We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muriwai Scenic Morning wine tour!”

NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.64*
and up
Muriwai Scenic Wine Tour from Auckland
More Info
US$138.27*
and up
Wineries Honey and Black Sand Beaches from Auckland
More Info
US$88.64*
and up
Wine Makers Experience from Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: NZWINEPRO™ Auckland Wine Tours twice awarded best wine tour in Australasia and Most Luxury Wine Tasting Experience by Apac Insider New Zealand Business awards. Owner & guide John McFarlane is a fifth generation New Zealander and has worked in hospitality and tourism for over 32 years. With 17 years experience working directly in the industry, you'll be guided beyond the cellar door with morning and afternoon options, stunning wines to taste, magnificent coastal scenery/regional parks, honey producers, cheese factory tastings, olive oils and delicious New Zealand cuisine. See how wine is made with private guided behind the scenes winemaking facility tours at Villa Maria Estate or Kumeu River Wines. Door to door service to Auckland's very best wineries and vineyards. Destinations include Kumeu, Waimauku, Muriwai, Piha, Karekare, Matakana, Waiheke Island and Villa Maria Estate.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Thank you for an Superfine ending on our short trip in Auckland. Muriwai Scenic Morning wine tour was really high value! John McFarlanes knowledge of wine was very educational and inspiring!Oversettelse
so I would really recommend this or one of the other exciting day trips with John. But be sure to have plenty of room in your luggage to buy with you the good wine you can taste these trips!!

Thank InaBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi Ina,

Thanks for your excellent review. It was so nice to meet you and spend the morning with you and your friend. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your trip to Muriwai. It's a great tour if you have limited time and I know you were at the very end of your holiday. It was so interesting learning about Norway and listening to your lovely Scandanavian accent.. it made me want to go there. Thanks also for liking my NZWINEPRO Facebook page. I really hope you'll stay in touch Ina. Kindest regards John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I found John through Trip Advisor and the Villa Maria Estate wine tour definitely was even better than we could have imagined! First of all, we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful day and John stopped and showed us some breathtaking sites around Auckland on our way to Villa Maria Winery. There were 10 of us travelling together, including a newly engaged couple, and John made time to get to know each one of us. John has extensive knowledge of the wine industry in New Zealand and his passion really shows through. The tour through the Villa Maria winery was really interesting and then we tasted several wines and had a wonderful lunch outside. Then we were off to several more wine tastings and we even had an impromptu stop to buy the best strawberries we had ever tasted! One of the highlights was visiting a gannet colony of birds after a lovely drive to the beach. Everyone agreed that it was a perfect day and one that we will all fondly remember.

Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Hi Earl & Doris,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I was so looking forward to meeting you all because this tour had been organized so far in advance. It was such a nice group of friends and it was a pleasure to show you the highlights of Auckland and then VIlla Maria Estate and a selection of other vineyards and attractions. I'm really pleased the tour exceeded your best hopes. The Villa Maria Scenic Vineyard Odyssey is a fascinating and comprehensive tour. We were so lucky to have had such a lovely day for the Celebrity Solstace visit that day. I appreciate your great review and your kind feedback. I hope you'll all like my NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch. All the best - John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My Wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our wine tour with John. It was personable and he has a huge wealth of knowledge about the wine industry. This was a very laid back excursion and made for a great day out. It was wonderful to see the behind the scenes areas in vineyards and we enjoyed an amazing lunch at Beesonline where we enjoyed great service. We would both highly recommend this tour to anyone who shares a great love for wine.

We have travelled to many wine regions in the world and we felt we learnt more in our time with John in our own backyard than those abroad.

Thanks John a memorable experience.

Thank BelindaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your tour. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and it worked out perfectly on the day. It's always fun taking out locals but with your job it made for interesting conversations about the many places you've traveled to. Thanks for your wonderful review and excellent endorsement. I hope you'll tell your co-workers and friends. I hope you'll like my NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch with news and special tours and deals. Once again thank you for your fantastic review, I really appreciate it. Best regards - John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My partner and I took this tour on October 11, 2013 after having debated which tour company in Auckland to choose from because there are quite a few. However, we chose this one in particular because it was recommended by the concierge at the Langham Hotel and because the length of time/price was appropriate and reasonable, when compared to the other tour operators. After having visited this year the Napa Valley-California, Chile, Mendoza-Argentina, Bourdeaux- France and La Rioja region of Spain for wine tours and tasting, I have to say that this by far was more attentive and personalized than the majority of the tours that we have taken.
The tour itself was amazing. John was very knowledgeable about wine,food, the region and basically answered every question that we had about New Zealand, wine etc. The length of time seemed appropriate (about half a day). The complimentary/included lunch was actually excellent and even during it, we were learning about local apiculture practices.

Overall, I must say that we were extremely lucky to experience such a great tour and next time we are in Auckland, New Zealand, we will definitely tour with John and NZWIinePro again!

Thank Carlos D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks so much for your excellent review. It's great to be recommended by the Langham Hotel as they one of the best and biggest hotels in the city, and I take it as a great compliment that they recommend me first when it comes to scenic wine tours. I try my best to put as much as I can into each tour and at the same time make sure that it is a balance of wine, food and scenic attractions that aren't rushed. I take an interest in New Zealand's history, economy and current affairs because I know that people from overseas are curious about what makes this nation and its people tick. So I am so pleased that you felt it was a good tour and a good choice. Thanks for sharing your great feedback with others. I hope you'll join my NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch. Kindest regards - John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

NZ Wine Pro was an amazing unexpected experience! We were able to see a lot more that we were initially told; a trip around Auckland, an immersion into wine making and a wonderful meal at the end followed by the best wines! I recommend to anyone that knows wine or antes to get to know more! Plus John is an excellent guide!
Pilli's

Thank MarjPilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nzwinebug, Owner at NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hi Marjori,

Thanks for your wonderful review. The Villa Maria Picnic is a great tour for people with limited time. I really appreciate your posting a photo and for your super endorsement of my business. I'm pleased the tour turned out to meet your best expectations. I hope you'll like the NZWINEPRO Facebook page to stay in touch. All the best - John McFarlane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to NZWINEPRO - Auckland Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing