We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service except for lack of parking options.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a function at the viaduct event centre and decided to stay a night in town. The sofitel is our choice because of the promimity (walking distance) to the event centre and because we could use our Accor membership discount.

A little dissapointed that there was no concierge to help us unload our luggage on arrival but otherwise, the rest of our stay was really pleasant and we enjoyed the "Good old fashion" service, as I would call it . We were pleasantly surprised that we were taken to our rooms by the hotel reception staff and on the way, pointed out the various facilities and complimentary services.

Rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities and being a coffee lover, I enjoyed the expresson machine in the room apart the normal tea and cofffee facilities.

If you are an accor member and looking to stay in Auckland close to the viaduct/harbour and all the action around the area then this hotel is the ideal choice. However, if you are driving then there is only valet parking available at a charge. I am of the opinion that if one is prepared to pay the price for these accomodation, the valet parking should be included in the charge, as with other similar grade hotels we have stayed with.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LotusJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales & Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Bonjour ‘LotusJade’ We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback. I apologise that your luggage was not taken care of for you upon your arrival, as we pride ourselves on the delivery of a true five star luxury experience to all our guests.
Due to our central CBD location in Auckland the hotel has a limited number of parking spaces, consequently we offer a competitive valet parking service. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,858)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,535 - 2,541 of 2,858 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

At Sunday breakfast sat at the table outside of the restaurant (passage/hallway) but waited for a long time (25 minutes) before waitress came to check how our cooked breakfast was and mentioned we were still waiting. Told the order was lost - but maybe have a dedicated waitress there to make sure the order and breakfast is served - can be forgotten about in the passage way tables so the long wait does not happen as there are only two tables there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales & Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I’m sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your breakfast, rest assured we have noted your comments and that this information will be used to improve our service. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here as a weekend away from the kids, didn't have far to travel as we got the ferry from Auckland's North shore. Check in was very efficient, we were escorted to our room by the manager who showed us round our room and offered to make us an espresso coffee in our from with the in room coffee machine! We were given a voucher for complementary welcome drinks at the bar.
The room was amazing- views of the marina, comfortable bed and a huge double bath in the bathroom.
The food in the restaurants was topnotch, helped that we had an Accor card so it was all half price.
The hotel is at a great location an easy walk to the waterfront and Viaduct.

Room Tip: Get a Viaduct view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandKiwifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales & Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Bonjour ‘AucklandKiwifamily’, Thank you for posting your review of the hotel following your stay with us. I appreciate your feedback and will certainly be sharing your kind comments with our team of ambassadors. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Had a night away from the kids here using our Accor advantage plus card, and found every facet of this beautiful hotel to be faultless. The staff in this hotel would have to be the best in this country without exception, from the friendly valet parking guy to the exceptional reception desk staff, great bar staff and excellent restaurant staff.
The room we had was huge, spotlessly clean and very well appointed with a lovely bathroom complete with separate shower and massive bath tub (along with L'Occitane toiletries) and was beautifully quiet for a restful night.
We had a fabulous dinner, and excellent breakfast in the Lava Restaurant - breakfast was one of the best I've had in any hotel.
We really enjoyed the special atmosphere generated by greetings in French from all the staff, through to the French style food - gives the Sofitel a nice point of difference.
I would thoroughly recommend the Sofitel Auckland to anyone wanting a 5 star 'special' hotel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales and Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Fourkiwis,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our fantastic restaurant Lava Dining. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Hanna Downey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

After staying in other so called 5 star hotels it was a refreshing experience staying at the Sofitel. The moment from walking in the front door I could tell I was going to enjoy the experience. There is plenty of sitting space on the ground floor as well as great views of the water and within walking distance to all the harbourside restaurants. Room's are well appointed and very clean. The price was very reasonable and I will be definitely staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcraigmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales and Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear mrcraigmcg,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Hanna Downey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for just the one night on a recent business trip. This hotel is outstanding. The sevice level from the start was very high. We never ate here but did use the bar which had a very nice range of wine.The location is good, withing walking distance to many cafes and bars on the viaduct precinct The room was quiet and it was quite large with luxurious furnishings. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna D, Sales and Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Russdi,

Thank you for for this great feedback. I hope you'll have a meal in Lava on your next visit, it's not to be missed!

Kind regards,

Hanna Downey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Nelson
31
Reviewed 25 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hanna D, Sales and Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £154 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing