We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip with excellent and personable staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AWOL Canyoning Adventures

AWOL Canyoning Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainforest canyoning tours in two canyons 45 minutes drive from Auckland. The Piha Canyon - Full day, half day and night canyon options.The Blue Canyon - Full day adventure.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent trip with excellent and personable staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Did the full day Piha adventure and it was absolutely amazing. Take note, this is not for the feint of heart! The team does their best to accommodate people with needs throughout the adventure, but this is canyoning, as it says - hiking, abseiling, swimming, bouldering, etc... so be prepared for that. I joined a pretty large group that had come in off a cruise ship, and we all committed to the entire adventure, and man! was it worth it! If you have the chance, you MUST put this on your list. One of the guides, Javier, picked me up in Auckland city in front of Sky Tower (convenient!) and was very friendly throughout the whole ride. Our guides, in addition to Javier, were Connor and Cam, both of which were also very nice, respectful, and personable. We climbed under and over rocks, repelled down waterfalls, cliff-dived (albeit only a few feet), etc... It was so beautiful and so much fun. We missed the beach on the way back due to the cruise's time commitments, but that's alright, as we had a great trip and plenty of time to relax when we got back. I can't say it enough - put it on your list!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fenicks F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    17
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Top rated adventure thrill in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I went abseiling down a waterfall with AWOL as part of a Royal Caribbean shore excursion. I will always remember New Zealand as the place I did the unordinary and donned a wet suit, went down a waterfall, and jumped off a cliff into a natural pool. Our guide, Cam is definitely a professional in the outdoor world.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John1971NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great adventure, amazing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

AWOL Canyoning was a great company, very organized and the staff was awesome. Our guide Connor made everyone feel really comfortable. We did the full day Piha experience and it was well worth it. You really get to experience the National Park with hiking, swimming (water is pretty cold, so be prepared) and propelling down down cliffs and waterfalls. We also made a quick stop at the beach on the way home which is beautiful black sand beaches. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 was because there was only 1 guide...we had to have one person from our group go down first with nobody holding the back rope for them and then that person was responsible for helping the rest down. Luckily, we had someone in our group that was a climber so had a lot of experience and was comfortable, but without her...it might have been a little nerve wracking to do that ourselves (especially the 50m waterfall drop). If you're up for a big adventure and amazing day--I highly recommend it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JMD1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cam10bowen, Owner at AWOL Canyoning Adventures, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the great review and nice to have you along! Just to clarify, the first person down is top belayed by the guide (a second backup rope controlled by the guide), if you weren't the first person down you might have not seen this process take place. After that we have options to either use bottom belay, carry on top roping or thirdly the guide lowers everyone. If all those options don't the suit the group we can use a track to skip an abseil - or even call in for a extra guide if its obvious from the start that a second guide will be needed for the day. The guide on the day will make a choice based on the peoples skills in the group and the weather conditions (in high water we tend to lower people through the waterfalls so there's no issue with rope tangling).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was really fun. A little hiking, a little swimming, cliff jumping, and rappelling. I was in a group of 5 including Javier our guide, all strangers. We had a blast. Did the Piha whole day. Was a great time. They had all the supplies, even shoes we could borrow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went on this tour while staying in Auckland so we drove 3 hours to get to it and it was so worth it!! Had a great time, the guides were fantastic!! Definitely a must go!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angiev1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AWOL Canyoning Adventures also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to AWOL Canyoning Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing