We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torn between offering this great hideaway and keeping it secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Ranked #6 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Torn between offering this great hideaway and keeping it secret”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I found this on Agoda.com and it is absolutely a diamond in the rough. Great location, great views, great value and great place.

Built in 1894 in the very posh and fashionable Ponsonby area of Auckland with a fantastic view of the city and easily accessed by public transportation or a nice walk to downtown. I found the rooms very presentable, very comfy and a phenomenal alternative to a hotel.

Room Tip: I had one of the best valued rooms in the manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
56
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have been staying at the manor in two seperate periods in Dec '13 and Jan '14. Both stays has been a pleasure. The manor has clean and comfy rooms and really nice beds. Only 10 min with bus to the CBD. The two owners are very friendly, helpful and accommodating of any requests. The guests are a good mix of long term tenants and people passing through, young and old, professionals and families. This is a guesthouse you will be coming back to.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianmolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

After two weeks of great experiences in New Zealand, we were pretty skeptical that anything in big-city Auckland could match up. We were wrong. The Manor was one of our favorite stays in the country and is by far the best place you can stay in Auckland. Even if you're not staying the full week (rooms are rented by the week), the rates are so reasonable that a four or five night stay makes it worthwhile financially. The location is absolutely the best. Right on Ponsonby Road with all the great bars and restaurants (incredible coffee and sweet rolls every morning just across the street!) and across the street from a bus stop with transport every 10-15 minutes that zips you to the ferry port and CBD in about 20 minutes. You can walk to any waterfront or downtown location too in about 30-40 minutes. We stayed in the Chapel Room on the second floor room with a balcony and jaw dropping view of central Auckland and the ferry terminals. We would sit sipping wine and just looking out over the city - especially beautiful at night. If you're staying longer or want to economize a bit, the Manor has a fully equipped (with top-end appliances) kitchen and a lovely back yard with BBQ grill. Let me echo too previous accolades for Steven and Paul. They are indeed very hospitable and professional, offering great advice and running a tight ship.

Room Tip: The website has an excellent description of each of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. It is such a pleasure to have wonderful interesting people like yourselves stay with us. We, like yourselves love Ponsonby with all its heritage and interesting architecture, not to mention the best restaurants and cafes in Auckland. Its a pity you had to return home before the Christmas lights were turned on down Franklin Road which is an annual experience not to miss. We hope you had a pleasant flight home and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Fantastic place to stay either on your own or with another. Ponsonby Manor is very clean and fresh with elegant surroundings and close to city. Fresh cut flowers in the hallway and a fully equipped modern kitchen. Stephen was always there to meet us and even drove us to our class so that we were not late. On my solo visit I felt completely safe at the manor. The rooms are warm, spotless, comfortable and well equipped. I have no hesitation in recommending at all and will return myself!

Room Tip: I have had rooms both at the back and front of the manor. Back is probably quieter but I had no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Hi Rebecca,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. We pride ourselves on understanding what guests like such as the ability to check in any time rather than having to wait around with luggage on the flights that arrive at 3 am in the morning. We understand that after a gruelling flight all guests want is to take a shower and climb into bed, so we personally see them to their rooms any time night and day. To drop you off at your classes when you were on a tight schedule was our pleasure.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here and have booked to come back again. The host's Steven and Paul are very professional, proficient and great people. Nothing was a bother, the room was heated for our arrival, all the right bits were taken care of, the room and en-suite was clean and tidy a pleasant surprise, and the main kitchen had copious additional bits and bobs for guest use. Well done. The location is perfect as there are so many options for restaurants, cafe's etc - across the road is a fantastic place to get any nibbles, groceries/deli items/liquor.

Room Tip: The Westmere Veranda Room is amazing, as you get the late sun and have direct access onto the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOIHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review. As fellow accommodation managers your comments are especially welcoming. Hopefully one day we can return the favour and stay with you. I am pleased you had a nice stay and experienced some of the amazing restaurants and cafes that Ponsonby has to offer.

Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What to say!?? We stayed there for a couple of months and enjoyed every minute. It is just in the heart of Ponsonby with all the nice restaurants and cafe´s. Everything is clean and the Kitchen has everything you need!! Our room had a beautifull view over the city and Ponsonby road. Theresa and Clinton the Managers are excellent they will do anything for you to have a great stay! I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoeRizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at the Manor for a few months and we were very sad to leave! I strongly recommend this guest-house if you come to New Zealand for the first time. It is comfortable and spotless, calm and entirely equipped. We really enjoyed the ensuite room with flat screen tv and comfortable beds! Spacious kitchen and high quality equipment throughout!
The Manor is ideally located on Ponsonby road close to shops, cafes, bus stops and bars, with a great view over Auckland CBD and the bay.
Excellent managers Teresa and Clinton are the loveliest people on Earth and will do anything for you to have a great stay. They are very arranging and reliable.
Don't look any further, you won't be disappointed at the Ponsonby Manor!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor

Property: Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Address: 229 Ponsonby Road, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened December 2011, Ponsonby Manor guest house is a gracious Victorian mansion that’s been completely restored to its former grandeur. Set in the heart of cosmopolitan Ponsonby, the soul of Auckland city, this iconic building is a part of New Zealand’s early settler history. It’s a peaceful retreat from the bustle of Ponsonby road with stunning views of harbour and city. The Manor has been completely renovated and all the rooms are beautifully furnished with a modern fit out against elegant Victorian craftsmanship. Floor to ceiling tiled ensuites throughout, large LCD TV’s, Air conditioning etc Enjoy a champagne on your balcony or in the Manors beautiful garden setting, then join in the fun immediately across the road at some of Auckland’s well renown restaurants. Afterwards take a short stroll along Ponsonby Road to visit the many bars, cafes and late night retreats that Ponsonby is famous for! There are separate computer stations with laser printer and UNLIMITED FREE ultrafast fibre broadband that’s fast. Alternatively connect from your room via WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing