We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel, quiet and convenient location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quality hotel, quiet and convenient location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed for one night before a ferry trip to Waiheke. We had a harbour view room which was large and very comfortable. The view was mainly across a narrow waterway and directly into an adjoining apartment block, so would be worth requesting a room facing the Marina itself. Floor to ceiling windows had (very necessary) privacy blinds and blockout curtains. Fantastic quality bed and bedding. We had breakfast at the cafe by the waterside rather than take the restaurant option - good food selection and relaxing location. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal, but the advantage of this is that its location is away from the harbourside bars and restaurants and is much quieter. Service was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    688
    211
    69
    32
See reviews for
355
1,564
133
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Being situated in Viaduct Harbour makes this hotel a great choice. We had a corner room overlooking the harbour and it was great - the room was spacious and the view over the harbour and city was great. I'd thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Cxa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a nice location and the rooms are done to a high standard (at least the superior room I stayed in) but - they had the wrong details for my booking which meant it took twenty minutes to check in; the air conditioning in my room was pitiful meaning that I was incredibly hot, the sound-proofing on the entrance/road side is non-existent - it was very noisy, the free wifi is inadequate for a business user, and, worst of all, the bar closes at 11pm.......

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Middleman499519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Z, Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Bonjour Middleman499519,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I would like to sincerely apologise for not having met your expectations while you were staying with us in Auckland.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of personalised service to all guests; therefore your feedback is extremely valued & important to us. For those reasons, we are further investigating the points that you have raised in order to make all possible improvements. Should you want to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me at megan.zacharkiw@sofitel.com.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we hope that we receive another opportunity to provide you a magnifique Sofitel experience.

Kindest Regards,

Megan Zacharkiw
Executive Assistant Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed two nights in this hotel after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Overall, the impressions pretty much reflected what has been said on Tripadvisor.
The staff are nice and friendly. I appreciate very much the suggestions and recommendations from the concierge desk. The restaurants and sightseeing spots they recommended were really awesome. The staff also went extra miles providing good information and making great arrangements. It really made my stay in Auckland unforgettable.
The type of the room I stayed was luxury internal water views room. The room was spacious with a high ceiling. It was also spotless and comfy. The bed was really wonderful. I slept pretty well on those nights staying there. The bathroom was also clean and spacious.
The breakfast buffet was great with a great variety of selections. I felt I did not need to have lunch after a big breakfast!!
If you need to work in the room, in-room dining would be a perfect choice. This hotel provided one of the most efficient services for in-room dining. I ordered in-room dining three times and were really happy about the quality of food and how efficient they delivered the food.
However, there were some flaws while I stayed there:
First of all, if you are not a member in the loyalty program of Accor Hotels, you will only have 300 MB internet access per day. It is really not sufficient, especially if you have more than one devices and you don't just use these devices for emails. Nowadays, many luxury hotels have provided complimentary unlimited access for the internet use. When I was staying at Hotel Sofitel, I could see quite a lot of rooms were empty from my balcony. So, if there are not many guests staying at the hotel, why not provide more convenience of internet access to the hotel guests?
Secondly, as my credit cards were stolen before visiting New Zealand and the replaced credit cards could not be delivered before I flew to New Zealand, I had to use cash for all the expenses. When I wanted to exchange some money at the hotel, I was told that I could only get the money from the exchange of 100 of any currency daily. That means, whether it is US dollars or Euros, you are only allowed to exchange 100 US dollars or 100 Euros daily. It was really inconvenient! I regretted that I should have exchanged more at the airport.
The worst experience was at the spa. When I made the booking, I was not informed that I should have arrived at the spa 10 minutes earlier. I arrived 2 or 3 minutes late and needed time for change. Worse, the treatment finished less than the promised time. When I challenged this at the reception, she said I was late and therefore the treatment time was shortened. Had I been informed about the policy, I would definitely arrived earlier. Though I was only 2 or 3 minutes late, the exact treatment time was 20 minutes shorter than promised. This is really awful and dishonest!!
If I visit Auckland again, I would still choose Sofitel and use the status of an Accor Hotels member for unlimited internet access. But, I would not want to use the spa treatment again (pricy and the quality was not that good either). Still, I thank the staff at the concierge, the housekeeping, and in-dining for really wonderful services!

Room Tip: If possible, choose the Marina view room. Mine was internal water view room, which faced to a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margarita_red2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan Z, Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Bonjour Margarita_red2006,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your hotel room and bathroom, your dining experiences and the excellent service that you received.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy one of your spa treatments and I would like to sincerely apologise that we failed to meet your expectations in this regard. I know that our Spa Manager has already been in touch with you and your feedback is very much appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you are in Auckland.

Kindest regards,

Megan Zacharkiw
Executive Assistant Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

From start to finish this 6day Christmas visit left good memories.
It is compact low rise yet an interesting building.
Not looking out to sea so "harbour view" rooms are not required. It is next a marina and has a central water view and many water features so internal view rooms seemed fine to us.
HOWEVER perhaps because of all this water there are biting insects about, but should be fine if you keep the window shut more than we did.
The bar is compact and not so special.
The coffee shop is rather good but not open in the evening I think.
The large restaurant "Lava" is smart and produces very good food but was often quiet as they do little promotion or specials. Our Christmas day buffet lunch was well managed and enjoyed.
We were rather shocked that staff keep a door open in the Gents toilet which leads to the room service trolly area. The trollies do not pass through so perhaps it was for ventilation ?
Our room was comfortable but the furniture inherited from previous owners is due an upgrade.
The pool was pleasant and the gym looked fine.

Room Tip: Inside facing sometimes have a view out across the marina, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

After motelling around New Zealand we decided on a treat so spent one night at the Sofitel. The service was outstanding from the time we pulled up to the door. Our room was beautiful and dinner was outstanding, although the wine prices are up there. Great location on the Viaduct.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing