We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$252
US$214
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$168
US$158
The Sebel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$116
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$101
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$91
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$191
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,081)
Filter reviews
3,081 results
Traveller rating
1,967
767
230
79
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,967
767
230
79
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava restaurantmarina view roomluxury roomviaduct harbourbeautiful hotelrain showerfloor to ceiling windowsnespresso machinewynyard quarterturn down serviceroom servicenew zealandrestaurants and barslarge bathroomvalet parkingbed was very comfortableferry terminal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,272 - 2,277 of 3,081 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The rooms are excellent. The breakfast is ok, too, but just across by the Vodafone is a café called Mojo's that does good breakfast, too.

The Sofitel is right by the waterfront, good for jogging and minutes away from the restraurants by the pier. The gym has got a sauna and a small pool, but wasn't that impressive otherwise.

The staff is friendly and helpful. Their welcome "bonjour" at frontdesk makes me smile every time.

I found it a bit expensive. In Auckland, things are so close together, that the location is not the real differentiator.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You know you are in a good place when arriving soaking wet (after an inside out unpleasant umbrella moment) from record breaking downpour, that we were immediately offered towels and an early check in so we could have a hot shower. Sofitels are fabulous and the best reason to join the Accor advantage club. The special touches in this one include lovely little things like putting bottles of water and glasses (complimentary) on the bedside tables; the as usual L'Occitane shampoos etc (but sadly no moisturiser!!), slippers left by the bed, a couple of free drinks at the bar and an excellent value buffet with top quality food and service (2 for 1 if you are a member) - enough to eat for most of the day. Great location as the Viaduct Harbour is a beautiful recent development. The Sabrage bar is cosy and welcoming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Sofitel is a pleasant hotel located in the Viaduct Harbour precinct of Auckland city. It is located close to many prime corporates and a short walk to downtown Auckland city. The rooms are comfortable and the service pleasant. We had some difficulty with access cards being deleted, but these issues were resolved without drama.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Murray_Milner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Location is great with a nice view on the marina (if you pay the extra more to get it). Really convenient to go in the city center to have diner or visit the city. Only issue: really not easy to park your car around. Room are modern and clean. We didn't use any facilities then no comment.
I would say it is a modern hotel with no special caracter (both for lobby/restaurants and rooms). It even look quite cold as it is often the case with the Sofitel ones but this is a personal view.
Breakfast was horrible. We first had to wait 15 minutes to get a place while we didn't have much time. When we finally get one, we realized half the restaurant is empty (do not understand why we have wait). The buffet is small with not so many choicies but the worse, it was empty. Much 60% of the plates/choices were gone including croissant and other pastries, cold cuts (salmon, meats and cheese), eggs, bacon and other sides dishes... Basically there is just cereals, yoghurt and fruits available. When we left the restaurant 45min after, they were just beginning to refill the plates. It is already disappointing in a budget motel but not acceptable for a luxury one.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, great clean and very comfortable rooms. With its location in the viaduct harbour it is very close to downtown Auckland. This hotel has become our preferred choice when staying in Auckland for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lpgnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews