We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Comfortable & Convenient”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt Albert Motor Inn
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Front desk staff were pleasant and made check in seamless after a long flight.

We had a two bedroom apartment - was surprised by how small it was in comparison the how large it looked in photos, however, it served our purpose for one night. I think a longer stay with three adults may've felt quite cramped.

Apartment was clean. Beds were comfortable.

Shower was a let down - difficult to get temperature right and any slight adjustment would generally send freezing water over you.

I'm not sure a bar fridge in a two bedroom apartment would be adequate in a longer stay.

Paid wifi hotspot.

Great cafe on site with good coffee and food.

Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarkies_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

We were pleased with a look of the room when we checked in, yet later on that night so many unpleasant downsides ruined our stay:

SHOWER: the hot water run out after a few minutes, and when second person went to take a shower it was bloody COLD!

WINDOWS: despite early spring in NZ and +9C outside, hotel management find it "ok" not to shut the windows in whole room/ kitchenette , shower, even during the rain. as a matter of fact shower windows were impossible to close at all. so cold shower+ open windows = horrible experience!

Fridge: I turned it on onto the highest degree, I placed my breakfast in it. and in the morning discovered all food gone bad. the fridge didn't work.

BED : was uncomfortable, pillows almost absent.

make your conclusions.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

In two weeks of travel around the North island, this was the only accommodation issue we had. The only positive comment to be made about this motel is it's location and the Italian restaurant across the road. The neighbourhood is quite noisy and the large amount of glass along the front wall and inadequate curtains let a lot of noise and light in. The furnishings and bed were very tired and the bathroom was awful. Very old fittings, no bench space to put toiletries and very cramped. We were happy to move on the next day. I realised later that day that my mobile phone was missing. As I hadn't been using it a lot, I hadn't realied it wasn't with me and wasn't sure where I had lost it. I made enquiries of motels and restaurants we had visited going back three days including this motel, without any luck. The manager assured me staff had not reported a phone being found. After suspending my account and returning home, I have been able to obtain a detailed bill which shows significant data usage on the phone commencing at 10:20am on the day we left this motel.

Room Tip: A room at another motel will be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The best point about this motel is the staff. They are friendly and helpful, which helped to make my stay a nice one. The hotel room matched the pricing, so it was clean and functional but not fancy, although having a kitchen was nice. The housekeeping staff were eager to ensure my kitchen was adequately stocked, and making my meals in saved me a considerable amount of money during my ten day stay.

If you visit with any electronics, and who doesn't these days, I would recommend you bring an extension cord with you so you can plug everything in; I found the power outlet in my room was on the other side of the bed from the table.

I would also recommend against paying for their wireless internet; at the best I got 300kb download and 100kb up, not enough to download emails without getting server errors. It was way too slow for the price, which at best was 25 NZD for eight hours of access. Instead I would recommend going to a nearby computer shop and renting bandwidth from them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theronmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Myself and partner arrived in Auckland late and this place was recommened to us.
Shortly after arriving I had a shower and the hot water ran out - before my partner even had the chance. The staff were rude and unhelpful when asked about this - they hung up on my partner.
The internet was $5 per hour - most motels are free, that was way to expensive.
The only nice thing they did was give us $10 off the total bill.

Not very clean - clearly not cared for well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lemurqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

After a whole day's driving, we arrived in Auckland and checked in. The unit was not very clean, mould in bathroom and stains on the curtains. Despite booking for five, and the presence of 5 beds, the kitchen was only equipped with 4 sets of plates/bowls/cutlery, etc. We had to eat our breakfast in shifts. When I did our final 'under the beds' check before leaving, I found a pair on underpants that did not belong to us. Ug!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnonymousKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
735 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,646 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Albert Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Albert Motor Inn

Address: 743 New North Road | Mt Albert, Auckland Central, Auckland 1022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £63 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt Albert Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mt Albert Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt Albert Motor Inn Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing