We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revamped and still great”
Review of Agents & Merchants

Agents & Merchants
Ranked #1,627 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: I LOVE this place. My boyfriend and i were in NZ just last week on a nice 6 day holiday visiting friends. We had the first night in Auckland before heading off to see the island. We landed about 6, got to the hotel about 8 and didnt head off for dinner til 9. We were stoked to find somewhere still open - on a thursday night, serving food. Then the night just got better. I honestly couldnt speak highly enough of this place. I seriously wish i owned it.... the owner has done WELL. That's all! Thanks :)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Revamped and still great”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A&M has been one of our favorites for a couple of years now so we where a bit concerned when it closed for refurbishment and a change of direction. Well it has reopened on Wednesday as a Orleans style bar / restaurant . Tried it on Friday night for a quick drink - nice and friendly - same staff plus a whole team of new guys. Live music from about 9.00 pm - past my bed time so didn't stay but will try next week. Went in for lunch yesterday and the guys said that the Friday night had been a great success ( blues) . Saturday lunch did not disappoint. Small bowls / large bowls / shared plates or stand alone meals. Reasonably priced - great atmosphere. The new A&M will be a regular for us. Don't tell everybody about it tho.......don't want it to have que's !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickmiller583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little treasure in Britomart”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A delightful place with brilliant staff and great food - we shared 3 tapas and they were interesting and well prepared. Decent wine menu too. The wait staff was spot on - welcoming, personable and attentive. Prices are reasonable too - I'll be returning next time I'm in Auckland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nzauregionaldirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quality pre-dinner experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

High quality atmosphere, knowledgable and helpful staff, with beautiful wines, liqueurs, and spirits. The nibble food menu contains some imaginative dishes. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Service was ok not amazing”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Went with no great idea of what to expect food was nice though small antipasto was 25.00 only 2 pecs of bread though tuna was amazing a real treat thought it wasn't worth money clean and pleasant 4-10

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blowit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cool late night hangout”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This bar in the Britomart area of Central Auckland is in an old building that manages to radiate contemporary cool.

Indoors, bare brick dates the building but the space feels of the moment. Outside, a covered laneway is a great place to enjoy house cocktails while listening to a DJ spin chillout tracks into the early hours.

The around midnight crowd was predominantly thirtysomethings enjoying a quiet drink.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Agents & Merchants also viewed

Auckland Region, North Island
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Agents & Merchants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing