We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel by Auckland waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    692
    213
    69
    33
See reviews for
359
1,589
133
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
355 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

What a great hotel. Very well located in the city centre, on the waterfront. Fantastic rooms and wonderful food. It is pricey but luxurious.it is quietly located despite being close to the buzzing city waterfront area. Very helpful staff, went over and above in helping us sort out car hire. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jancrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Bonjour Jancrow4.

Thank you for such amazing feedback & for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay.It is gratifying to see that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our waterfront location & the service you received throughout your stay. We are very pleased to hear that the ambassadors were able to assist you with your vehicle rental requirements.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A fine hotel by the harbour with boats and yachts anchored infront of your balcony room. If you must stay here, choose a room preferably facing the harbour. Our room faces the inward waters where it appears to me that your own private boats can be moored just infront of your room if you chose a room on the 1st floor parallel to the waters.

Sofitel is a luxury brand hotel and we had an excellent suite room which was large and has a large TV which unfortunately did not have time to watch. Room is clean and and has a large bathroom with a large bathtub and standing shower. The room comes with a balcony and also has floor to ceiling windows. Lanvin toiletries were provided in the bathroom. There were also slippers, bathrobes and chocolates. Bed is comfortable and there is the usual tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. Not to forget wifi is complimentary. Lobby of the hotel is small but front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Nearby is The NZ Maritime Museum just 15 minutes walk from the hotel. If you prefer to dine outside, take a walk to one of the many nearby popular restaurants by the beautiful harbour at The Viaduct. This hotel is really beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Bonjour Jazabelle,

Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our waterfront location & the service you received throughout your stay. It is always gratifying to hear that our guests have had an amazing experience with the assistance of our Ambassadors and the hotel facilities and amenities such as our Lanvin products in our bath rooms.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.
Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
262 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great job the staff and management at this hotel. Rooms large & modern, very interesting internal courtyard designs. Location if you like looking at boats and yachts it does not get better than this one. You can exit hotel on the water both left and right for major bars and restuarant life just short walks. Breakfast Buffet a delighter for quality and variety and the staff attention to you, even though self service, they engaged with us each morning. Ditto in the bar at nightime, good drinks selection and bowls of nuts, with excellent bartender. Even the little cafe has good well trained staff and excellent product waterfront. Bellstaff helpful & knowledgeable Absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be larger and water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Bonjour CS1Shanghai,

Thank you for such kind word & for taking the time to share your Sofitel experience, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities, our waterfront location and our close proximity to most of the local hustle and bustle of the restaurants and nightlife while still retaining the tranquillity of the hotel and its inter water features that is our courtyards. It is truly gratifying to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time with the assistance of our Ambassadors throughout the hotel.


Thank you once again for your feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,056 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing