We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I recently stay 4 nights at the Sofitel in a Junior Suite room. We found the hotel and the room to be very nice and of high quality. I had initial concerns regarding the wireless internet service, which previous reviews cited, but as a result of a recent upgrade, the WIFI service was quite good. Additionally, the hotel provides a complimentary wireless up to 300MB, which I found to be a nice touch, particularly for a hotel of Sofitel's class. The location by the harbour is also very pleasant and serene.

My only knock against the stay was the less the stellar service. Our room did not get serviced on 1 day even though we returned to the room at 4pm (and no, we did not hang a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door) and requests for items were very slow requiring follow ups.

Sofitel Auckland is a very nice hotel and we would stay there again but hope the service improves to match the quality of the facilities.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing either the harbour or inside of the hotel. Avoid rooms facing (west), opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCK861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,149 - 2,155 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I loved our recent long weekend at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour - great location, good food, very comfortable bed and excellent service. It is right on the harbour, with lovely walks in either direction to shops and great bars and restaurants, and the downtown area of the city is also a short walk away. Fantastic. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank paultownsend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for three nights. It was a great end to our holiday. The hotel is very nicely appointed, especially the ground floor. It has a nice ambience. It's in a good location within easy walking distance to all the restaurants at Viaduct Harbour.

We had a marina view room on the 5th floor. Great view of the city lights and Sky Tower at night. The bedroom was a good size, bathroom was very big. The bed was very comfortable, but pillows were a bit soft for our liking. The coffee machine was a nice touch. Only negatives was there was nowhere to put our suitcases, so we had to put them on the floor where they were in the way, some of the fixtures were a little tired and TV reception was ordinary. I only mention these things because they could be improved on for the price that you pay for the room and comparing it to others in the same chain.

The staff were very professional and helpful, couldn't be faulted. All on all we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scopes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here Good Friday on a visit to Auckland. It was a brief visit for family reasons so we decided to try the hotel which we knew was the top line Accor property in New Zealand.

Indeed it was. Right from the moment we drove into the entrance, the attentive staff were on hand. The room is large and comfortable and the bathroom was superb.

The restaurant was quality the whole way. Some people have commented on the food being fairly pricey. Of course it is ... this is a top line hotel, but the quality matches that. The breakfast, in particular, featured an amazing selection of high quality offerings. One minor criticism was that a la carte service was a little slow, but it was a holiday weekend after all. When my wife received her pancakes, all was forgiven as they were divine!

We will be back.

Room Tip: I cannot comment on "kids activities". There is a free wireless allowance of 320 MB, but f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baycitybarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Easy to stay at the sofitel auckland comfortable spacious room,great location with easy access to the water and outdoor dining areas nearby.Safe location with easy walking paths for that late night walk home!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank dragon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was a great Hotel. Close to the water front, ferry terminal and Sailing venues. recommend the Waiheke Island wine tours. The hotel people ware very helpful and the food in the restaurant was expensive but very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank LifeisG00d2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a great time staying here, Staff were friendly with the kids. Turn down service was good.
Reception staff could do with a bit of training in guest service..I mean be more personable(A Smile will go a long way)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RONDVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £158 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing