We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive boutique-style Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed in a Luxury Room for 3 nights. First impressions of the hotel were good - it's a low-rise hotel which provides a boutique hotel feel. The lobby is beautiful and the courtyard water feature is stunning - particularly when lit up in the evenings.

There was a small delay in checking in however a complimentary coffee and regular updates by staff was appreciated.

The room was a decent size in a "L" shaped layout. The shorter part of the L was a sitting area, wardrobe, bar fridge and sink (and a coffee machine that was far too advanced for me to operate - boy did i make a mess trying to froth the milk!!). At the other end of the L was the bed (large, very comfortable and difficult to get out of - in a good way!). The bathroom was a good size with Hermes products.

The room was surrounded by glass which made the view of the viaduct really pleasant. There are narrow balconies on two sides - large enough to stand but not really wide enough for a chair. Given the layout of the hotel (U-shaped) you can see into other rooms - but you would really have to be "looking" for it to be a problem.

There is a small exercise room (to call it a gym is a stretch) and a lap pool (i think around 10 metres long) with great views. No outdoor area so no relaxing on sun loungers is possible.

The staff a great - given the size of the hotel you get to remember faces and they remember you - a nice touch in this age of super-sized 5 star properties. They were able to provide good recommendations for things to do and see.

The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from central Auckland, but given its location on the harbour, it's a really nice walk along the marinas (and some beautiful boats to drool over) and just a short stroll to a vast choice of restaurants - which really are targeted at tourists (given some of the prices) but do offer something for everyone.

A restaurant recommendation I would make is Lava at the hotel. Not cheap, but the food is amazingly good presenting the best of local produce and wines - and the wines are very good. It looks perhaps too trendy but I can assure you the food triumphs over the design. Try it.

The hotel is in a nice quiet location, easy to get around and well worth spending a long weekend there. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urban3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,070 - 2,076 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a truly stunning hotel this is. It had been recommended by friends, but they couldn't express how great this place is. We are planning another night soon.

I would never stay anywhere else in Auckland after this great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank boom278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The service, staff and overall experience of staying at the Sofitel Viaduct Harbour Auckland was absolutely fabulous, we highly recommend dining in at Lava Restaurant - devine!! Quiet location within walking distance to to Auckland CBD. The room was lovely but the BED, oh my gosh, if you have problems with sleep or getting a great bed to sleep in whilst you are on holiday, you don't have to look any further then the Sofitel My Beds, they are amazing!! The only complaint that we have is we were sent an email via AccorHotels Le Club for 20% off Auckland Hotels and triple points and so we signed into our AccorHotel Le Club and the price already reflected the 20% discount so we booked unfortunately we were surprised later when we did not get triple points for our stay, when we rang and enquired regarding this matter my husband was told if you didn't use the link to book - you don't get the deal - COME ON ACCORHOTELS this is not great customer service!!! We booked using your website and logged in to our account, very disappointed with the way we've been treated, still waiting on a response from AccorHotels!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had a really good room overlooking the harbour and the city, but paying that price with a hotel of that quality we expected to find biscuits, or something, to nibble in our room after a long journey. On the minus side, we had to wait 1/2 an hour to be seated for dinner, and when it arrived it was cold. Breakfast was very ordinary too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Nice bed and nice amenities. Here's where the good review ends. The rooms all look into other rooms and so there is no privacy whatsoever. I did not enjoy looking out onto someone else's living room and watching them pick their nose. The service was appalling. It rained the whole time we were there and I kept asking concierge for an umbrella. Every day they said I would have one the next day, I asked them to bring one to our room and they did not. I ended up with a cold. The staff are encouraged to be proud of their French heritage. One day when I returned clearly soaking wet I could have hit the doorman ("Bonjour!" "Bonjour!!! Je pensais que l'hotel Sofitel - c'est cinque etoiles!! Avez vous une parapluie, comme promis, pour moi? Quoi? Vous ne comprenez pas?" was what I wanted to say... peeps! You are in NZ.) As a gesture of goodwill they offered to pay for our taxi to dinner and then promptly failed to do so. An embarrassment to the Sofitel hotel group.

Room Tip: They are all goldfish bowls as far as I could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JannyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Extremely comfortable rooms, loved the location. Quiet, understated luxury. Viaduct and Queen St shopping wityhin easy wlaking distance. Could have done with a loan umbrella for the Auckland weather though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Huskyd0g1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Their meal were very natural and fresh taste.We enjoyed the food very much.
I also enjoyed using the amenities. I am fun of L'Occitane.
I missed the aroma of coffee.

This is a good location to walk to viaduct area and the city with marina view.
We enjoyed the development of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank hohoho_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £158 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing