We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stay”
Review of Ponsonby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ponsonby House
Ranked #17 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Perfect Stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Ponsonby House was recommended by a friend and our stay exceeded our expectations. In a perfect location (easily found using public transport), it felt like we were staying with good friends, as the service was warm, homely and friendly. Jonathan and Bernadette are fantastic hosts. We stayed in the Jasmine room, with its wrap around windows, comfy king-size bed and excellent bathroom, with a nice deep bath! The room also has multiple TV channels via Sky and fast complementary Wi-Fi. 5 Star quality linen, towels and bathrobe were also a great touch. We were presented with afternoon tea (warm home-made scones, jam and tea), which was so lovely and again gave us that extra special feeling of being well looked after. After a great nights sleep, we awoke to the smell of croissants accompanied by fresh fruit, juice, Greek yogurt and various cereals. Tea and Coffee (cafeteria) is also available in the room. It really was a wonderful stay and we are so pleased that we found this excellent B&B. We will pass on the recommendation to friends, family and fellow travelers to Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I travel a lot for work and normally stay in big hotels but this time in Auckland I decided to stay in a B&B. Ponsonby house is a lovely B&B. The room was lovely, the bathroom is gorgeous, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the couple running the accommodation are really lovely. They made my business trip feel like I was at home. I would much prefer to stay there than in a 5 star hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inca1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Bernadette and Jonathan, thanks for a wonderful weekend in Ponsonby.

You have a wonderful B&B, run it with care, attention and warmth.

We will definitely be back again and wish to advise other travelers that this is a fantastic B&B in Ponsonby and beats all hotels we´ve stayed in in Auckland.

Those beds are amazing and we had such a good sleep

Well done guys and thanks for a great stay.

Dave

Room Tip: We got to see all 3 rooms. They are all lovely and unique. Check out the photos on their website to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveb970_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We selected this B&B based on location and price. We were surprised by the high quality, attention to detail and relaxed friendly nature of our hosts. We will most definitely make this our base in Auckland on any subsequent visits.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1972Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I don't know how we got so lucky to have chosen this B&B for our first and last nights in New Zealand, but everything was so warm and welcoming and just fantastically pleasant! We had tea and cake when we first arrived in Auckland and tea and scones on our last night before we left! The room (Jasmine) was spacious, quiet, and luxurious with a view of the garden and a bit of the harbour. Everything is very modern and luxurious without being over the top. A wonderful breakfast is left in the room each night with fresh warm croissants just outside the door at the appointed hour in the morning! It just doesn't get any better :) Bernadette and John were like old friends even though we had just met. Lots of very helpful advice on where to go and what to see, and we felt very welcome and happy to stay there. If there is a place to stay in Auckland, this is surely it!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magienoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We only stayed at Ponsonby House for 1 night but would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Auckland. The location is great - 50 feet fom Ponsonby Road with its collection of shops, cafe's & restaurants and just a 15 minute bus ride into central Auckland.

The room was bright, spacious (large bed, 2-seat leather sofa & small table, large ensuite) impeccably clean and furnished to a very high standard.

Bernadette & Jonathan were incredibly warm & hospitable - arriving bedraggled after a long journey we were made to feel extremely welcome with Bernadette delivering a pot of tea & biscuits to our room within 10 minutes.

Breakfast was great - freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt, fruit and cereal left in your fridge the night before with bread, butter & croissants delivered in the morning.

Bernadette & Jonathan are lovely people who made our stay very enjoyable & are full of helpful recommendations.

Tip: walk up to Ponsonby Road and immediately opposite is a great fish & chip shop.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a fantastic two night stay in Ponsonby House. Bernadette was extremely welcoming and we really appreciated the offer of a cup of tea or glass of wine upon our arrival after a long drive. Very friendly without being intrusive, very high standard of accommodation, furnishings, bed linen etc and the breakfast of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt and warm scones delivered to our door was perfect. The B&B is situated a very short stroll from the main street for great shopping and numerous bars and restaurants, and Bernadette was able to offer some terrific recommendations for places to visit. We'll definately return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos57Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 58 in Auckland
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby House

Property: Ponsonby House
Address: 8 Douglas Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love coming home to Ponsonby House, boutique bed and breakfast. Enjoy the old-world charm of the house which is located in the heart of the thriving inner-city suburb of Ponsonby, only minutes from the centre of Auckland city. Enjoy the luxurious en-suited rooms and relax in the sumptuous, super-comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton sheets. With the cafes, restaurants, bars and boutiques on Ponsonby Rd only a minute’s walk away, everything is on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ponsonby House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing