We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”

Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 2,272 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$44
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Auckland's taste sensation in a warm cosy atmosphere with great service. Whether for a romantic dinner or lunch, a catch up with friends or family or for business entertainment, we can cater for your needs. With seating capacity maxing out at around 40 to 50 (depending on seating arrangements), it is advisable to make a telephone reservation. The restaurant also offers great wines, cocktails, beers and a nice selection of teas. We also have a nice under cover outdoor area.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Thai restuarants are our favourite, and this one is the best we have been to. The food was absolutely beautiful, and the service was second to none. Totally recommended

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    114
    33
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Simply delicous”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Authentic food and service at this gorgeous restaurant. Delicious pad thai, duck curry, and whole cooked snapper. And the entrées were also gorgeous. As close, if not better than the real thing. Gracious hosts, thanks for a wonderful night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwiontour34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service & Excellent Food”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I have been to many Thai restaurants but this one stands out.

We were not able to make a reservation, but just tried our luck to walk in for dinner.
But the place was full. Karen,one of the staffs asked if we can take the table outside
while we wait for a space inside. She takes our orders. After a few minutes, she brought
blankets for us to be warm.
We were surprised because this is the first time that a restaurant offers more than
space to dine in, but ensured comfort for its customers.

Aside from its excellent customer service, the menu was not the usual array of choices that you find in most Thai restaurants. We ordered one of its popular entrees, Aroy Dee Thai Herb Wraps. It has its full distinct taste especially when eaten in whole. The Blue Elephant King Prawns was so tasty with its sweet-spicy mixed spices that for every bite, we promised to return to this restaurant.

We will definitely return and we'll try the other dishes.
If you are looking for one of the best Thai restaurants in Auckland,I will recommend this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wawa121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tairua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious, Best Thai Curry I've ever had!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Friendly welcome on arrival, we hadn't booked and most of the tables were all reserved but the waitress was happy to give us a table provided we left before the reserved people arrived, which suited us fine as we had to be at our show soon after. Service was great, waitresses very attentive. We opted for an entree to share which was the Thai prawn fishcakes with peanut satay sauce and sweet chilli dip; Extremely tasty, wish we'd gotten 2 entrees! We had little time to wait before our main courses arrived, I am an avid yellow curry fan so opted for this and i have to say it's the best curry ive ever tasted across the world! It is clearly evident how every ingredient is fresh and is made to order as the taste was incredible! The homemade special Blue Elephant relish was out of this world, almost tasting floral- so natural! -My partner is a Chef and he thought the relish was pretty incredible. My partner had the sweet and sour chicken; I have to say the presentation of the food was beautiful, all garnish carved and decorated to represent flowers etc. Very pretty. The sweet and sour was also delicious; again it was clear the sauce was 100% homemade and you could taste the individual flavours or pineapple, capsicum etc. The rice you have to order separately, but its only an extra $2.50/$3 per person so fairly reasonable and the portion sizes of the main course are more than adequate, we left feeling full to the brim so probably a good job we shared an entree. The restaurant itself is decorated stunningly and the ambiance is exquisite, me and my partner had a lovely meal. I would advise booking, as we were leaving around 6.45pm the more and more people were arriving- some not having booked!! If you want to eat here come at opening time around 5.30pm or book!! Highly recommended restaurant! We will be back, even if just for dinner before heading straight back to the coromandel!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai restaurant”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is the best Thai restaurant I have been to in NZ. The food was well presented and tasted great. While it had a lot of the Thai standard dishes it had other dishes I had never seen before. The entre platter for two was wonderful and I particularly enjoyed the Blue Elephant and friends main with the crunchy almond crust. It is worth booking as the place is small and popular.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing