We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Oasis”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was my first stay at the Sofitel and it certainly won't be my last. From the moment we walked in to a warm greeting, the service was beyond impeccable. The room was beautifully appointed with lots of little unexpected extras (try the jasmine tea!) and the main hotel area is relaxing and stylish. A short walk to the viaduct harbour but have breakfast at the hotel, it is better than any hotel breakfast I've had! A great stay. What really makes this hotel is the staff - every single one was just delightful to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales and Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear MichelleNZ2012,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have an amazing team and it is a pleasure to know that they have had a part in making your first Sofitel experience a memorable one. I hope that you will be able to stay with us again very soon!

Kind regards,

Hanna Downey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    702
    216
    72
    34
See reviews for
364
1,622
138
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay - the staff were attentive, and professional. Breakfast was of a high quality. I really liked the range of juices provided The bed was very comfortable - the best - an all around great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80wendy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales and Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear 80wendy80,

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Hanna Downey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a mini holiday in Auckand (even though we live here!) and made use of all the facilities. The pool and spa were great to use on a rainy winters day and the space in the hotel allowed for the children to have thier own space to play. Much appreciated. We did use the room service for the childrens dinner and impressed with the quality of the service and the food. Our own meal was also well received and would not hesitate in recommending even coming here just for for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieWilsonFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Well presented hotel with great location and view. The service was superb and we were made to feel very special. It was a great pampering for our wedding anniversary. The French phrases added to the ambiance. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotovegans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Staff are professional and warm, extremely welcoming and friendly. Especially the porters who met you as you arrived at the front door. WOW triple A star to them.

Room was excellent, clean and warm, and had plenty of towels and stocked with what ever girl needs ( a hair dryer, cotton buds etc ) fantastic view of the harbour and surrounding areas. No problems with Noise. Location is walking distance to Viaduct.

Very happy with my stay and will be coming back to stay for the weekend...and definately I will recommend the Sofitel to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartGirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Travelled with my brother to Auckland and stayed for three nights at the Sofitel Viaduct. Upmarket hotel, well appointed and very friendly and helpful staff. Bar was excellent and the bar keep remembered our choice of beverage - excellent and attentive service,

Used the pool and spa which were also very nice indeed !!

Hotel was close to plenty of resaurants and bars in the Viaduct precinct with a good number of tourist attractions (ferry, fish markets etc) in close proximity

However, my brother booked a double room with two single beds and I was surprised by the lack of space. There would have been not six inches between the beds and a half a metre to the window on one side and the bathroom door on the other. It reminded me of rooms in South East Asia except this room was NZD199.00 per night. Thankfully, neither of us snored (I don't think) but a bit more room would have been greatly appreciated.

Also found the wi-fi a tad expensive. There is s free grace period each day but that doesn't allow for much usage. Again have stayed in many hotels in S-EA and UK where wi-fi/internet is free - at the price paid I feel that extra download limits could well be afforded by the hotel.

All in all, a very good place to stay but next time I may look for better value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbits13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing