We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury hotel but staff need to work out beter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel but staff need to work out beter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for our last night in NZ after 3 weeks on the road. Great way of living at this hotel since it's close to everything and it's place in the harbour.

We booked the room 3 month in advance and specified that we wanted seperated beds. However when we arrive we got a superior room that we booked and it was a king size bed. Spent 10 min at the reception to solve the problem and asked them for maybe a room upgrade that can fit a extra bed. They sad I had to bay another 90NZdollars for it and I just lost it. I told her I have platinum memberchip at Accor (the chain witch sofitel includes in) and I can get free upgrade if avalible. She took a 1 min talk with her supervisor and we got a free upgrade to a luxury room with extra bed. Also we got complementary whaterbottles and some coockies.

Overall a great hotel but need to work on the service. Great location in the harbour witch makes it possible to arrive with a boat if so wanted.

Breakfast was overpriced and not worth it. However the hotel repaired there misstake and our 2 other friends where allowed to stay in the same room since they had to leave to the airport 3am.

Would stay at this hotel when i visit Auckland again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,673
    687
    211
    69
    32
See reviews for
355
1,560
133
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked for three nights. First night room was too cold and A/C control not operating so spoke to chap making up the room next morning and he fixed it. Second night OK but third night heating not working at all. Complained at reception in person around 6 pm and man came back up with me and tried to adjust A/C without success. Said he would get in touch with engineer and to wait in room. I waited in room until ready for bed at 10.20pm but still no engineer. Rang reception but phone kept ringing and nobody answered so went to bed wearing towelling robe to try and get warm. Checked out next morning and paid for bottle of wine I had used and then told consierge of the heating problem so he deleted the cost of the wine. Two days later, at home I received e-mail saying I had not paid for the wine I used and it would be taken from my credit card. I just replied that if that is how they feel then go right ahead. Not happy..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. I love the location. Just walk out the door and view the boats in the harbor, choose a restaurant on the waterfront, or walk to shops.
Service is excellent, rooms are luxurious, food in the restaurant is very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaimie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Sofitel in Viaduct Harbour is one of the more luxurious places to stay and benefits from being a newer establishment than some of the city's other hotels. Based on a low-rise 6 story design around the water front, the decor is Balinese-themed and includes a number of water features (more about that later)

The service is wonderful - attentive without being intrusive and the rooms are luxurious, continuing the resort-style theme with shuttered windows and minimalist decor. The hotel is quiet - whisper quiet at all hours, which is absolute gold for a business traveller!
My only complaints would be that the beds and pillows are too soft, but that is merely personal preference from someone who loves hard beds and pillows.

Only one thing to be aware of! The water features in the public spaces can trap unwary guests who happen to be texting while walking. Yes, I stepped in one. Serves me right. Overall - a hotel I'll definitely return to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TenRingShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Me and my sister stayed for 5 nights, my experience in Sofitel was wonderful.
Perfect facilities, nice and helpful staffs and the room we stayed was nice big and has a balcony with beautiful view.
However, the location was the one thing we don't satisfied.
The hotel is located in Viaduct Harbour, witch is 20 minutes walking distance from main city, and especially as Auckland is a pretty quite city, there was no many options for public transport.
We bought a multi public transport card called AT HOP ($5 for card) to use City Link bus for free. If you don't buy AT HOP, need to pay for the bus.
The funny thing was, there was no bus stop on the way back from city to hotel. So even we caught a bus in city, we still had to walk 10 minutes from the nearest bus stop to hotel.

One more thing, the foods sold in a hotel restaurant was so bad.

Room Tip: We contacted hotel to ask a bigger room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachyjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This has to be my new favourite Auckland hotel. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left, the service was excellent and the experience overall was great. Like other Sofitels, the rooms are tastefully decorated with really nice bathrooms, breakfast is very high quality, lobby area is very nice and staff are welcoming, professional and efficient. Next time we need somewhere to stay in the city this will be it.

Our marina view room was quiet, the bed was so comfortable and it even had an espresso machine in it (have never some across that in a hotel before).

Worth paying for a marina view room if a view is important to you, the city views and 'internal waterview' rooms would not have great views.

Room Tip: Internal waterview rooms look out at an internal atrium with a water feature, pay more for a marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnynz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing