We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I was traveling on a business trip and stayed at Sofitel in Sep 2013 since it's near my office. The room size is quite spacious where there is a separate sitting area and a desk where I did my work and acted as an office space. The bathroom is a good size as well with the big bath and shower area. The room has a floor to ceiling windows so it's really bright with more than enough lighting in the day. The room also has a very good coffee maker so that was a plus whenever I need to wake up early to do a bit of work. It would have been great if the room I got was facing the viaduct area but I the room I got was the one facing the Vodafone office. The hotel was fully booked when I checked in so my request to checkin early was not accommodated. The only complaint I have is that when I went out for dinner, it was quite a long walk to where the pubs/restaurant areas where especially on a cold/windy night. The hotel service is excellent and is what can be expected on this hotel.

Room Tip: Request for room with a view of the viaduct area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristine1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    717
    218
    73
    36
See reviews for
372
1,654
141
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The manager of this facility should be proud of the way he has instilled in every member of the staff a sense of courtesy, helpfulness, and friendliness. It was a pleasure to ask something or for something. On the other hand, the interior designer of the luxury rooms should try again. For a luxury room to have absolutely no drawers and virtually no shelf space is ridiculous. We had the most complex coffee and tea machine in the room, but no where to put down a cup of tea or coffee if we made one. The room, while spacious enough, was designed for people who have no clothes and come for the day. There should be a complete redesign to make the rooms worthy of the high level of the young and enthusiastic staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the marina, otherwise you are facing another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We prepaid two months n advance and received a confirmation stating "Superior room, King Size Bed, City View". As a member of Virtuoso ad the Accor club, we were entitled to free internet and late checkout.
We arrived early so we went on a City tour before we could check in. At 2 PM we were told our room was ready. The room we were assigned was very small, had a bed that was at best queen size and the view overlooked a bus terminal even though their website showed a superior room with a beautiful view of Auckland. When I complained, I was told that the hotel was full but after continued discussion, we were moved to a larger room with a king bed but the "City View" rained only the bus terminal.
The draw drapes were stuck so we could not open them, which was probably just as well as anyone in the terminal could see into the room. The bathroom sink had a slow drip but I was able to fix that by hitting it with a shoe.
The free internet stopped after one day and disconnected us in the middle of a project. We were then told to sign up for a paid program and the charge would be removed from our bill.
When I complained again about the conditions, I was told that a "Superior room" was actually the lowest level of room and that "King size bed really means King or Queen. There are apparently 4 types of views, Harbor, City, Garden and other. The City view rooms were on the other side of the hotel.
We did not need a wake up call as the busses in the outdoor terminal start up with a roar at 5 AM.
The Bell hops double as concierges and did their best to provide service. They were excellent and helpful bell hops but they would not qualify as concierges at any first class hotel we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOWARD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Fantastic staff, lovely room, Breakfast was great, Room service dinner beautifully done. Just all round faultless, excellent service. The one problem we had (largely my fault) was resolved satisfactorily by email after we left. Definitely where we would go back to, accepting it is not cheap, but this kind of service is worth paying for if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour really add something to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave310551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I spend a couple of nights here as a start to my month long travels through New Zealand. I found Sofitel to be a very pretty hotel, especially for a large city hotel. The staff was very helpful in reserving restaurants and helped us with what we needed.

It's also a short walk to a large number of restaurants and major attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in early March. Smooth and welcoming check in and French bonjour a nice touch. Room excellent, very spacious and nicely presented. Great breakfast. I would have given 5 stars but the hotel lets itself down by charging an extortionist rate for wfi.....embarrassing really as this is usually free just about anywhere one may wish to go.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cleo01paw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

For us, on vacation, the location was excellent. Just 10 minutes walk from the city , the harbour and Viaduct restaurant precinct.

We had booked, and got, a marina view room on the 5th floor, which also provided us with views of the Sky Tower and the people jumping off it from time to time.(not us!)

We found the room to be pleasant, clean, although showing some little signs of aging, and thought it to be surprisingly small for this day and age.The bed was comfortable, although we prefer a firm bed and asked that their pillow-top be removed and different pillows be provided, which was done without any fuss. Bathroom was plenty big enough with bath and separate shower. It was clean and functional although the space on the vanity for personal items was a little restricted.

Our over-all experience of the service in the hotel was great, from check-in to check-out in all areas of the hotel that we used. We were treated courteously, greeted by staff, and any requests were responded to immediately.

Although a late check out was not available for us, we were offered the facilities in the spa for a shower and change before we travelled back to Melbourne on a late Qantas flight.

We enjoyed the restaurant for dinner one evening and found their service good and the food to be very good. We thought that the pricing was reasonable and compared well with other restaurants that we visited outside the hotel.

We thought breakfast was a little expensive as we do not eat a large breakfast and we took breakfast outside the hotel. (Suggest people check out the restaurant over the road in the Vodaphone building. Lots of activity and an interesting crowd.)

As we wanted to experience Auckland, we wanted to eat dinner, lunch and breakfasts in different restaurants on most occasions and there is a great variety within 10-15 minutes walking.

One negative point: While internet was supposed to be free - after only 300Mb, it said we had used an unfair amount. Considering we were there for 5 nights, this is an unreasonably small amount! Your computer only needs to update its software or virus protection and the allowance is used up!
Rather than pay for any extra at exorbitant rates, we purchased a USB stick from Telecom for $59, which gave us 1Gb and lasted easily for the rest of our stay with the added advantage of being able to use it elsewhere. If we return to Auckland, we can top this up at very reasonable rates and not have to buy the USB dongle again.

All in all, an enjoyable stay, and, yes, we would stay there again if we are in Auckland.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with Marina view. A little more expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing