We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best spot in Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Ranked #6 of 53 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best spot in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I shouted my parent to stay here, and they loved it! The room was beautiful and clean with a perfect deck looking out towards the city! Wouldn't stop saying how perfect it was. They will most definitely be back, and we will both be recommending this spot to everyone! Thank you so much Jill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
54
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent a few nights in June at Ponsonby Manor and we felt very welcome. Great location, very friendly staff, beautiful and comfortable accommodation. There is also very relaxing outdoor area, well equipped kitchen and everything what you need is provided. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michał W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three weeks at the manor whilst on a study placement, it was complete luxury (especially compared to the previous hostel I stayed in in auckland). Room was beautiful and spotlessly clean (serviced weekly) with tea and coffee, mini fridge, TV, amazing ensuite (so good to finally have a hot proper shower), desk and an amazing view over the auckland skyline. There is free wifi which worked!!! Very unusual given that most places charge you for internet. Also free parking which was extremely lucky given the manor's ideal location in ponsonby which is full of shops, amazing cafes and bars etc and 30 mins walk from the cbd. Jill the manager is lovely, always helpful and extremely friendly, always up for a chat. It was very peaceful and quiet, I never got disturbed or kept awake and the kitchen is well stocked with all the utensils you would need and ample designated space to keep your food. Thank you so much Jill for a lovely stay!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KateR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill B, Manager at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us at The Ponsonby Manor.
We have the new dishwahser in now - making life easier for guests and a new fence to give the back garden more privacy - I'm working on getting it all planted to make an even better space for guests summer BBQs !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manor, friendly staff, comfortable room,handy location,the management were helpful and informative showing us where to go,enjoyed meeting other residents,` all in all a great place to stay will come again next time we visit Auckland

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARLDRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill B, Manager at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Auckland and especially your stay with us at Ponsonby Manor - I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The room is considerable clean. The service is very poor. Looks like there is nobody to take care on that place. I was in a room besides the shared kitchen where people chat all night as well during the breakfast. That is fine. But when you want to sleep or do not want to wake up early in the morning, then become impossible…the location is very good.

Room Tip: Never stay besides the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StartdelMare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill B, Manager at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We were disheartened to read this guest’s comments which are out of character with our other reviews and apologise that her stay did not meet their expectations. We also note that this guest had moved to us from Bella’s Bed and Breakfast which they reviewed on Tripadvisor also and the review score they gave our friends at Bella’s was significantly out of keeping with what they have achieved otherwise.

We care deeply about the comfort of all of our guests. We have an on-site manager who resides at the premises to attend to our guest needs and requests as well as a dedicated team of daily cleaners. Alternatively, we also have additional back up offsite support via telephone available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week as well as complimentary WiFi internet in all rooms to aid guests should they require any assistance. This guest also did visit us personally prior to her stay to inspect the room which she checked in to. If there were any concerns about the room location we would have made sure to provide an alternative room, either before her stay commenced or during the stay.

We have a shared kitchen which we see as a positive and unique feature of our establishment as it provides a means for our guests to meet one another in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Due to the historic and protected heritage nature of Ponsonby Manor Guest House, first as a boarding school prior to 1876 and as a guest house from 1892 onwards, the location of the kitchen and adjacent rooms was unable to be altered or relocated during the most recent renovation in 2011. During this renovation, however, we did install internal sound proofing in the walls between each room and thick “hush” glass in guest room windows.

During the evening referred to by this guest, I had prepared a home cooked lamb roast dinner for two of our other overseas guests who were leaving as a thank you for staying with us and to which any of our guests were welcome to attend.

Altogether, there were a total of 5 people present and the dinner finished at 9.30pm. The guest mentioned to our manager just before the dinner concluded about noise from the kitchen as she stated she needed to wake at 3.00am to perform yoga.

Once again we apologise as unfortunately the timing of our evening dinner did not match the schedule of this guest. If we had of known otherwise we would have gladly rescheduled the dinner for another evening.

As part of our ongoing commitment to ensuring guest comfort we are making improvements to our kitchen area including installation of a new dishwasher which will reduce both noise levels and the amount of time staff and guests would need to spend in the kitchen and thereby further reduce any noise to adjacent rooms.
Once again we are disappointed that this guest did not enjoy her stay with us as much as we had hoped but we are committed to continual improvement for the comfort and enjoyment of the stay of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at Ponsonby Manor. The shared facilities were always clean and tidy. We had our four year old and one year old with us and they enjoyed their stay as well. A port a cot was provided, which was great. Would love to stay again over summer, so we could make use of the cosy back yard and BBQ facilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill B, Manager at Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
It was lovely to have the family stay - four year old Mason and his baby sister were very good young travelers !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, friendly staff and beautiful clean character accomodation. Will stay again and again. Even with three young children we felt welcomed and could relax while the kids ran around the gated garden! Over the road from one of the best coffee shops in ponsenby and a stones throw from a fantastic gourmet independent grocery store and yards away from some fantastic cafés, restaurants etc...Perfectly amenable and accommodating staff ( thanks gill) made our stay perfect.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
#5 of 53 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor

Property: Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor
Address: 229 Ponsonby Road, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Monkey Ponsonby Manor Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing