We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, but..”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Have just taken our free night here thanks to Accor Advantage Plus and would still rate this as one of Auckland's best hotels. Staff are exceptionally attentive, friendly and courteous, rooms comfortable and well appointed (especially the bathroom), location superb and restaurant excellent. The only reason for the 'but..' in the title is a noise issue. On a previous visit we had a room at the city end of the building and commented on the peace and quiet however this time we were at the Westhaven/Harbour Bridge end - directly above a huge bus depot and yes at 0555 the buses are starting up and heading out the gate right below our window. This would be ok if you were wanting an early call, but certainly not great if you are hoping for a sleep in!
Overall I still rate this hotel very highly, but would definitely request a room towards the city end of the building.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bus depot unless you are an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fourkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Bonjour Fourkiwis,

Thank you for your kind words & taking the time to share your Sofitel experience. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & your Magnifique experience in Lava Dining! Please except my apology for the noise disturbance from the bus depot I will be very happy to update your room preference on our system for any future reservations. Feel free to contact me directly on my email address stefan.coetsee@sofitel.com to provide me with your details.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour strives to provide superior levels of personalised service to all guests. Therefore your feedback is extremely valued, regarding the team being exceptionally attentive, friendly and courteous & we thank you once again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon & trust that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as your previous stay.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    707
    217
    73
    35
See reviews for
368
1,635
139
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
553 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have been staying within Accor brand offerings for many years now. To date, its brands such as Mercure and Ibis have been underwhelming. And so, I didn't have a high expectation of Sofitel at all. It turned out that I needed to mince my words. Sofitel happened to be a revelation. The ground reception area was spread out and it got a lot of nooks and crannies everywhere for guests to hide from wandering eyes and to enable them to rest in the oasis of calm. The staff was attentive and brisk with genuine eye contact. The room was a revelation. It's spacious and the bathroom was simply divine with the standalone island bath and tropical rain showerhead. The soap, shampoo and body lotion were all Lanvins. There was even a Bose sound system - iPod compatible. I went out briefly for a walk along the Viaduct Harbour but upon my return, there was a personalised handwritten note from the Guest Relation Manager on my bed with my blanket being turned, a piece of chocolate awaiting for me, a bottle of still water by my side, slippers by my bed. What an unexpected pleasant surprise! It goes without saying that Accor wi-fi policy is still ridiculously expensive. The downer during my stay was that the room was facing a bus depot (Room 605) and that the one of the lifts was being fixed. Yet, there was no warning given and many guests including myself were waiting for lift that never actually arrived. We ended up using Fire Exit stairs. The card that operated the lift and also opened my room was prone to not work once it's been exposed to smartphone. The staff acknowledged that it's a common occurrence. Its hardware isn't as robust as the system used at The Sebel. Apart from that, Sofitel was truly an enjoyable and memorable stay. As a reminder, all good things come at a price and breakfast here ain't cheap, either. Due to its location, choices are aplenty anyway.

Room Tip: Room 605 or rooms that are facing this side would most definitely facing the bus depot. That being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

From the first moment of arrival, until our departure, we received impeccable service, from friendly staff. The hotel is very well designed, just love the water inside and outside the hotel. It is so quiet and peaceful, sitting outside at the cafe or bar, on the waters edge, that you totally forget about the big city noise and traffic just a block away. The hotel is perfectly located, within walking distance of the bars and restaurants in the Viaduct and Wynyard areas, and the Sky City.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra, to get a room on the marina side. A great view of the boats in the marina, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we stayed at the Sofitel Auckland March 7th for 2 weeks. We were not on business and not on vacation - our 22 year old daughter was donating her kidney to her 11 year old cousin who lives in AUK. Sofitel was incredible. Service, food, comfort, staff - everything was excellent. Fantastic location with great restaurants within walking distance, or their own restaurant with excellent food. Rooms were nice, beds fantastic, views were breathtaking. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnatodd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Bonjour Donnatodd4,


Thank you for your kind words & taking the time to share your Sofitel experience. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & your magnifique experience in Lava dining and the rest of the hotel!

It was only our pleasure to have been able to play some small role in what was for your family a life changing experience.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour strives to provide superior levels of personalised service to all guests; therefore your feedback is extremely valued & we thank you again for providing it. We are all very pleased to hear that your daughter and her cousin are both doing well and that the operation was such a success.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Auckland on a nice restful holiday & trust that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as your previous stay.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing