We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 January 2013

So glad, we choose this one. It's right at the harbour, got HUGE rooms (the bathroom is as big as my dining room) and is equipped to a very high standard. Lovely service, too. Great breakfasts! Also a great very long pool, where you can actually swim and a hot pool to soak.

Room Tip: Try to book a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,355 - 2,361 of 2,935 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

We were able to redeem a voucher so stayed at this hotel 2 nights. its not somewhere i would come back to - the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful the 1st night the 2nd night we felt "oh well these people have been here before" so no need to give them extra attention. The meal was nice but not great! - there are alot of choices in Auckland in the 5* range and we have definitly stayed at better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 230Lynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debmontgomerie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I found the review very interesting that said they changed from the Langham to this Sofitel. We had one night in the Langham and the following in the Sofitel, we found the Sofitel left the Langham way behind in every aspect. I agree with the previous reviewer that the Langham are just sitting on their Laurels these days. They used to be outstanding in their service but something has changed. There are still some staff members that go the extra mile in their friendless but at the Sofitel EVERY single staff member greeted us with a big smile and hello, they seemed happy in the work and were exceptional in their service ! The rooms at the Sofitel are gorgeous, big. modern and spacious , immaculately clean, a large walk in shower and a bath, where as at the Langham you have to climb over the bath and take extra care as the tiles are slippery. The location is fantastic in the Viaduct area with many top notch restaurants with in walking distance. We loved this hotel and thought it was right up their with the Sofitel Hanoi. We now have our new favorite hotel in Auckland.

Room Tip: Go for a room over looking the habour if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddiefredie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here our first night in NZ and loved the hotel! It had a great view of the harbor and was extremely spacious. All of the staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice, with a large soaking tub and rain shower. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blueslady442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We initially booked into this hotel, then found the Langham and changed our reservation. We arrived at the Langham early in the AM after a long flight and were met by a surly desk clerk with a cold who told us to come back at 3 PM. I told him we would call the sofitel and did. Eventually the manager came out and plead with us to stay but we left.I know that check in's are established but frankly it was his "no can do" attitude and lack of customer service that upset me. Perhaps everyone else in the hotel is wonderful
We were able to get our desired connecting rooms at the Sofitel (thanks to Israel and Vikram). The whole experience is just so different, very eager to please. They are not resting on their laurels. I am sure others may experience a great stay at the Langham but frankly in my mind the Sofitel is cut above. The rooms are very comfortable, modern, clean, and spacious. Some look out on the water and others look at a hotel water feature. I think this location is much better, being closer to the Viaduct area with literally dozens of reasonable restaurants nearby, the hop on hop off, the ferry terminal, all within walking distance.

There are two places to eat, a full service, and a cafe. The concierge is knowledgeable and helpful. WE haven't been sorry.

Room Tip: We are facing the road but its totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel in Auckland on our recent trip to New Zealand and loved the hotel. We were supposed to go to the the Bay of Islands but a rainstorm caused us to change our plans. The staff at the hotel helped us revise our itinerary, recommended some great things to do in the pouring rain and generally made us glad to be there - despite it being Christmas Eve when they had better things to be doing with their families. Extra special service beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,396 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,823 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#16 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £154 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing