We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Ceases to Amaze”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never Ceases to Amaze”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Always the small things that count, this was our second trip to the hotel and on arrival was welcomed back, issued the same room as our last stay and received complementary drinks and chocolates. Perfect

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank redhead72leic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,747
    703
    216
    72
    34
See reviews for
364
1,624
139
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The good: affable staff (who are instructed to say "bonjour" when they meet you in the morning but, delightfully, cannot say another word in French and understand none); very good breakfast; reasonably priced accommodation; good bathrooms in the rooms; on the water; and centrally located.

The bad: terrible internet service for which one has to pay or, if one becomes a member of the Sofitel something or other (one is inveigled to do so on check-in specifically for a free internet service), one receives limited free internet over the period of one's stay. It is very easy to exhaust one's entitlement though: just make a couple of long Skype or facetime calls and that is that! I cannot stand hotels with internet charges - and with poor quality wifi internet to boot.

The indifferent: if you are unlucky, you will be given a room with such inadequate storage space that, if you have more than a tee shirt or two, you will have no alternative but to live out of your suitcase: avoid room 610! One drawer only in the entire room and one shelf only, located in a cupboard that is so high as almost to be inaccessible and, if you touch it in order to put anything on it, it collapses together with the hanging rail that it supports. I asked to be moved as a result and the employee at the desk expressed surprise that the room could be so inadequate: she insisted that it had far more drawers and shelves than I gave it credit for. Just shows how much - or little - the staff knows about their own hotel. I asked her (with some trepidation in view of Sofitel's history in New York) to accompany me to my room and see for herself. She did so but she could not find the drawers and shelves that she had been so certain were there. She moved me to a good room on the floor below - to which I did not move until I had verified that it actually had two drawers and two accessible shelves. Beware!

Room Tip: Read the above - and avoid 610 like the plague (unless you enjoy living out of a suitcase). Insist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GvKl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Viaduct. The location is great. Close to Auckland CBD whilst having the most stunning views of the harbour. This time we had room 609 on the 6th floor. The view from our window was breathtaking. The room is a good size with a fabulous bathroom. The beds are so comfortable we wanted to bring it home. Staff are amazing. They are all so friendly and helpful. The amenities in the hotel are 5 star. Quality is what you pay for and what you get. This hotel is never disappointing.

Room Tip: It is a good idea to book for dinner if you wish to dine at Lava. It is very popular. Ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times before, once when it was the westin, again after the westin folded and it was run by different management and now under the Sofitel brand. The first time I stayed the hotel was new and amazing by far the best in the auckland. The design with outdoor water spaces and use of dark wood and exotic statues was very asian/pacific and unique. It is a shame to see it slowly worn down by lack of investment in surrounding facilities and increasing hodge podge of design elements (and furniture) from different owners. We have stayed in a number of nz 5 star hotels recently including the Hilton queenstown (amazing) just prior to arriving at the Sofitel and the hilton, langham and grand in auckland so we have some points of reference. However, you cannot fault the Sofitel staff. They were extremely polite and friendly.
We stayed in a marina view room. When we arrived the large windows were covered in smeary marks from the previous guests. The furniture was tired and marked including stains on the floor and curtain. to top it off the air con refused to work. Bit disappointing given how much I was looking forward to stay here and the price. i think some of the furniture had been in the hotel since it was built 10+ years ago and not well looked after during the hotels troubles. We advised the manager who was very apologetic and shifted us to a better room at the north end of the complex. Much better. Recommend you look to get these end rooms if you can. However the hotel generally is showing signs of age.
I understand they are testing a room or two for refurbishment now but no doubt it will be sometime before the final design is agreed and work started on the rooms for guests.
Overall I really wanted to like this hotel because it is was such a cool design. Unfortunately the total package is missing for a five star hotel. It is simply overpriced for the quality given what else is available in auckland. If some solid and rapid investment is made I am sure it will back to how I remember it. Until then we won't be back, which is a shame.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank -kiwi-667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
226 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for a work function in early December, and I was blown away.
The ambience of the entire hotel is light, airy and gracious. The interior design is amazing and very well done. After a while, I just stopped analysing and just enjoyed it.
We didn't have one of the harbour-view rooms, but rather one that looked on the internal courtyard and across to the other rooms - but I was blown away at how well this was done! The placement of shutters and curtains meant you could have privacy as well as feel open to the communal areas and the beautiful weather.
As for the pool. Wow! It's right on the water, warm and spacious. This might be my favourite hotel pool ever!
The duvet and the pillows were a sheer joy and I just did not want to get up the next day.

We had a dinner catered downstairs in the waterfront area, and this was also amazing. Great food, great wine, great service, and it was bliss being able to just go upstairs when you were done with the evening.
One niggle was breakfast: The dining restaurant (with the usual astronomically-priced breakfast buffet) had a very long wait for seating, and was unable to accommodate not just us but many others. However, we had a very acceptable quick breakfast at a cafe in the hotel which was also accessible to the sidewalk.
I would find it hard to stay in any other Auckland hotel from now on, knowing that bliss such as this exists.

Room Tip: Although a lot of reviews say to ask for a harbour-view room, I personally found the interior-facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quack_quack_quackl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed in Auckland for 3 days , went to a concert and enjoyed the sun ! Liked Auckland when I came two years ago , had a great time again Warm friendly welcome on arrival , service maybe a little more formal than the boutique hotels I usually patronise , but didnt take long to adapt ! Helpful friendly service , huge room , very well equipped , balcony with view over internal pool Nice touches included a coffee maker that didnt need a PhD in electrical engineering to operate, good ground coffee pods provided and a kettle if your favoured tipple is a cuppa Even got some free wifi as an Accor rewards member , only 100Mb a day but turned out to be enough as I was out and about a lot The Sofitel is really close to Viaduct Harbour and five or ten minutes walk from the centre of town , lots of eating places nearby , including breakfast options if you cant drag yourself out of the Sofitel's excellent beds All in all highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flatworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel was great. Stayed there one night prior to catching a flight home after a cruise.. The hotel is within walking distance of the harbor and all of the must see sights in Auckland. A quick taxi to the airport took about 30 minutes. Room huge and spotless. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing