We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great adventure, amazing experience”

AWOL Canyoning Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainforest canyoning tours in two canyons 45 minutes drive from Auckland. The Piha Canyon - Full day, half day and night canyon options.The Blue Canyon - Full day adventure.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great adventure, amazing experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

AWOL Canyoning was a great company, very organized and the staff was awesome. Our guide Connor made everyone feel really comfortable. We did the full day Piha experience and it was well worth it. You really get to experience the National Park with hiking, swimming (water is pretty cold, so be prepared) and propelling down down cliffs and waterfalls. We also made a quick stop at the beach on the way home which is beautiful black sand beaches. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was because there was only 1 guide...we had to have one person from our group go down first with nobody holding the back rope for them and then that person was responsible for helping the rest down. Luckily, we had someone in our group that was a climber so had a lot of experience and was comfortable, but without her...it might have been a little nerve wracking to do that ourselves (especially the 50m waterfall drop). If you're up for a big adventure and amazing day--I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JMD1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cam10bowen, Owner at AWOL Canyoning Adventures, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the great review and nice to have you along! Just to clarify, the first person down is top belayed by the guide (a second backup rope controlled by the guide), if you weren't the first person down you might have not seen this process take place. After that we have options to either use bottom belay, carry on top roping or thirdly the guide lowers everyone. If all those options don't the suit the group we can use a track to skip an abseil - or even call in for a extra guide if its obvious from the start that a second guide will be needed for the day. The guide on the day will make a choice based on the peoples skills in the group and the weather conditions (in high water we tend to lower people through the waterfalls so there's no issue with rope tangling).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    18
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was really fun. A little hiking, a little swimming, cliff jumping, and rappelling. I was in a group of 5 including Javier our guide, all strangers. We had a blast. Did the Piha whole day. Was a great time. They had all the supplies, even shoes we could borrow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went on this tour while staying in Auckland so we drove 3 hours to get to it and it was so worth it!! Had a great time, the guides were fantastic!! Definitely a must go!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angiev1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing adventure”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The whole things was perfect- from the booking experience to the adventure itself- even the weather was fantastic! As a group of 5 (strangers) and Javier our very humorous and capable guide, we managed to have a blast from start to finish. As someone who likes to try different things to release my adrenaline- this was definitely up there. I would recommend this activity to anybody who is physically able. Also a great gift idea ( as I found out when I gave my husband a full day for his 40th)
5 stars ****

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap adventure day trip”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I took the piha full day trip today. Its a short drive outside the city and AWOL picks you up right in the middle of Auckland....a huge help if you don't have a car or want to save on gas. Javier was our guide and did an amazing job keeping us safe but still joking around and keeping things entertaining. I've been on a few adventure tours were safety isn't really the top priority but that is not the case here. After a short hike uphill the rest of the day is a blast of rapelling, crawling, and jumping.If your out of shape its kind of a tough hike.....but only for a few minutes and its literally all down hill from there. Definitely reccomend to anyone in Auckland and looking for a day of adventure with some incredible views. Can't recommend highly enough. Cheers to our guide Javier.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AWOL Canyoning Adventures also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to AWOL Canyoning Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing