We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location / issue with breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Location is great with a nice view on the marina (if you pay the extra more to get it). Really convenient to go in the city center to have diner or visit the city. Only issue: really not easy to park your car around. Room are modern and clean. We didn't use any facilities then no comment.
I would say it is a modern hotel with no special caracter (both for lobby/restaurants and rooms). It even look quite cold as it is often the case with the Sofitel ones but this is a personal view.
Breakfast was horrible. We first had to wait 15 minutes to get a place while we didn't have much time. When we finally get one, we realized half the restaurant is empty (do not understand why we have wait). The buffet is small with not so many choicies but the worse, it was empty. Much 60% of the plates/choices were gone including croissant and other pastries, cold cuts (salmon, meats and cheese), eggs, bacon and other sides dishes... Basically there is just cereals, yoghurt and fruits available. When we left the restaurant 45min after, they were just beginning to refill the plates. It is already disappointing in a budget motel but not acceptable for a luxury one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,130 - 2,136 of 2,915 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, great clean and very comfortable rooms. With its location in the viaduct harbour it is very close to downtown Auckland. This hotel has become our preferred choice when staying in Auckland for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lpgnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My Wife and I finished our NZ holidat at the Sofitel and were not disappointed in any way, infact we were overwhelmed with the exceptional and friendly service we received at all times beginning with staff at reception, and staf in the restaurant.

So impressed weith the quality of the food and the service we made the restaurant our number one place to eat.

Well recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Satisfied_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. The staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are just amazing with everything you need and more..Location was perfect with many options for sight seeing on the Viaduct and eating. We stayed with friends and each had our own rooms. Every room was just a amazing as the next.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kalgal246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Nice new "boutiquey" Sofitel property by the viaduct/harbor of Auckland. Very nice deluxe rooms many with quite good views of skyline or harbor. Location 10 min. walk from downtown. Beautiful lobby design, esp. at night.
Breakfast pricey, A$29-49 each depending on what you choose. But thats food prices overall on AU, not to mention A$20 cab rides of about 10 mins.
A couple of complaints: umbrellas not provided in rooms and scarce in lobby for guests, unlike other Sofitel properties. Request for bottle water ignored for more than 2 hours. And my checkout bill was incorrect at checkout (they had charged me for room I booked with AClub points) and they were unable to correct at checkout time. Unlike other Accor properties I am familiar with, they said they don't work-out bills until morning (instead of overnight).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Cali50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The restaurant food is great. The room was big and quiet with all the detail you can expect. The feather bed was absolutely awsome. We had a very good night,
The staff was very helpfull and full of attention, we really feel good here.
We really loved this hotel !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Olivier754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. The room was extremely comfortable and very quite. We had the option of opening a balcony door for fresh air if we wished.
Breakfast was really good - the breakfast room overlooked the harbour.
The decor of the hotel is unique.
The staff could not have been more helpful.
I certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrickyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,368 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,566 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,811 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £162 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing