We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect! Our Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Ranked #6 of 53 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect! Our Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Myself and of my friends recently returned to the states after staying in Auckland for 4 weeks while working on some research at the University, as well as some traveling throughout the rest of NZ. After an exhaustive search of possible places to stay, we booked a room at the Ponsonby Manor, and we are so glad we did. This truly became our home away from home.

The property itself is a recently restored Victorian mansion right in the midst of Ponsonby Road, a trendy strip of restaurants, shops, and bars. It is an easy 20 minute walk to the Central Business District, or a quick 10-15 minute bus ride (closer to 30 in rush hour, as we quickly learned) on the convenient Inner LINK system.

As other reviewers have stated, everything you could want is supplied in the Manor... full and well-equipped kitchen (which is a little small, so can be a bit busy at busy times of the day when most rooms are full!), TV room with DVD player, washer and dryer, garden area with nice big table and lots of chairs for socializing with other guests, BBQ, and nice dining area inside.

Although plenty of people come for just a night or two, many of the guests were staying at the Manor long-term, thanks to the good weekly rates. This has some great benefits, as you'll meet some really wonderful people and also everyone really treats the Manor as home, so the common spaces are never left dirty/messy and it never gets too loud.

I have already recommended the Manor to many of my friends and family for their future travels to New Zealand. I will stay here anytime I make the return trip to Auckland. In all of our travels throughout New Zealand, no other lodging compared to the Ponsonby Manor!

Room Tip: Room 14, the single, is tiny but perfectly functional. The only room I would perhaps avoid is Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
54
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I'm due to check out of the Manor tomorrow morning for a week of travelling but I love it here so much I've decided to return to Auckland early and have booked another few days (and the owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful about it either!).

The place is newly refurbished and is absolutely gorgeous. I stayed in room 8 which has an ensuite, large flatscreen tv, fridge and kitchen sink unit. The huge window overlooks the neighbouring church and, when closed, makes the room almost soundproof (not that it's noisy anyway).

The main areas are also fab; a well equipped kitchen & dining area where you are allocated your own cupboard, freezer and fridge space, plenty of crockery and ample facilities to cook and eat. There is also a comfy looking TV room as well as a utility room with a washer & dryer (great for those on extended trips).

The location is second to none - you can catch the bus from outside the Manor which will take you to the city in about 15 mins. So far I have managed to park my car in the street opposite at all hours of the day, free of charge. There are ample cafes, restaurants & bars in the area - the only trouble you'll have is picking where to go (the International Food Court is a good place to start for yummy cheap Italian/Indian/Chinese/Thai/Malaysian/Japanese food).

And if this review hasn't completely swayed you - just take a look at their prices (swiftly followed by the 'book now' button before someone else does)!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lausie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed here for two weeks & would have loved to stay longer!!! The Manor is a beautiful modern house. The rooms are so comfortable & the house has everything you could possibly need to feel right at home: Washing facilities, a BBQ, nice garden, clean modern well-stocked kitchen & dining area, a cosy TV room & free wifi & desktop computer use. It really was the best place I've ever stayed & I'll definitely be recommending it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Auckland. As the previous person said the area of Ponsonby is packed with heaps of great cafes & restaurants & the convenience of the bus right outside the front door makes for super easy travel. Stephen is very friendly & the whole place is perfect if you ask me! If you're thinking about booking - DO IT! You won't regret it! Enjoy :)

Room Tip: I had Room 6 upstairs & it was lovely but to be honest I think all the rooms are pretty great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGinger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Red Monkey Manor is a stylish, newly-restored Victorian house so we were among the first guests to stay there. It is simply but tastefully decorated and geared to the independent traveler who wants the privacy and convenience of coming and going as you please, cooking your own meals, and feeling like you're in your own home for a week or more. The kitchen has two stoves, two ovens, huge industrial refrigerator, plus a microwave oven, toaster, blender, pots/pans, utensils, etc. There's also ample cabinets to accomodate the various guests' needs for food storage.
There's a TV in every room as well as a big screen TV in the living room with a cozy fireplace. There's free wireless internet, a back-yard garden area with table and chairs for a barbecue or get-together.
The house is on the main street of an upscale neighborhood across from an excellent, well-stocked deli/market with fresh organic produce, meats, cheeses, wine and spirits.
When you walk out, there are many coffee houses, restaurants, and boutiques to choose from, up and down Ponsonby Road. We dined at an excellen Thai restaurant half a block away and had breakfast/lunch just crossing the street. The bus stops in front of the house every 15 minutes and gets you downtown in 10 minutes.
Since we were on business, we arranged for several of our colleagues to stay here also and were able to meet without leaving the house.
We can't imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Auckland, for its convenience, privacy and comfort!

Room Tip: Room # 9 has its own lanai with an incredible view of the Auckland Skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafarumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

we recently stayed at the Manor whcih is the second accommodation run by red monkey in Ponsenby. its newly refurbished to a high standard and although there were a few things not finished things were being shipped in day by day and it will be a very well equipped and convenient place to stay. it is siutated in a trendy and happening area, good access to public transport, has its own laundry and free wifi with a public access computer.The owners are very friendly and accommodating. only concern would be that if the place is full you could be fighting for kitchen and eating space if the weather is lousy, otherwise plenty of outdoor terrace space in a nice garden. Room number 9 is the one to grab as it has its own balcony with double doors meaning you can lie in bed and see the stars and the city. Very romantic. its also has full disabled acess whcih is impressive. prices are reasonable and good value at time of our booking

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mableNmaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed at the Manor which was newly opened. The rooms are furnished to a high standard and beds very comfortable.The shared kitchen had everything you would need.The Manor on Posonby Road is in an excellent location as there are many restaurants along the road and it is only a 20-30 mins walk or a regular bus ( the stop is opposite the House ) down to Aukland city centre. We would highly recommend staying at this accommodation.

Brenda and Chris Sussex UK

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibunny53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 53 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor

Property: Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Address: 229 Ponsonby Road, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing