We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponsonby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ponsonby House
Ranked #17 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I chose Ponsonby House based on reviews I saw on this site. I will say Ponsonby house exceeded every expectation my partner and I had. Berndatte (the ownder) is extremely welcoming and hospitable. The room (we stayed in the earl grey room) was perfect, clean and very cozy. The breakfast was very nice and delicious. In the afternoon, we had afternoon tea which was accompanied by homemade scones (A week and a half later, I'm still thinking of them). We HIGHLY recommend Ponsonby house if travelling to Auckland. Our only regret is that we stayed for one night only. We definitely will stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRMD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed in 2 different rooms during my visit- both very quiet, sunny and clean. Sally (the owner) is very friendly and provides great service and breakfast. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is very cozy and lovely with nice paintings and furniture. If you don't want to stay at business hotels and you are looking for a place which feels like home, this could be great for you and you can also go out and take a walk around the neighbourhood in ponsonby and relax. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nz0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadette W, Owner at Ponsonby House, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
I think this review is intended for the Great Ponsonby Art Hotel - the owner there is Sally (I'm Bernadette). Easy to confuse with Ponsonby House.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Ponsonby House was recommended by a friend and our stay exceeded our expectations. In a perfect location (easily found using public transport), it felt like we were staying with good friends, as the service was warm, homely and friendly. Jonathan and Bernadette are fantastic hosts. We stayed in the Jasmine room, with its wrap around windows, comfy king-size bed and excellent bathroom, with a nice deep bath! The room also has multiple TV channels via Sky and fast complementary Wi-Fi. 5 Star quality linen, towels and bathrobe were also a great touch. We were presented with afternoon tea (warm home-made scones, jam and tea), which was so lovely and again gave us that extra special feeling of being well looked after. After a great nights sleep, we awoke to the smell of croissants accompanied by fresh fruit, juice, Greek yogurt and various cereals. Tea and Coffee (cafeteria) is also available in the room. It really was a wonderful stay and we are so pleased that we found this excellent B&B. We will pass on the recommendation to friends, family and fellow travelers to Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I travel a lot for work and normally stay in big hotels but this time in Auckland I decided to stay in a B&B. Ponsonby house is a lovely B&B. The room was lovely, the bathroom is gorgeous, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the couple running the accommodation are really lovely. They made my business trip feel like I was at home. I would much prefer to stay there than in a 5 star hotel. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inca1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Bernadette and Jonathan, thanks for a wonderful weekend in Ponsonby.

You have a wonderful B&B, run it with care, attention and warmth.

We will definitely be back again and wish to advise other travelers that this is a fantastic B&B in Ponsonby and beats all hotels we´ve stayed in in Auckland.

Those beds are amazing and we had such a good sleep

Well done guys and thanks for a great stay.

Dave

Room Tip: We got to see all 3 rooms. They are all lovely and unique. Check out the photos on their website to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveb970_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We selected this B&B based on location and price. We were surprised by the high quality, attention to detail and relaxed friendly nature of our hosts. We will most definitely make this our base in Auckland on any subsequent visits.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1972Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW US
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I don't know how we got so lucky to have chosen this B&B for our first and last nights in New Zealand, but everything was so warm and welcoming and just fantastically pleasant! We had tea and cake when we first arrived in Auckland and tea and scones on our last night before we left! The room (Jasmine) was spacious, quiet, and luxurious with a view of the garden and a bit of the harbour. Everything is very modern and luxurious without being over the top. A wonderful breakfast is left in the room each night with fresh warm croissants just outside the door at the appointed hour in the morning! It just doesn't get any better :) Bernadette and John were like old friends even though we had just met. Lots of very helpful advice on where to go and what to see, and we felt very welcome and happy to stay there. If there is a place to stay in Auckland, this is surely it!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magienoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 54 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 54 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 54 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby House

Property: Ponsonby House
Address: 8 Douglas Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love coming home to Ponsonby House, boutique bed and breakfast. Enjoy the old-world charm of the house which is located in the heart of the thriving inner-city suburb of Ponsonby, only minutes from the centre of Auckland city. Enjoy the luxurious en-suited rooms and relax in the sumptuous, super-comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton sheets. With the cafes, restaurants, bars and boutiques on Ponsonby Rd only a minute’s walk away, everything is on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ponsonby House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing