We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,762
    707
    217
    73
    35
See reviews for
368
1,636
139
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

From check in to check out this hotel was amazing. Staff were more than helpful and so pleased to actually have us at their hotel. The hotel is in a prime spot right on the viaduct so restaurants and bars were more than accessible . A short walk to Queen St shopping area. The bed and pillows were some of the best I have slept on and seriously cannot wait to come back again. I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 4th floor was excellent with a marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan C, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Bonjour Mitmas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you appreciated our luxuriously appointed rooms, as well as our staff's excellent service.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour in the near future.

Kind regards,

Israel Suarez-Guido
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Got a beautiful room facing the water feature with lovely water running sound when the balcony door is opened. However, there must have been someone smoking at night on the internal facing rooms but couldn't find out where it's coming from :(

Apart from that, the room is amazing and would probably remodel our wall paper to the hotel's.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alexis_aa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel and this time I was very dissapointed. Wifi did not work well in the room, avoid any Superior room for a traffic noise, twin room had a very tiny bed, a swimming pool was not working and staff did not know anything about a replacement local public pool - no map, no cost instructions of pad lock, towel and fees. I don't understand why can't they organise with their sister hotel in Auckland.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Yux2Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Bonjour Yux2Me,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

I would like to sincerely apologise for not having met your expectations while staying at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. We are continuously striving to improve on the service, facilities and amenities that we provide to our guests. As part of this our Internet service provider is currently in the process of conducting a survey of the property to highlight key improvement areas.

I would also like to apologise for the lack of fore warning of the last minute gymnasium renovations and expansion that took place during your recent stay at the hotel and the negative impact it had on your experience.

Could you kindly send me your contact details to stefan.coetsee@sofitel.com as I would like to contact you personally in that respect to the issues that you have so kindly highlighted and provide you with detailed feedback.

Thank you once again for your feedback & we hope that we receive another opportunity to provide you a magnifique Sofitel experience.

Kindest regards,

Stefan Coetsee
Guest Relations Manager
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Mixed reviews on this one.

The reception from the concierge team was not great, we weren't greeted or given assistance with our luggage.

I had requested an upgrade which hadn't been arranged however it was organised quickly at check in, reception staff had dirty uniform and not particularly friendly.

Our room was lovely, we had a room on the top floor with an internal view which was good. The bed was outstanding and pillows lovely however, and water delivered FOC at turn down. A small sink in our bar area and mini bar well stocked. The bath was really amazing, bathroom very nice and plush large towels.

We had an outstanding dinner at Lava, a small issue with the food was fixed immediately and champagne sent up to our room which was really nice.

So Spa was exceptional, very professional and well set out with lovely product.

Location is perfect for a viaduct experience, easy walking to viaduct and Wynyard Quarter.

Overall good, was a little disappointed with the service.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are very hot, we stayed mid winter and had aircon on all day and night trying to coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here for our last night in NZ after 3 weeks on the road. Great way of living at this hotel since it's close to everything and it's place in the harbour.

We booked the room 3 month in advance and specified that we wanted seperated beds. However when we arrive we got a superior room that we booked and it was a king size bed. Spent 10 min at the reception to solve the problem and asked them for maybe a room upgrade that can fit a extra bed. They sad I had to bay another 90NZdollars for it and I just lost it. I told her I have platinum memberchip at Accor (the chain witch sofitel includes in) and I can get free upgrade if avalible. She took a 1 min talk with her supervisor and we got a free upgrade to a luxury room with extra bed. Also we got complementary whaterbottles and some coockies.

Overall a great hotel but need to work on the service. Great location in the harbour witch makes it possible to arrive with a boat if so wanted.

Breakfast was overpriced and not worth it. However the hotel repaired there misstake and our 2 other friends where allowed to stay in the same room since they had to leave to the airport 3am.

Would stay at this hotel when i visit Auckland again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination. Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers seven private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre heated indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest Champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing