We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Fern Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Fern Backpackers
Ranked #76 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

This backpackers was modern and very large. I saw on some websites that there was free parking but that was not the case. There were designated parking spots but you have to pay extra for them. The kitchen had a diner feel to it with booths and tables. There was also a cinema tv room and another lounge near reception. The room itself was long and thin with a few sets of bunk beds. The doors lock automatically if you shut them so make sure you always have a key with you. The location was a bit of a walk to main attractions in the city center. I would stay here again if parking was free but would try elsewhere first if I had a car.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    14
    26
    25
    61
See reviews for
4
25
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed here while we went to a concert at vector Arena, the hostel was very clean and comfortable. It had an excellent kitchen and lounge areas. The pool table was our popular spot to relax by and have a few beers. The staff were cool and friendly and the hostel was well run and looked very new.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed here for several nights....very clean, well equipped kitchen,etc.....but what is it with the money scrounging? If they could charge extra for breathing, they would!! There are NO extras in this place....pity because it is well run. And the staff could benefit from being a little more pleasant....the morose look behind the desk is not a good look!

Room Tip: Beware the rooms over or next to the veranda....impossible to sleep when crowd gathers there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wanted somewhere to stay in Auckland that was fairly close to the city centre and from the silverfern website this backpackers looked perfect. DON'T BE FOOLED! I arrived there and was asked for a $50 key deposit which is, I think, beyond ridiculous. Everywhere else I have stayed it has been around $20 and so it was lucky I had some cash on me. I then eventually found my room, they haven't half made it like a maze having to go upstairs and down stairs a million times. Next thing, the room stinks, it has 10 beds in it and one tiny window...think it needs some ventilation desperately! Once settled in I then went to ask the women at the desk about various tours and they didn't understand me or know anything about anything. Was really unhelpful especially as I am travelling on my own. Later on I then went to use the bathroom...these smell really bad too and something obviously leaks as the floor is wet and dirty. The smell is the worst though. I guess it's not all bad though, they do have a spacious kitchen area and a big tv room which is nice to relax in. They do have lots of extra costs though for being late and things. Also parking is $8 per day. No one told me this so my car nearly got towed away. Again not very helpful. As a result of all this I shall not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DottyCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I got a mixed 8-bed room, for which I paid +28 nz dollars and the room was first level underground, with tiny windows, plus, when I got to the room they were painting! that same smell kept caged indoors at night, it was stinking and really made you sick.. how can they be so ridiculous to offer rooms with tiny windows underground while they are doing painting work!!!
Plus, at night, with no prior warning, they close the kitchen, which is the only normal way to reach the rooms underground. you have to go to the other side of the building, go upstairs and then downstairs again!!! Of course, discover it yourself since the reception is locked and there is no one there to help at night, although it is before midnight. You really feel like going to a vault through super narrow stairs--
So, bear in mind you will not be able to grab any of you food after 10 00 or something
Plus, no breakfast included as they say in www.booking.com, bathrooms are disgusting: toilets get flooded with the water from the showers on the other side... seriously awful... only 2 toilets for 3 rooms with at least 8 beds each... and on top of that, the floor is all full of water.
For the same price you can get any MUCH better hostel.
The tiny windows face the ground floor at the door of the hostel, where everyone goes to smoke and chat at night, so you cannot even have a quite sleep: people are right next to the window... so all the echo comes inside as if they were inside the room.
So, 28 dollars for this room???? can't believe it...

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hostel. Auckland is full of beautiful areas and nice hostels with parks. This on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Cheap enough, central location. Bathrooms and rooms were in tidy condition. Rooms were very hot and only a tiny window that didn't let in air flow which made it difficult to sleep. This would only really be an issue from Dec-Mar

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

The worst hostel I have stayed in in the whole of New Zealand... By far. Walked up and there were lots of people sitting outside in the car park... As soon as I felt the temperature outside I understood why. Sweaty and stale and horrendously hot. They demand $50(!!!!) for a key deposit... And if you pay by card it's a 5% surcharge, so unless you have tonnes of cash on you on arrival you're screwed. The receptionist handed me a bunch of sheets, I found my room was even hotter than the hallways if possible, dirty (toothpaste all over the table which was never cleaned off throughout my stay) and bunks with plain mattresses. Had to make your own bed from scratch - sorry what exactly am I paying for?! Unbearable in room, no fan, windows didn't open. Asked for a fan.... None. Ridiculous. Free breakfast on the website - it's a lie. It refers to tea and coffee and milk powder. If you want to remain in the hostel after 10am checkout it's $5 for 4hrs or $10 for the day... Such cheek! You have to pay for luggage storage as well. Often no toilet paper, and no soap in bathroom dispensers for entire stay. Obviously not cleaned well. Really really grim hostel, please do not stay here, you can do so much better for your money elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.7 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
1.3 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#36 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Newton Lodge
Newton Lodge
#51 of 107 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#13 of 107 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Fern Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Fern Backpackers

Property: Silver Fern Backpackers
Address: 234 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Fern Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Fern Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Fern Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing