We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun”
Review of Butterfly Creek

Butterfly Creek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Butterfly Creek has a unique collection of animals, insects and critters. It has brought the worlds most aggresive predator the Australian Crocodile to New Zealand,(2 Giant Salt Water Crocodiles) Alligators, Tropical Aquaria, full Petting Zoo & established a breeding program for endangered Giant Wetapunga and has Australasia`s premier Butterfly House with up to 700 butterflies. New in 2014 is the fantastic Dinosaur Kingdom - a world of real life sized dinosaurs to glare at! A fantastic family day out all year round with all weather undercover attractions & cafe. There is something for the whole family!Plus - Complementary shuttle to & from the airport for those visiting the attractions - just arrive at the airport and visit the iSite information centre and ask them to call you a shuttle.
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I had read other reviews here and went with a little trepidation. I was pleasantly surprised. We paid $72 for all entrances fees. There was plenty to do and see for all. I went with 2 boys aged 7 and 4. We went early and had a ball. We had to leave by 2pm and we had not completely exhausted the options. The Dinosaurs were great, the butterflies so different, the train was nice, the Croc suitably photogenic. It was money well spent and a bit different. The cafe was clean, the toilets regularly cleaned, tables cleared promptly. What more is needed. Maybe it's not for teenage boys but they could do the rope thing next door. I always ask the 7 yr old his favourite part and instead of his usual answer "the shop" he really thought then said it was the butterflies. Good on you Butterfly Creek keep it up. Besides there can't be enough Dinosaur installations.

1  Thank Saljjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 373 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Okay, this place is called Butterfly Creek but really, the best part is the area called Dinosaur Kingdom. A hell of a lot of work has gone into this attraction. A large number of life-size and life-like dinosaurs, a lot of which move and roar. I thought this was really cool!
The butterfly house was very good. Better than Kuranda in Queensland I thought - not as many butterflies but that was actually a good thing and it is completely flat and very child and wheelchair friendly. At 11am the butterflies were very active but at 2pm they were a bit more docile, which is great if you want them landing on you.
A couple of inactive crocs, and I'm not a fan of tamarins and other such creatures in cages, but that was the only down side of the place. The farm area was cool - lots of goats wandering around and easy to pat all the animals that wanted patting. The train ride through the dinosaurs was pretty good too, as was the impressive range of tarantulas and the aquarium.
We had no issues bringing in our own lunch and eating it there.
We went with our 2 year old so no charge for him. So for $30 each we got entry to the full park plus a train ride. Not cheap - but then the running costs of the place are certainly not low. Compared to other animal attractions in NZ and Australia, not bad value at all. My wife and I loved it and so did our (almost 3 year old) son. Afterwards, you can go a few minutes down the road and park at one of the plane-spotting areas as it is right opposite Auckland Airport.

1  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the great feedback and the fact that you appreciate our large running costs! We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Firstly $73 for 2 adults a child & toddler I found to be way over priced. Yes we missed the sign at the front that said no food to be brought in. Then we were approached by a staff member who was not happy that a muesli bar and mandarin were being eaten by my grandsons...What annoyed me the most is, I was prepared to buy my grandsons something from the cafe but seriously $10 for nuggets & fries I don't think so. Very few animals to see for the price as compared with the zoo. Really disappointing...It only cost $56 for admission for all of us to the zoo and we were aloud a packed lunch...We also indulged at the cafe at the Auckland Zoo because it was affordable...

8  Thank faith4wd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi there, thank you for your review. We are sorry that you feel this way. Butterfly Creek is different to the zoo, it is much smaller with different animals, a full day is not needed to visit us. Our focus is not large animals with a lot of land area, so unfortunately we are restricted to a smaller dining area. During busy times we have to reserve the cafe area and tables for our cafe patrons. $10 for a drink, fries and nuggets is not an expensive combo, it is a pretty standard affordable option. Imagine if you did buy food then you couldn't find a table to eat and saw people with packed lunches taking up the tables, you would be annoyed wouldn't you? All the signage, rules, pricing and exhibits are listed on the website so perhaps a bit of research before you visit an attraction is in need next time. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Took my 2yo grandson to Butterfly Creek, particularly for the animals. There were really only a lot of rabbits and goats a couple of sheep, pigs and lama's. Really disappointed that there weren't any real cows, just some plastic ones. Not worth the money. He had more fun at the plane viewing platform just a bit further down the road and that was free.

2  Thank namel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hi there,
Thank you for your review. Our farmyard animals include goats, rabbits, guinea pigs, wallaby, chinchilla, baby goats, alpacas, sheep, mice, chickens, roosters, a brand new aviary, a dog, cuckatoo, pigs and lorikeets, they are out every day so I am not sure how you missed them. We also do three daily encounters in the farm. Butterfly Creek is forever expanding and with the new addition of Dinosaur Kingdom, we cannot bring in any more animals that require pasture otherwise they will have no where to roam or grass to eat which would be unfair. We hope that explains your concern thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

At $73 for 2 adults, a child & a senior, we thought it a little over-priced for what we saw. The butterflies are amazing, but there weren't many on show the day we went. We loved having them land on us though. The little birds (quail?) are cute, as are the turtles. Alligators are awesome, but not active enough for young kids. The tamarins were probably the most interesting display and had us laughing at their antics. Close to the airport if you have time to kill between flights, and right next to the mini golf and Rocket Ropes.

Thank Tribe_Mooresy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papillongroup, Public Relations Manager at Butterfly Creek, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We agree the crocs and alligators are not as exciting for the younger children, we try to make it interesting for everyone though :) Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butterfly Creek also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Butterfly Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing