We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Hotel and Service!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Beautiful hotel with gorgeous rooms. The rooms were very large and well set out. Bathrooms are bigger than other hotels and have a large shower and deep bath, and it is big enough for two (normally lies)
The bed is the most comfortable, as they are in all Sofitel properties, and the location of the hotel is great. Close to the city centre and also great restaurants along the harbour.
We stayed for our one year wedding anniversary so also enjoyed the bar, Gerald was great:)
and the restaurant. Food was delicious (risotto and lamb..salted caramel icecream was to die for) and staff were very friendly and provided great service, our waitress (Lauren?) was very attentive. Staff at reception and concierge were all wonderfully helpful and also Claudio the Director of Sales provided excellent service throughout our stay, and was great with meeting all our requests.
All in all this is a great hotel, definitely the best we stayed at in Auckland. Will return again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,788
    713
    217
    73
    36
See reviews for
371
1,648
141
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The rooms themselves are nice-- clean, good size, comfortable beds. However, we dealt with two major issues:

1) The entire place is a fish bowl. You can't open your blinds without having the entire hotel be able to see directly into your room. They have slatted doors/screens that you can close, but they are useless at night when your lights are on. So, you end up having to keep the heavy blinds closed, which is miserable.

2) The staff is totally MIA. I can't tell you how many times I tried calling down to the front desk or other extensions (for wake up calls, room service, general questions) and no one ever picked up. I was traveling with a large group and everyone had the same issue. Yet-- the hotel wasn't that busy while we were there. As well, they proactively offered to deliver us the US news every morning--- and then not once actually did it. In general, the place felt totally clueless when it came to the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

After travelling non stop from England we were hoping to check in early. After a bit of a wait we were lucky one of our 2 rooms booked was available. Both were identical one had a harbour view.
This is a modern swanky boutique Hotel a short nice stroll from the centre passing many pubs & lovely restaurants. The rooms are spacious with a desk, sofa & small kitchen type area. The beds were large & very comfortable the ensuite luxurious with a bath & separate shower.
Our first breakfast sitting was not good as the staff were far too busy. The Hotel seemed full & it all seemed a bit of a battle. Things settled down after this thankfully & we enjoyed the super choices available each morning.
The bar is also nice.
I swam every morning in the pool which was good. The gym seemed well equipped.
We enjoyed our 5 night stay here very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

if you are coming to auckland on business then this is not the place you want to stay in. if being in touch with the rest of the world is important for you then this is not the place you want to stay either. The internet service is HORRIBLE if at all working. if you read through the reviews on this hotel the problem seems to be chronic. trying to work on line id literally impossible and very frustrating. If you are here on business and needs to stay in touch looks elsewhere.

Nice breakfast,

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dag1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Beautiful hotel with well appointed rooms. We had a junior suite during our stay.We stayed here for the first two nights after our wedding. The room was beautifully decorated with candles and flowers my friend provided the hotel with. The room was big and beds were comfortable. We had a view of the harbor from our room which was nice. The restaurant is great prices are steep. Location is fantastic as it feels like your away from the city and all the noise. But only a 5 minutes walk to get to the Viaduct. Will come back for a relaxing break again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psam010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Beautiful hotel and confortable rooms and while I only stayed there one night found it really relaxing. As a frequent business traveller throughout Asia I found that the two Sofitel properties I have stayed in over the last month have some strange internet policies. Overpriced and restrictive in what you can down load, I did not believe it when I was in Fiji but accepted it but in a city such as Auckland I found it just plane offensive. Most hotels are moving to low cost if not free Sofitel and moving the other direction. Its one of the reasons why I choose not to stay in ACCOR properties when I travel its these little things everyone else gives they try and over charge for.

Room Tip: Hotel is a little out of the city but has some great restaurants around it and a great view of the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed during the Triathalon Series. Rooms are good as is the location but we were disapointed with the restaurant. Breakfast is split in 2 locations and you need to search for all the food and there was no explanation by staff. Also it rained a lot and the hotel didnt have enough umbreallas to loan to guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,182 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing