We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experiment, and so much extra.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Fern Backpackers
Ranked #79 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Clichy-Sous-Bois, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad experiment, and so much extra.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Arrived from Paihia, a friend and I booked a private room for 2.

- 1 when we arrived they explained that room was booked by 3 people then instead , they gave us a dorm, but for SAME PRICE than i Double room..., even with discussing with the landlord, it was impossible to find ANY arrangement, then BEWARE !!

- 2 I REALLY dont understand how people could find this place quiet. i had a guitare player (customer of the hotel) just under my windows and bunch of people w laith playing till 2:30am !!

- if you dare to stay just 20 mn more after 10 am checkin, (for a shower for instance) it 'll cost you $5 (never experimented this in other backapck)

internet credit was good.
Only
1 thing is sure, its my very LAST time in that place

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    14
    26
    25
    63
See reviews for
4
25
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I booked in this hostel because it was away from the busy and noisy city centre. And I got what I wanted, it's very quiet, not party going on late at night. It is a bit of walk, 15min away from the quay and just 10 from Queen street (and just 5 min to the sky tower). It didn't bother me at all though.

The hostel itself is very clean which I was very happy about. The kitchen was massive, lots of room to seat and was one of the cleanest I saw in an hostel .
The communal area is very big too, with lots of couches, nice place to socialize , everybody hangs out in there on the evening.
They also have a cinema room , laundery, free wifi internet.No bar (BYO in lounge and kitchen allowed).
I found they didn't have many showers, but I never had to queue, so not a problem.

I was in a 6 bed drom .We had enough room to put our suitcase and stuff. the bed was confortable and the sheet clean.
the staff was helpful, they are keen to give you information if you need help for anything . they gave phonecalls for me.

they offer a store room for 2$ a day.

I would happily stay in this hostel again. Clean, quiet and close from the city centre .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karendurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

sliver fern is a better than average backpackers.

The first thing I noticed was that it was clean, clean toilets, kitchen and dorms. The place appears to be new or very well maintained.

For a free backpackers breakfast, the breakfast was good.

My dorm room was clean, heated with a cormfortable mattress.

The kitchen was well equipped and large enough that we were not crowded whilst cooking. Plenty of space in the fridge to store all my food.

The place had a positive vibe, the manager Dominic went out of his way to be helpful, we booked for two nights, ended up staying week.

Well located, easy access using public transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Turk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

In at 9pm, out at 5am - no frills neccesary - just needed a quick place to sleep and be able to park my car. It's right downtown (near the Aotea Square), amazingly clean, reception was extremely helpful and friendly and the bed was totally comfy. Very quiet, never heard a peep outside my door and no street noise either. I had a private room with shared bathroom for $75. Never saw anyone in the shower or toilet area. Room was bigger than I thought it would be, good lighting to read, two comfy chairs plus side table. Nice big mirror as well. Curtains are dark and I can imagine if you sleep past 5am, good to keep the light out. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed here two nights when I first moved to Auckland and met up with some friends from the UK.

Hostel wasn't very social and there seemed to be no activities going on.

I found it overpriced, I payed around $28NZ per night for a 6 bedded dorm, wheras friends had booked through a 3rd party website and were adament it was much cheaper.
Parking was $8per night which I would consider cheap for central city.

50mb of wifi internet free then you have to pay.

Breakfast finishes at 9am, we made the dumb mistake of pressuming it was 10am.. like every other hostel we've been to.. in the world.. so missed out on that.
Check out is 10am and they have big signs to inform you they will charge you $10 per hour for every hour after that. Oh as well as signs saying STRICTLY NO REFUNDS. So I wouldnt book too many nights in advance.

Key deposit is $50 as they have a ridiculously complicated key... this scared me as I have lost many hostel keys previously.... but luckily the hostels have been awesome and not cared.

Basically anything/everything costs extra money in this hostel and there was no vibe. I wouldnt stay here again, but would say stay here if you need one or two nights of quiet...
Was good location, clean, quiet...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I have stayed in better hostels; however for the one night I was there it was fine. But definitely a no thrills hostel. It was clean, and the rooms were fairly spacious. It was reasonably cheap so in that respect it is great value. There was free breakfast, the usual basics: toast and cereal.
The kitchen space is limited, and lots of washing up was pilling up on the sides so I opted to eat out.
I stayed in a dorm of 10, and had the top bunk; there were no ladders to get up top. So when I went to bed I found myself struggling to get up in the dark (not wanting to turn on the light as quite a few people were sleeping). There is no space to lock your bags away, which isn’t too much of an issue as I have a lock on mine. It did mean that people had left their bags open across the floor. The location is fairly good, only a 10 minute walk into the heart. I think for one or two nights this hostel is good value, but I would not have wanted to spend long there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

A good, clean hostel, with friendly staff. Nothing exceptional about the place but it's reasonably well located, and you get breakfast included. The Kitchen and bathroom facilites were good, and I stated above everything was clean. Though I'm unsure why you need to request a blanket, rather than just being given a sheet to sleep under.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danidawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
1.3 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#44 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#43 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 108 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Backpackers

Property: Silver Fern Backpackers
Address: 234 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Fern Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Fern Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing