We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful Stay at Ponsonby House”
Review of Ponsonby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ponsonby House
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Earl Grey room. Lovely large, room (spotlessly clean!) with beautiful furnishings and the most comfortable bed of any B&B we've stayed in. The breakfast each morning served in our room was fantastic -- croissants, fruit, cheese, cereal, juice, coffee & tea -- always delicious.
Our hosts were so friendly & personable. Bernadette always had time to answer any questions we might have concerning transportation, things to do, and places to eat.
The location of this B&B is very nice, close to shopping and many good restaurants. Bus transportation is only 1/2 block away & will take you anywhere you want to go in Auckland.
Would highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone seeking a very pleasant stay in a great part of Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flycamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed two nights in the ‘Earl Grey’ room at Ponsonby House on friend’s recommendation. What a stunner! The quality of the carpet tells you a lot about a place and this place has a fabulous carpet. Our room was large with a sofa and table to sit and enjoy the hot croissants and fresh fruit for breakfast. Small kitchenette with fridge, lots of china and cutlery and all the tea and fresh coffee you can drink. Very comfortable bed. The bathroom is fabulous. No nasty surprises here. Quiet Street but very close to all the action. Bernadette calmly ensures that her guests are well looked after. It’s great!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I needed a place to stay on very short notice, and pot-lucked the suggestion of Ponsonby House from another place which was full. I called Ponsonby House and Bernadette took my call, and cheerily told me she had a room due to a cancellation. As everything was booked out all through Auckland (a huge football tournament was on), I took it, knowing nothing about the area or the B&B. Well, I can safely say that I will not even bother staying anywhere BUT Ponsonby House in any future trips I have to Auckland. After I had booked it I called a Kiwi friend who informed me that Ponsonby is one of, if not the trendiest suburbs in Auckland. And the B&B itself is located about 50m from the trendiest part, of the trendiest street! We were a group of 3, and we shared the Earl Grey room. There was a king sized bed, a single, a lounge, coffee table and kitchenette. It was very spacious and even with 3 of us, there was plenty of room! Everything has been freshly refurbished to a very high standard, and the bathroom was huge and also freshly re-done to a modern standard. The bedding was extremely high quality, and the beds felt like hotel beds! Jonathan and Bernadette made us breakfast every morning and their fresh, hot croissants are to die for! I cannot recommend this B&B enough, they have simply nailed it! As for the person who said that there was no common area for people to relax together, it's not something that I understand, because to me a B&B is just that…. Bed and Breakfast. Not a hotel that has a cocktail bar or common area. Plus, you only have to walk 50m for the best bars in Auckland! Ponsonby House is incredible. Cannot give it wraps enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuyinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely b&b on quiet street. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Good public transit, too. Bernadette was very caring - she waited all morning for my delayed suitcase to arrive! We highly recommend Ponsonby House.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We chose Ponsonby house because of its location, and that worked well. It is close to the Inner Loop busline and that allowed us to leave our car and not have to deal with Auckland traffic and parking.
Our hosts were very nice. They parked their car on the street so we'd have a space to park when we arrived. They shared good information about Auckland and how to get around.
Our room was very clean, bed and pillows were comfortable. Our continental breakfast was delivered to our door each morning, and was very good. The bad news about this was there was no common room to meet other travelers. We did feel like we were in a hotel.
Other pluses, wifi was good, shower was fantastic, neighborhood was safe and lots of late night activity on Ponsonby Street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was clean and comfortable and we really liked the area. It was on the bus route but we enjoyed the walk down to the Skytower and other attractions and back up again. Very convenient. It was well situated for an evening stroll or meal in Ponsonby Road too. We were happy to have breakfast in our room, though it is good to meet other guests sometimes. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I'm a bit torn writing this review. I wouldn't disagree with any of the other reviewers per se, but perhaps how I feel about Ponsonby House is the downside of online reviews and a website that markets well (my expectations were high after reading only positive things, and people who've had just a 'meh' experience like ours usually don't bother to review).

The owners are indeed very helpful and pleasant. The location is reasonably good (though Douglas Street isn't exactly flash). The room was clean, the bed comfortable. The house is nice enough.

The major downside is that Ponsonby House has absolutely no communal space. No lounge, lobby, or dining room, and no garden (except a small veranda on the front) or off-street parking (on street parking is free though).

Part of the experience of staying in a bed and breakfast or hotel for me is the breakfast part, and it left us underwhelmed and a bit disappointed. A continental tray is left outside your bedroom door in the morning: croissants, cheese, bread and jam/honey, standard cornflakes and muesli and a couple of bits of fruit and yoghurt. Apart from the fact that it feels a bit like being given a packed lunch allocation, the major downside is that you have to eat it in your room. Of all the B&Bs I've stayed in (in NZ, Aus and Europe) I have never experienced this before. It felt a bit weird filling a kettle in the en suite to make a cup of tea with breakfast! (And of course, there's no coffee machine).

Our room had two chairs and a small narrow desk-type table (not really set up for eating). To be fair, I asked if there was anywhere else to eat and was offered the veranda or the owner's own back yard (which felt a bit too much like intruding on their space). It just wasn't at all what I was expecting.

If I had been aware that that was the arrangement I'd not have booked at Ponsonby House. Nothing on the website seems to spell this out, but neither does it specify to the contrary. Some people might like the novelty, but I prefer to choose my own breakfast and eat it in a comfortable environment, at a table. So I guess it comes down to what you are anticipating. If you are ok with the breakfast set-up and basically being confined to your room, everything else is fine. Would we go back? No, probably not.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jo_welly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
#5 of 62 in Auckland Central
127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 62 in Auckland Central
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
#10 of 62 in Auckland Central
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponsonby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsonby House

Address: 8 Douglas Street | Ponsonby, Auckland Central, Auckland 1021, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £92 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll love coming home to Ponsonby House, boutique bed and breakfast. Enjoy the old-world charm of the house which is located in the heart of the thriving inner-city suburb of Ponsonby, only minutes from the centre of Auckland city. Enjoy the luxurious en-suited rooms and relax in the sumptuous, super-comfortable beds and Egyptian cotton sheets. With the cafes, restaurants, bars and boutiques on Ponsonby Rd only a minute’s walk away, everything is on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ponsonby House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing