We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel and good customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a (fairly) long 9-day stay at the Sofitel in Auckland as we were attending a triathlon. We got to experience a few different rooms (because of a 4-day break in between stays, as well as due to a room error). This was initially not so pleasant as we had to pack and unpack and spend a fair amount of time at the reception to find out what was happening BUT they truly apologized and went out of their way to compensate for our inconvenience (complimentary dinner, champagne, personal phone calls, chocolates,..). This has been greatly appreciated!
MANY THANKS TO THE SOFITEL RECEPTION TEAM. All our special requests (bike and bike box storage, special tools from maintenance, a scale to weigh our over-sized luggage,.. etc etc) were all met promptly and without any questions. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: There are many different room types. Make sure you ask what is available (according to what time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,706 - 1,712 of 2,876 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in January this year with our 3 year old and had a great time. I can't fault this hotel really it's modern, spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and the concierge were very helpful, advising us on where to go etc. It was a 10 minute walk into the city centre around the harbour and past the amazing yachts and boats, You also go through a large area of bars and restaurants. If you want to be bang in the middle of the city this may not be the hotel for you.

The breakfast in the hotel restaurant is very expensive but we ate in the little cafe attached to the hotel by the water, the food was great, reasonably priced and the staff were lovely. We ate out at night so didn't use the restaurants in the hotel.

We used the pool which isn't very wide but is long enough to do some laps. The room was large, modern and clean. Our safe broke and someone came up within 5 minutes to fix it.

Overall an awsome hotel that I would highly recommend. If you have kids go to Auckland zoo it's a great day out! Also ask for your Sophie the sheep cuddly toy that all the children staying get, it's now my daughters favourite toy!

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room overlooking the harbour but I'm guessing they would be more expensive. Ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E135952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Auckland Sofitel has a great location and offers everything you need and expect from a 5 star city hotel. The staff are welcoming and do their job well ( although staff of Indian or Chinese origin in New Zealand welcoming you with "Bonjour" or "Bon Soir" is a little OTT). The rooms are fine and quiet, with a reading couch and a desk, the king beds really comfortable and bathrooms modern and a good size. The Expresso machine is a nice touch, once you work out how to use it. Free WiFi is available on request (it is a pity all major chains do not follow suit); the valet parking - the only parking available, is efficient and reasonably priced at $35 per day. Breakfasts have a great variety and can even include champagne if you are so inclined. In other words, The Sofitel delivers all they say and all you could ask for.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a Harbour view room, 4th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Excellent location on Viaduct Harbour, close to restaurants and enjoyable walks along the waterfront. Our room had a spectacular view over the marina and city, with small balcony. Only issue was that bathroom had a damp musty smell.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank PearlOfTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Lovely hotel great location, not far to walk into city. Lots of restaurants etc. Wonderful staff. We missed breakfast though - should go till 11am. Best beds ever - did book a room with city views but didn't see city from our room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A great location, great rooms,helpful staff. The only reason I haven't given it the full five stars is that the food in the restaurant, whilst good, does not quite match up to the rest of the luxury. You would be better off using the hotel as a base and eating out in the evening elsewhere, such as the Grove, Ostro, Ebisu, Depot etc etc

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland Central
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £160 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing