We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Ponsonby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ponsonby House
Ranked #18 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Washington, DC suburbs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We chose Ponsonby house because of its location, and that worked well. It is close to the Inner Loop busline and that allowed us to leave our car and not have to deal with Auckland traffic and parking.
Our hosts were very nice. They parked their car on the street so we'd have a space to park when we arrived. They shared good information about Auckland and how to get around.
Our room was very clean, bed and pillows were comfortable. Our continental breakfast was delivered to our door each morning, and was very good. The bad news about this was there was no common room to meet other travelers. We did feel like we were in a hotel.
Other pluses, wifi was good, shower was fantastic, neighborhood was safe and lots of late night activity on Ponsonby Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was clean and comfortable and we really liked the area. It was on the bus route but we enjoyed the walk down to the Skytower and other attractions and back up again. Very convenient. It was well situated for an evening stroll or meal in Ponsonby Road too. We were happy to have breakfast in our room, though it is good to meet other guests sometimes. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I'm a bit torn writing this review. I wouldn't disagree with any of the other reviewers per se, but perhaps how I feel about Ponsonby House is the downside of online reviews and a website that markets well (my expectations were high after reading only positive things, and people who've had just a 'meh' experience like ours usually don't bother to review).

The owners are indeed very helpful and pleasant. The location is reasonably good (though Douglas Street isn't exactly flash). The room was clean, the bed comfortable. The house is nice enough.

The major downside is that Ponsonby House has absolutely no communal space. No lounge, lobby, or dining room, and no garden (except a small veranda on the front) or off-street parking (on street parking is free though).

Part of the experience of staying in a bed and breakfast or hotel for me is the breakfast part, and it left us underwhelmed and a bit disappointed. A continental tray is left outside your bedroom door in the morning: croissants, cheese, bread and jam/honey, standard cornflakes and muesli and a couple of bits of fruit and yoghurt. Apart from the fact that it feels a bit like being given a packed lunch allocation, the major downside is that you have to eat it in your room. Of all the B&Bs I've stayed in (in NZ, Aus and Europe) I have never experienced this before. It felt a bit weird filling a kettle in the en suite to make a cup of tea with breakfast! (And of course, there's no coffee machine).

Our room had two chairs and a small narrow desk-type table (not really set up for eating). To be fair, I asked if there was anywhere else to eat and was offered the veranda or the owner's own back yard (which felt a bit too much like intruding on their space). It just wasn't at all what I was expecting.

If I had been aware that that was the arrangement I'd not have booked at Ponsonby House. Nothing on the website seems to spell this out, but neither does it specify to the contrary. Some people might like the novelty, but I prefer to choose my own breakfast and eat it in a comfortable environment, at a table. So I guess it comes down to what you are anticipating. If you are ok with the breakfast set-up and basically being confined to your room, everything else is fine. Would we go back? No, probably not.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jo_welly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I made a return visit to Ponsonby House recently and enjoyed it as much as ever. My room was lovely, and Jonathan and Bernadette were of course the perfect hosts.

They, along with the charm of the property, make Ponsonby House very special.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My family and I stayed at Ponsonby House in January 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay. Ponsonby House is well located and is close to Auckland CBD.

The rooms were very spacious and immaculately clean.

Bernadette and Jonathan are excellent hosts and showed us true kiwi hospitality. When we checked out, we also appreciated Jonathan driving us to the Passenger Cruise Ship Terminal in downtown Auckland.

Well worth the stay - highly recommended!

Martin & Vivien Winship

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winship51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Ponsonby House in the Jasmine Room, very large and sunny room.
Bernadette and Jonathan are great hosts, nothing was a bother from arranging transport to drawing us maps. Great location to all the great restaurants and shops in the area and very close to be able to catch the bus into the city.Breakfast was great, having croissants deleveried to your door each morning was a wonderful surprise. Thank you very much for a lovely stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We arrived after a 30-hour trip at 8:00 am and were greeted warmly and showed to the lovely Jasmine room. We spent 5 nights during our trip and Bernadette and Jonathan could not have been more friendly and helpful, arranging transport and giving advice on restaurants and things to do. The location is perfect, with literally dozens of restaurants within easy walking distance, and the bus to downtown Auckland a few steps away. The breakfasts are delicious. We could not recommend Ponsonby House higher. It's among the best in any country we've visited.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandfrank2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#6 of 58 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 58 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby House

Property: Ponsonby House
Address: 8 Douglas Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love coming home to Ponsonby House, boutique bed and breakfast. Enjoy the old-world charm of the house which is located in the heart of the thriving inner-city suburb of Ponsonby, only minutes from the centre of Auckland city. Enjoy the luxurious en-suited rooms and relax in the sumptuous, super-comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton sheets. With the cafes, restaurants, bars and boutiques on Ponsonby Rd only a minute’s walk away, everything is on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ponsonby House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing