We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking confusions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 March 2013

While driving some English visitors from the airport to this establishment I phoned their reservations department and was told there was plenty of room available. A quarter of an hour later we arrived, only to be told by reception that they were full. It took very assertive questioning by me to get the desk lady to phone reservations, and find out that there indeed was space available. An unexpected glich from a place that otherwise met up to expectations

Room Tip: all good as you'd expect
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,858)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,186 - 2,192 of 2,858 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

My friends and ourselves found the location to be in an excellent position. The food was also excellent in the Dining Room and the the staff were exceptional. Facilities were also first class. Highly recommended accomodation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rtoomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel has a pleasant setting and staff. The foyer area has comfortable sofas and chairs. The rooms are spacious and comfortable which was great as we were travelling with a family party and we enjoyed being able to stretch out and relax after sightseeing all day. Little details such as fresh milk and coffee for the plunger were quickly arranged when requested. Our room faced the road which wasn't a bother as we loved being able to open the balcony door and hear the clatter of everyday life. However, I did have a most unpleasant experience which was promptly dealt with by the manager once I had sought him out as the reception staff had not notified him of my concerns. It was a cleanliness issue and the manager was genuinely apolgetic and caring. The conceige was helpful and was able to recommend a good hair dressing salon as well as the usual places to go. Breakfast was lovely and the staff very sweet and obliging. Our flight did not leave until the evening and we were very grateful to be offered bathroom facilities to shower and freshen up before leaving. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BendigoJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

As this was one of their Superior rooms, I found the room itself missleading in that it looked nothing like the room shown on the site.
The bed was far too soft and I couldn't sleep at all. Maybe this is due to the fact that I have a firmer bed usually. When booking in instructions were given on how to use the lifts but it wouldv'e been nicer if the receptionist had taken us at least to the lift to demonstrate how everything worked.
As we were going to a wedding and didn't use any of the other facilities of the hotel I will not comment on these.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank GWoodsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

On arrival we found the receptionist welcoming. Our room was clean and tidy and up to our expectations. We would have at that time happily stayed again, the restaurant let the hotel down, we felt after staying at the Ellerslie Novotel/ Ibis and eating at their breakfast buffet that the Sofitel food selection was disappointing. And the cooked breakfast (eggs on toast) was poorly cooked. My husband ordered coffee which was not served.
The valet service also let the hotel down on delivery of our parked car.We waited half an hour for delivery, during this time we asked for our car another two times. When we lost patience and asked again it turned out our car had been delivered to the front of the hotel and parked where we could not see it and the keys were handed back in to the valet area. It would have been nice to be told our car was ready and the keys handed to us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank michael12351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just spent a night at this wonderful hotel. It was a real treat. Located in the Viaduct Harbour and just a short walk from everywhere, the hotel is modern and vibrant.

Staff welcome you with the usual Sofitel "Bonjour" (often makes me wonder what would happen if I responded with 'bonjour comment allez vous' if they would know what I was saying) but its a nice trademark none the less.

The room was large and spacious. A big sitting area, huge bathroom with bath and shower (rainforest shower - just perfect) as well as a large bed (queen) and a sitting / writing area. There's a bar at the entry.

The rooms are quiet and the beds super comfortable making for a fantastic nights sleep.

Check out was pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were very disappointed by the Sofitel and especially after reading the reviews. The lobby is nice but the rest of the hotel needs to be refurbished. The hallway carpets are worn and the rooms could use a total make over. After staying in so many beautiful places in New Zealand, the Sofitel did not live up to the standards of a five star hotel. Lastly, the continental breakfast was fair, at best.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £154 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing