We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome sunset/night trip”

Auckland Sea Kayaks
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auckland is one of the world’s most unique sea kayaking locations. It is a region of exceptional natural beauty, volcanic islands, sandy beaches and is abundant with wildlife. The sheltered waters of the Waitemata Harbour make it a sea kayaker’s paradise waiting to be discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome sunset/night trip”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend joined Auckland Sea Kayaks for their sunset/night kayaking. The weather was perfect and the trip from Saint Heliers Bay to the massive volcano, Rangitoto, took around one hour. When we arrived Rangitoto our guide, Nic Mead, walked us through lava caves and up to the volcano summit where we watched an unbelievable sunset over Auckland City. On the way up Nic told stories about Rangitoto, about Auckland and some Maori culture. Later on we walked down to the Kayaks whereby Nic cooked a nice meal before we started paddling towards the city. It is hard to describe the feeling you have when you are sitting in a Kayak in the dark and under the stars paddling towards the lights from the city.

This was a great experience that we'll never forget, and we can highly recommend this to others.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sindre-Stoten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    16
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austrian Alps, Austria
1 review
“Great Kayaking Trip to Motukorea”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I did the 1/2 day kayaking trip to Motukorea and it was a awesome experience. The view is amazing from the island and we even encountered some dolphins on our way there. Nic, the guide, is a very nice guy and provided a lot of interesting information of the area after giving a very good introduction into kayaking.

Helpful?
Thank geraldtramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

1/2 day Sea Kayak Tour - Motukorea was the tour I joined. Nic, the instructor, was great. He did not push us too much but controlled our pace so well that we wouldn't burn out by the time we reach half way through. He also led us to an army of dolphins chasing for their foods. That scene was totally unexpected and indescribable. View from Motukorea was priceless. It's not something many people get to see in their lives.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AboveTheSurface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
“Highlight of our Auckland trip!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We loved our day paddling to Rangitoto!!! So worth it!! Nic was wonderful. He picked us up and dropped us off in town. He was so knowledgable and made the day so fun with his enthusiasm an stories. We had a great hike up to the peak of rangitoto and a delicious dinner! And sea-kayaking back to Auckland at night was such a unique experience...one that I will not soon forget. A great experience that I highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Trip to Rangitoto Island - A Fantastic Day”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was the first time for me to kayak. But it was so much fun. Arriving at Rangitoto we got some snacks and coffee. After that we walk to the top of Rangitoto with a great view over Auckland and we discovered a little hidden cave. After the walk we got some tasty lunch. It was an awesome experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auckland Sea Kayaks also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Sea Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing