We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hipster cafe”
Review of Shakey Isles Cafe

Shakey Isles Cafe
Ranked #607 of 2,326 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cute hipster cafe”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great selection of freshly baked goods, so good in fact we came back 3 times during our Auckland stop over. We had the brioche bene, rich and creamy eggs and bacon and I tried the organic fruit porridge (suitably served on wooden cutter and mason jar). Coffee quality was a highlight and my 2 kids were delighted with the yummy touch of genius -
a stick of Whittaker's chocolate in their hot chocolates. Added bonuses: children's toys (which is always a good sign that kids are welcome) and WI-Fi. Often cafes this groovy ... the staff can be a little, er .. you know, up themselves, but these guys were super friendly

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“funky little place”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

very cool, nice staff, great smoothies and very popular with locals by the looks. had the bruschetta, for $15.50 might have liked another piece of haloumi but it was still amazing and highly enjoyed. also the plum and cherry smoothie was great. thanks!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaitime78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great spanish breakfast and good value”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

lovely open space in a converted warehouse one block from the harbour with lovely open windows so it's nice and sunny on a cold sunday morning. I ordered the spanish breakfast (baked baby potatoes with chorizo, spinach and cheese) and it was excellent quality and just the right portion size, good value at about $17. Coffee is good quality and all juices are freshly made. Our waitress was very sweet and genuinely friendly. I liked this place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a perfect little spot in the Auckland CBD for a casual lunch. It can get busy so getting a table early is recommended

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Central City Cafe”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good Coffee, Good atmosphere, worth a try when in the central city britomart district. Lots of space

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank c73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakey Isles Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Shakey Isles Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing