We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Toru Tours

Toru Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.01*
and up
3-Hour Auckland Express Tour
Ranked #28 of 165 Tours in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come on our personalized 3-Hour tour, showing you the highlights of what makes this city of Auckland so special. From the diverse eateries to the many Volcanoes, to the working farm,and beautiful gardens that we have. We can guide you to Auckland's best shopping, cuisine and sights. Along the way, you'll learn about the Maori culture and settler history. We will meet local people and share stories which provide you with an enriching experience. Small groups (16max and yes we even take 1) increases the quality of the tour, so you can ask as many questions as you like. We get plenty of time to stretch our legs with 4 stops along the way. Let us show you 'our Auckland'.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / lift
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived in Auckland for a quick trip of 3 days. We engaged Paul to show us around Auckland to get a feel of New Zealand's big city. Paul was fantastic. We were a small group so very personalised. We saw all the highlights of the city with a happy and friendly guide. We had a beautiful morning for it. Paul allowed us to drop off at the museum at the end of the tour and advised us on how to get back to our hotel using the bus system. It was fantastic to meet you Paul and see the lovely City of Auckland through your relaxed but informative tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
It can be quite be bewildering coming to another city, even though Auckland is fairly small on an international scale. I am pleased it was exactly what you were looking for.
Kind regards

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hindmarsh Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Auckland the easy way !”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We arrived in Auckland weary after seven days of shore excursions wanting to see this beautiful city but needing a relaxed but comprehensive tour. Found Toru Tours on the dockside and it was just what we were seeking. Paul was friendly and very informative. The tour group was small and we were able to see the highlights of Auckland in just a few hours. Highly recommend this tour and operator

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Yvon... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for you review.
As you have noted it is important to see Auckland in a relaxed manner, not waiting for ages waiting for buses or getting hot and sweaty on long walks (Auckland has a lot of hills) if you only have a short period of time here.
Safe future Journeys.
Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good way to see Auckland on limited time”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We only had a full day in Auckland and I'd read a few bad reviews of the hop on hop off tours, so decided to book this tour instead.

I'm glad we did as Paul was a friendly bloke, with a good sense of humour and this was an excellent way to see Auckland's sites on limited time. We did the morning tour, which was perfect for us as we then got some lunch and had the rest of the afternoon to check out Queen street and the harbour.

Coincidentally, we did not see the hop on hop off bus anywhere in our time in Auckland so I know we made a good decision.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Horse2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
We understand that visitors to Auckland only have a short period of time here.
Safe Journeys.
Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A great introduction to Auckland”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The iSite recommended Toru Tours and Paul certainly did not disappoint. It was a relaxed and informative introduction to the city of Auckland. Would highly recommend this tour and operator.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torutours, Owner at Toru Tours, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
This is exactly why we do what we do.
Safe Journeys.
Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Private Tour”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Paul was excellent! We just finished our tour with him this afternoon. We highly recommend this tour. We came in a day earlier than most of the cruise ship passengers and had Paul all to ourselves. My husband quizzed Paul about the history of the Maori people over a cup of coffee while I visited the gardens. We also enjoyed talking with Tom about his Maori ancestory. What a lovely afternoon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PharmDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torutours, Manager at Toru Tours, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review. As you note, this tour is a great way for guests arriving on a cruise ship to get a great overview of Auckland and New Zealand in a short space of time.
Also as you alluded to it is a great opportunity to meet the locals and learn about the history of the place.
I am glad you enjoyed your day.

Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toru Tours also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Toru Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing