We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue for visiting the harbour and lots of restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
harrow
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good venue for visiting the harbour and lots of restaurants”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were lucky enough to have a room with a double balcony. Some of them only have one door that opens and you can't get a chair through it. It would have been nice if we had some furniture on our balcony. I took my chair and table out but the maids took them back each day! I appreciate it does rain at times.Concierge especially the senior one excellent. Also the staff at breakfast were very helpful especially Valrike (probably spelt it wrong).I ate outside every morning and he looked after me so well. Most rooms don't have a harbour view but the Atrium rooms are the next best ones, especially the corner ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    717
    218
    73
    36
See reviews for
372
1,654
141
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Sofitel and during the entire stay we could not fault it. Being an ex hotelier and critical about hotels this was an experience not to forget. Great location, superb large rooms with great views especially from a higher floor, very friendly helpful and professional staff especially the FO Mgr, prompt Valet Service. Well appointed public areas giving a feel of luxury and spaciousness. A bit pricy during high season and the coffee shop menu and service couldbe improved. We will definitely stay there again if we are in Auckland......

Room Tip: I recommend the 5/6 floors and rooms with views on the marina...wow...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 802RichardT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my night at Sofitel Viaduct Harbour. The bed was amazing and the space in the room was great too, space to move around. Loved the bathroom and used all the condiments which made for a great finish to a conference I had been at all week. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Janineotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel before taking our oceania cruise, the hotel is awesome, large and comfortable rooms, very well located in the viaduct and in the middle of the restaurants and bar area. Staff are very friendly and courteours; hotel offers breakfast very diversity and high quality food. Our stay in this hotel was excellent, I highly recomend it. Room coffee machine was great and tea selection in my room the best.!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roses, spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The Sofitel is relatively new. its on the harbour and Marina and very close to many tourists attractions as well as retaurants. The rooms were large, comfy and clean and the staff Friendly. Breakfast was a treat as all the meals were made by chef not from a can, ie baked beans and the like. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzag2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Most was fantastic however, breakfast eggs benedict was a disappointment hollandaise sauce let it down.
Would be great if you can also offer lower pillows for guests in room as I couldn't sleep on the high pillows that were there.
Expresso machine was not in the room - Being fixed apprarently, suggestion have a replacement so that what you advertise is what your guests get.
Service and people were great, rooms were clean and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank CJOnthegoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a lovely stay trhank you, water theme was an origional I'd not seen in NZ. Staff pretty/handsome and professionally obliging. Very handy to central Auckland eateries (and we went on SailNZ's america' cup, match racing) Viaduct Harbour activities.Restaurant was nice and menu very good, but stretched for space at peak times. (Not really a problem with so many cafes nearby but ...) Still a credit to the brand!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,488 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing