We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,761
    707
    217
    73
    35
See reviews for
368
1,635
139
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here for work and I loved this hotel, the ambience was great, service was impeccable and the food fantastic my only regret was that I was there for only one night! The view from my room was great and breakfast was outstanding

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is widely recognized as one of the nicest hotels in Auckland. It is easy to understand why. The staff is friendly. The rooms were spacious with a large bathroom (and an excellent shower!). There is a good restaurant and a bar with windows facing the marina. The hotel is quiet and professional while also being warm and comforting. In particular the color schemes, lighting and decor was upscale tasteful and very calming. The excellent location cannot be beat with easy access to the touristy harbor area, as well as shopping and business destinations...really all within walking distance! I did not see very many families/children at the hotel and the hotel did not seem particularly suited to that demographic, but more appropriate to adult leisure and business travelers. No doubt a family would be perfectly happy with the accommodations but probably would be better suited to a different style of hotel. The only problem I encountered - and it is not insignificant- is the hotel wireless policy is absurd and it is difficult to connect easily. Wireless was supposed to be free; it wasn't. And if you are trying to connect multiple devices, then you are really in trouble! The problem was never adequately resolved during the duration of my stay despite attempts to do so. This is a blemish on what otherwise was a very good stay at a fine property. I would stay at the property again, but if you elect to do so know that the internet will be a frustrating point.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the marina have limited privacy as there are residences directly facing the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latitudes_Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Brought a night at this hotel though a mystery deal. It was a pretty fancy place and room was well appointed but VERY noisy. For a modern hotel it lacked double glazing and right outside my window was a set of of traffic lights that beeped constantly all night.

Room Tip: Get a room on the north of the east and high up to improve your odds of a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chch_kraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this excellent hotel in February for two nights at the start of our month long tour of New Zealand. We had an excellent luxury room overlooking the marina. The room contained high specification fittings and a luxurious bed. All of the staff were polite and diligent. We enjoyed eating breakfast outside at the reasonably priced cafe on the ground floor. The valet parking however was overpriced at 35 dollars per day,especially when you could park for free on a nearby street on a Sunday. The hotel is well located for visiting the excellent Wynard quarter and marina areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I booked this hotel knowing it was on the expensive side but wanting a really nice hotel after a long haul flight from Heathrow. We booked two nights and chose a harbour view room - its definitely worth the extra. Room 308 - perfect probably the best view to have! Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very attentive, room good size with everything you could wish for. Lovely to have a really good indoor pool too that was big enough to swim proper lengths.
We chose to have breakfast in their café which had tables out doors overlooking the harbour - much better than going in the restaurant. Altogether a great choice and would highly recommend. They do charge for parking - which is valet parking underground. About 12 dollars a day but very convenient. Enjoy if you do choose it!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the harbour viaduct
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clipclop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing