past 15 years while we exhibit at the Auckland International Boat Show. We normally have a studio apartment but this year we enjoyed a first floor luxury 2 bedroom apartment over looking the water - bliss thank you! This is a safe, quality place to stay with secure covered parking. It is easy walking distance to great restaurants and very close to many city attractions. The internal gardens are lush and beautifully kept. Everything you need is supplied and the full laundry is a bonus for long stays. This apartment was very quiet with hardly any road noise. The main bedroom and bathroom (with bath and separate shower) were spacious and very clean. The fully equipped kitchen was perfect for entertaining guests. We would thoroughly recommended this apartment for business or leisure stays

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden courtyard or those facing the water are quieter with less traffic and merrim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBayofIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager04545, Guest Relations Manager at Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback, and thank you so much for choosing to stay at Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd in the Viaduct, we are only happy to provide top class service with a smile every time. We look forward to welcoming you back next time,

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Having stayed in many apartment hotels in Auckland I wish I had found this place first of all. It was a large fully equipped apartment with top of the range fixtures and fittings. 2 I pod docking stations, flat screen tv, stereo, dvd and vhs player plus it had the full SKY TV package with all sports channels.
We booked a loft apartment which had excellent views of the sky tower and was very quiet at night time which allowed a very good sleep in the very comfortable bed.
The apartment had lots of storage in every rooms which was very welcome.
Even though it was a busy Rugby World Cup weekend the rates available were very accomodating compared to what other lesser hotels were "gouging" from customers.
I hope to make this my hotel of choice in Auckland.
Staff were very accomodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Harbour view or city view of sky tower its all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager04545, Guest Relations Manager at Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback, and thank you so much for choosing to stay at Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd in the Viaduct, we are only happy to provide top class service with a smile every time. We look forward to welcoming you back next time,

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Upon unlocking the door and stepping into our "room" we were totally blown away when we found that we had been upgraded. A big thank you for the luxurious accommodation. The rooms were really clean and spacious.
The location is perfect for wandering around the Viaduct and Wynyard Quarter. I would definitely recommend this accommodation to friends, work colleagues and family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager04545, Guest Relations Manager at Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment,

I am truly glad that you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the ‘free upgrade’.

Hope to see you back soon :)

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Clean, modern, central place to stay in Auckland. We booked a seaview room but got a courtyard room instead. Bit disappointed that we didn't get the seaview room, was the primary reason for choosing this accommodation. Spoke to management about it but it didn't seem a priority to rectify the mistake. Make sure that you know the after hours booking process otherwise you will be stuck getting access to the apartment. Having said that, the emergency number we called was answered by a helpful gentleman, apologies for waking you in the wee hours (and thanks for your help!).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0nny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager04545, Guest Relations Manager at Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment,

After you left I checked your booking which was done through an online third party i.e. 'wotif.com'. I checked which apartment you had booked and paid for which via the online advertisement may have mentioned a sea view from the balcony.

However it turns out you had in fact been given a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment (unfortunately this was not written on your welcome pack - my mistake).

I have since changed the policy and now we clearly advertise 'free upgrades" on the Guests Welcome Pack’s.

I have also adjusted the online advertising to reflect apartments as a style i.e. Studio, queen bed, bathroom, kitchen. Rather than specifically advertising the actual apartment itself for example: Studio with sea view, located on such and such street.

It is also noted in our advertising that while we try our best to keep guests in specific apartments, we can never guarantee that their apartment style won’t change. It will always be same style of apartment (i.e. same value) - or will be an ‘upgrade’ to the next available room type.

Please note my apologies for not being more organized on this occasion; I do hope you return to see our improvements in this process.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed there, never again! Place was infested by ants!!!! They got into everything. Asked for a another room - no response(over the weekend). They did however give me lots of plastic bags for all my food and cans of fly spray and ant traps... oh and they rated themselves at 4 stars... I don't think so. Stay away from this place unless you want ants in your bed, up your arms and down your legs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not ant invested
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antmad255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager04545, Guest Relations Manager at Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a reponse about your stay in one of our 'self' serviced apartments. Please note if you leave food out on the kitchen bench overnight, uncovered, then there is a possibility of ants coming to collect your food. I understand from the Housekeeping department, this is why you were provided with extra bags & ant bait at no additonal cost, to prevent this from occuring again during your stay.

Please note: Our apartment complex is sprayed once a year for ants, and other insects, and is cleaned on a daily basis, by the Building Managers to a very high standard. Guests staying, who leave food out, uncovered, overnight in thier apartment, may receive 'unwanted guests' like ants for example. Common sense is to cook your food, cover your food, refridgerate your food, and clean down your kitchen after use.

Kind Regards,

Reservations & Guest Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbo...
#17 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
#21 of 65 in Auckland Central
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apa...
#10 of 132 in Auckland Central
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd

Address: Corner Pakenham St East and Customs St West | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the pristine 'Viaduct' with sea views of the marina, Latitude 37 Accommodation is well known for its seaside location, excellent service from staff, who are passionate about their job, and providing excellent results to all their customers. Providing high quality standards in service, meeting needs and expectations of guests. We have many return customers, and remain at 90% occupancy month to month. If you are looking for somewhere special to stay, with people who really care about delivering the best outcome for your accommodation needs, then look no further the staff at Latitude 37 Accommodation are at your service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd Hotel Auckland Central
Latitude 37 Accommodation Ltd Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing