We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top class hotel in the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here twice on our recent trip to New Zealand and we will be staying here again if we ever go back.
Service wastop drawer through check-in, concierge, porters and restaurant staff.
If you have a harbour-side room you get views over the moored gin palaces and the city skyline, well worth the extra cost if you are staying a few nights.
The harbour-side location is the big plus, perfect for a wide range of eateries and just 10 minutes from the ferries to the islands.

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,710
    693
    214
    70
    33
See reviews for
360
1,593
133
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The location of the Sofitel is ideal, with lovely views and within walking distance of great restaurants (see Baduzzi) and sites. Unfortunately the service and room quality are not up to its purported "luxury" status. The problems started weeks before arrival when I tried to reach the hotel via the email address on the website. I got a response from Accor a couple days later telling me to contact the hotel directly, but didn't give me a different address to use. I wrote back asking how I could contact the hotel directly and I got the same response. Round and round we went until I finally called the hotel from the states and got a confused person who wouldn't give me a direct email address either. It was a very bad way to start and was indicative of further issues to come.
It was almost as hard to get in touch with someone at the front desk from within the hotel itself - calls were often unanswered and/or the desk lightly manned (one person with a line of three customers waiting). And when someone was there, they often didn't have answers to simple questions. When I checked-in I was asked if I wanted to join their loyalty program in exchange for free unlimited internet and I said sure. But then it took multiple attempts to get the info I needed to make that happen (later, because it wasn't set up correctly to start with).
It was hard to get housekeeping to come also. We called at 10:30am and asked them to come clean the room and could they do anything about the mosquitos in the bathroom (gross)? They said yes they'd come spray and clean immediately. We returned at 3pm, and they hadn't come.
It just felt like pulling teeth to get anything handled. VERY far from a "luxury" experience.
The one bright spot in service was the staff at Lava at breakfast - they were fantastic. The people who train & manage them should work with the staff elsewhere in the hotel.
Rooms were decently sized but in need of an upgrade - peeling wallpaper and dinged up furniture. But at least the hotel was very quiet, which is nice.
The gym was ok - four treadmills but weight area was very small and limited.
Not sure I'd stay there again as it really didn't live up to expectation, aside from the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very nice, first class hotel in a great location. Perfect for getting to Viaduct Harbour or the city centre. Rooms are large and very well appointed, breakfast was good and the service is very good. If you are a member of Club Accor, you get free wifi in your room.

Room Tip: Not many rooms face the harbour, so if you want a view ask for a harbour facing room. You'll pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Had a great night stay, upgraded to a beautiful suite! Thanks for making the start to our NZ holiday memorable. Hotel is a very pleasant 5-10min walk to the bottom of Queen st, lots of great restaurants and cafés all around. Staff very helpful, pricey but worth it!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Specultor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great location on the marina with terrific views and walking distance to the harbour and city centre. Rooms are huge and very comfortable with massive beds and bathrooms. Great bar and service was excellent at all levels especially valet parking and reception. Definitely worth the money!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamhunter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed at the Sofitel on a work trip for two nights. Knowing that the room rate was just over $300NZ I had high expectations. Overall this is a great hotel if you're not looking for something that feels uniquely Kiwi. That's because once inside, apart from a few statues in the lobby, you really could be in London, Sydney or New York. The rooms are to a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel has a great bar, cafe and restaurant - which make it perfect for a business trip. It's also in a very scenic spot - walk out of the hotel and you have a fabulous view of Auckland harbour. I didn't venture far but understand that there's plenty of bars and restaurants just a ten minute walk away at the Viaduct. The hotel also has a reasonable (but small) gym and a good lap pool. The service is is good - my requests for a samsung phone charger, and for the music system in the gym to be turned on were attended to promptly. Overalls. Good stay, but if I was travelling for pleasure I'd be inclined to seek out something more unique.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour or the water feature in the middle of the hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GelatoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

It is my pleasure to share with you my experience in regards to my recent stay at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct .
What a difference staff can make to a holiday !
From the moment I arrived Mark at the door was fantastic with service and that continued throughout my entire stay .
I dinned twice at the Restaurant Lava and also found wonderful people to take care of my every need . The food was excellent and I never wanted to leave . Jonathan , Heman and all the staff at Lava made the whole experience one i will remember for ever .
I have stayed in many other places in Auckland and will be 100% be returning next year .
Thankyou to everyone at Sofitel
Jennifer Mercer (room 306 February 2014)

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Southall Travel, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing