We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel in fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fantastic staff, lovely room, Breakfast was great, Room service dinner beautifully done. Just all round faultless, excellent service. The one problem we had (largely my fault) was resolved satisfactorily by email after we left. Definitely where we would go back to, accepting it is not cheap, but this kind of service is worth paying for if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour really add something to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave310551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    702
    216
    72
    34
See reviews for
364
1,622
138
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I spend a couple of nights here as a start to my month long travels through New Zealand. I found Sofitel to be a very pretty hotel, especially for a large city hotel. The staff was very helpful in reserving restaurants and helped us with what we needed.

It's also a short walk to a large number of restaurants and major attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in early March. Smooth and welcoming check in and French bonjour a nice touch. Room excellent, very spacious and nicely presented. Great breakfast. I would have given 5 stars but the hotel lets itself down by charging an extortionist rate for wfi.....embarrassing really as this is usually free just about anywhere one may wish to go.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cleo01paw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

For us, on vacation, the location was excellent. Just 10 minutes walk from the city , the harbour and Viaduct restaurant precinct.

We had booked, and got, a marina view room on the 5th floor, which also provided us with views of the Sky Tower and the people jumping off it from time to time.(not us!)

We found the room to be pleasant, clean, although showing some little signs of aging, and thought it to be surprisingly small for this day and age.The bed was comfortable, although we prefer a firm bed and asked that their pillow-top be removed and different pillows be provided, which was done without any fuss. Bathroom was plenty big enough with bath and separate shower. It was clean and functional although the space on the vanity for personal items was a little restricted.

Our over-all experience of the service in the hotel was great, from check-in to check-out in all areas of the hotel that we used. We were treated courteously, greeted by staff, and any requests were responded to immediately.

Although a late check out was not available for us, we were offered the facilities in the spa for a shower and change before we travelled back to Melbourne on a late Qantas flight.

We enjoyed the restaurant for dinner one evening and found their service good and the food to be very good. We thought that the pricing was reasonable and compared well with other restaurants that we visited outside the hotel.

We thought breakfast was a little expensive as we do not eat a large breakfast and we took breakfast outside the hotel. (Suggest people check out the restaurant over the road in the Vodaphone building. Lots of activity and an interesting crowd.)

As we wanted to experience Auckland, we wanted to eat dinner, lunch and breakfasts in different restaurants on most occasions and there is a great variety within 10-15 minutes walking.

One negative point: While internet was supposed to be free - after only 300Mb, it said we had used an unfair amount. Considering we were there for 5 nights, this is an unreasonably small amount! Your computer only needs to update its software or virus protection and the allowance is used up!
Rather than pay for any extra at exorbitant rates, we purchased a USB stick from Telecom for $59, which gave us 1Gb and lasted easily for the rest of our stay with the added advantage of being able to use it elsewhere. If we return to Auckland, we can top this up at very reasonable rates and not have to buy the USB dongle again.

All in all, an enjoyable stay, and, yes, we would stay there again if we are in Auckland.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with Marina view. A little more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here twice on our recent trip to New Zealand and we will be staying here again if we ever go back.
Service wastop drawer through check-in, concierge, porters and restaurant staff.
If you have a harbour-side room you get views over the moored gin palaces and the city skyline, well worth the extra cost if you are staying a few nights.
The harbour-side location is the big plus, perfect for a wide range of eateries and just 10 minutes from the ferries to the islands.

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The location of the Sofitel is ideal, with lovely views and within walking distance of great restaurants (see Baduzzi) and sites. Unfortunately the service and room quality are not up to its purported "luxury" status. The problems started weeks before arrival when I tried to reach the hotel via the email address on the website. I got a response from Accor a couple days later telling me to contact the hotel directly, but didn't give me a different address to use. I wrote back asking how I could contact the hotel directly and I got the same response. Round and round we went until I finally called the hotel from the states and got a confused person who wouldn't give me a direct email address either. It was a very bad way to start and was indicative of further issues to come.
It was almost as hard to get in touch with someone at the front desk from within the hotel itself - calls were often unanswered and/or the desk lightly manned (one person with a line of three customers waiting). And when someone was there, they often didn't have answers to simple questions. When I checked-in I was asked if I wanted to join their loyalty program in exchange for free unlimited internet and I said sure. But then it took multiple attempts to get the info I needed to make that happen (later, because it wasn't set up correctly to start with).
It was hard to get housekeeping to come also. We called at 10:30am and asked them to come clean the room and could they do anything about the mosquitos in the bathroom (gross)? They said yes they'd come spray and clean immediately. We returned at 3pm, and they hadn't come.
It just felt like pulling teeth to get anything handled. VERY far from a "luxury" experience.
The one bright spot in service was the staff at Lava at breakfast - they were fantastic. The people who train & manage them should work with the staff elsewhere in the hotel.
Rooms were decently sized but in need of an upgrade - peeling wallpaper and dinged up furniture. But at least the hotel was very quiet, which is nice.
The gym was ok - four treadmills but weight area was very small and limited.
Not sure I'd stay there again as it really didn't live up to expectation, aside from the location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
556 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very nice, first class hotel in a great location. Perfect for getting to Viaduct Harbour or the city centre. Rooms are large and very well appointed, breakfast was good and the service is very good. If you are a member of Club Accor, you get free wifi in your room.

Room Tip: Not many rooms face the harbour, so if you want a view ask for a harbour facing room. You'll pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing