We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My experience at Ponsonby Manor was by far met with the most hospitality that I have experienced traveling to date. We contacted the Manor in an emergency and they accommodated us on the spot, quickly, efficiently and with extreme understanding as to our situation. After staying for 3 nights, our accommodations elsewhere for the following days yet again fell through! And Jill (very friendly woman who took care of all the accommodations) called the owner and explained the situation to him. He was very understanding and they arranged for us to stay another week moving around their schedule to make it convenient for us.

They were very professional and run an very good business here. I highly recommend this establishment if you are here for a few days, a week or a month!

My sister had stayed at the Red Monkey Travellers Lodge and had nothing but amazing experiences there as well. She corroborated all the hospitality, good business ethic, and friendliness of the Red Monkey establishments.

I said it once, I'll stay it again-- VERY highly recommended.

Rooms were clean, house was immaculate. Quiet, but in a great and lively location. Each room comes with newly renovated bathrooms and furnishings. Kitchen is well equipped and easy to cook in. Guests are respectful and clean. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Fabulous heritage house, immaculately restored as a guest house. Rooms are light , airy and very comfortable. There is very good attention to detail too, even down to fresh cut flowers changed daily on the hall stand.
The guest house is very well located too. Plenty of cafes , restaurants and bars all within walking distance along Ponsonby Road. The city is a short ten minute bus ride away, with a stop opposite.
Staff were attentive and friendly.
The next time I'm in Auckland I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room nine has a private balcony with panoramic views of the CBD and harbour, spectacular !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a place that trully makes you feel like home. The owners (Thank you Jill) are so kind, the rooms are excelent and the location is very good. Only 10 min away from the CBD and so easy to find. Great facilities and great atmosphere. I would definetly comeback and recommend to every people who does appreciate a calm and relaxed night of good sleep. Top Choice!!!!

Room Tip: Even the gardens rooms are good so, just book and trust Jill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuiPedroSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I found this on Agoda.com and it is absolutely a diamond in the rough. Great location, great views, great value and great place.

Built in 1894 in the very posh and fashionable Ponsonby area of Auckland with a fantastic view of the city and easily accessed by public transportation or a nice walk to downtown. I found the rooms very presentable, very comfy and a phenomenal alternative to a hotel.

Room Tip: I had one of the best valued rooms in the manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have been staying at the manor in two seperate periods in Dec '13 and Jan '14. Both stays has been a pleasure. The manor has clean and comfy rooms and really nice beds. Only 10 min with bus to the CBD. The two owners are very friendly, helpful and accommodating of any requests. The guests are a good mix of long term tenants and people passing through, young and old, professionals and families. This is a guesthouse you will be coming back to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianmolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

After two weeks of great experiences in New Zealand, we were pretty skeptical that anything in big-city Auckland could match up. We were wrong. The Manor was one of our favorite stays in the country and is by far the best place you can stay in Auckland. Even if you're not staying the full week (rooms are rented by the week), the rates are so reasonable that a four or five night stay makes it worthwhile financially. The location is absolutely the best. Right on Ponsonby Road with all the great bars and restaurants (incredible coffee and sweet rolls every morning just across the street!) and across the street from a bus stop with transport every 10-15 minutes that zips you to the ferry port and CBD in about 20 minutes. You can walk to any waterfront or downtown location too in about 30-40 minutes. We stayed in the Chapel Room on the second floor room with a balcony and jaw dropping view of central Auckland and the ferry terminals. We would sit sipping wine and just looking out over the city - especially beautiful at night. If you're staying longer or want to economize a bit, the Manor has a fully equipped (with top-end appliances) kitchen and a lovely back yard with BBQ grill. Let me echo too previous accolades for Steven and Paul. They are indeed very hospitable and professional, offering great advice and running a tight ship.

Room Tip: The website has an excellent description of each of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. It is such a pleasure to have wonderful interesting people like yourselves stay with us. We, like yourselves love Ponsonby with all its heritage and interesting architecture, not to mention the best restaurants and cafes in Auckland. Its a pity you had to return home before the Christmas lights were turned on down Franklin Road which is an annual experience not to miss. We hope you had a pleasant flight home and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Fantastic place to stay either on your own or with another. Ponsonby Manor is very clean and fresh with elegant surroundings and close to city. Fresh cut flowers in the hallway and a fully equipped modern kitchen. Stephen was always there to meet us and even drove us to our class so that we were not late. On my solo visit I felt completely safe at the manor. The rooms are warm, spotless, comfortable and well equipped. I have no hesitation in recommending at all and will return myself!

Room Tip: I have had rooms both at the back and front of the manor. Back is probably quieter but I had no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, Owner at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Hi Rebecca,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review. We pride ourselves on understanding what guests like such as the ability to check in any time rather than having to wait around with luggage on the flights that arrive at 3 am in the morning. We understand that after a gruelling flight all guests want is to take a shower and climb into bed, so we personally see them to their rooms any time night and day. To drop you off at your classes when you were on a tight schedule was our pleasure.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
972 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor

Address: 229 Ponsonby Road, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: £79 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-opened December 2011, Ponsonby Manor guest house is a gracious Victorian mansion that’s been completely restored to its former grandeur. Set in the heart of cosmopolitan Ponsonby, the soul of Auckland city, this iconic building is a part of New Zealand’s early settler history. It’s a peaceful retreat from the bustle of Ponsonby road with stunning views of harbour and city. The Manor has been completely renovated and all the rooms are beautifully furnished with a modern fit out against elegant Victorian craftsmanship. Floor to ceiling tiled ensuites throughout, large LCD TV’s, Air conditioning etc Enjoy a champagne on your balcony or in the Manors beautiful garden setting, then join in the fun immediately across the road at some of Auckland’s well renown restaurants. Afterwards take a short stroll along Ponsonby Road to visit the many bars, cafes and late night retreats that Ponsonby is famous for! There are separate computer stations with laser printer and UNLIMITED FREE ultrafast fibre broadband that’s fast. Alternatively connect from your room via WiFi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing