We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 59 Auckland B&B and Inns
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

A place of unsurpassed tranquillity amidst the chaos of Auckland. Peaceful and Luxurious. From the personal welcome, complete with Bubbles and nibbles, to the fond farewell you will not find more Amazing Hosts - David and Averill. A restful pleasant escape from reality.

A scrumptious breakfast cooked and served by a man not afraid to show off his pinny ;) and/or fresh and fabulous continental style prepared by the Lady of the Manor.
Excellent restaurants nearby, thanks for the great advice on dinner arrangements.
Will definitely return when next able to escape.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanandSueNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Sean and Sue.
Thank -you for your review which we very much appreciate.
It was also a wonderful time for us to have your company and have you stay.
Averill and I do hope we will see you again.
Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
24
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taurang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Fantastic experience. Sheer luxury and wonderful hosts in David and Averill. Excellent location near to the delightful St Heliers and Mission Bays, and so convenient for the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Such a unique and indulgent experience in this luxury oasis. Our hosts Dave & Avril could not have made us feel more welcome and relaxed during our two night stay. A fantastic mix of relaxation and activities combined in one property. Enjoyed a stroll to St Heliers beach for dinner after an afternoon of tennis and lounging by the pool. 5+ star accommodation with the added personal touch of great hosts. Thank you so much for an incredible and memorable stay.

Room Tip: For a stream of morning sunshine choose the Royal Room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

..... to lounge in the pool, have a game of tennis - the proper thing or table tennis. We have just had two nights of luxury at the Consulate and could have stayed longer - just to relax and enjoy. We were a little earlier than our appointed hour - it's hard to judge timings when you're coming a long way but we were welcomed in by Averill and shown around the beautiful home. No one else was staying and we had the run of upstairs (bedroom and shower), the lounge and huge dining room and then downstairs, rumpus and table tennis. We were greeted with a glass of bubbly and a cheeseboard and a bit of a natter hearing the great history of the house then left to our own resources. We were meeting family so they all came for a drink and we sat and enjoyed more drinks before we all went out for a meal. Whilst the B&B is not really walkable to restaurants, that was fine by us - nearby Mission Bay had a huge variety. We had the best night's sleep ever and have vowed to buy a new bed at home - then up to the sound of bird song and a beautifully cooked breakfast with fruit and yogurts. The property is very secluded, down the end of a long drive and you look out onto the tennis court and surrounding trees. No wonder the Americans loved it.
We can fully recommend the Consulate - definitely home from home and we were made so welcome. It's the little extra touches - very nice not to be handed a bill for the chocolate or fruit bar we helped ourselves to, as you would in a motel. Slippers and robes were provided, it's the sort of place you take your shoes off, one would certainly not want to dirty those beautiful carpets.

Room Tip: Ask for the Royal Room, upstairs, light and airy, lovely views of the gardens from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

As much as travelling is a luxury often reserved for those who have aspirations of getaways of far & away locations, or even further abroad "overseas"!
WHY?
Why would you forgo the same Luxuries when we have a heavenly resource of Stunning Beaches, Bush Walks, Cafe's on the waterfront & gorgeous hosts like Dave & Avril who run the sumptuous surroundings of "The Consulate B&B" in St Helliers!
Hospitality is at a premium, & a warm inviting atmosphere helps you drop all your "Lifes little Stresses" at the door.
The biggest of your worries would be "how to relax in the Shade covered pool, or even "who is going to beat who in a game of Tennis on their full sized Tennis court" (warning: Tennis apparel advised)
or just relax in the quiet surroundings where you are away from the doldrums of busy traffic & but a stones throw away from the most stunning beaches NZ has to offer!
Pair all this with your generous hosts, & you have all the makings of fine luxury travel you would find in the best 5 Star hotels.
Thanks A Million Dave & Avril.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bodylingo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed for one night but should have stayed for 2. The house was lovely and the hosts made us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvmace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Wonderful stay in spacious, modern and clean accommodation with very kind and generous hosts. Lovely breakfast and other small touches which will make your stay very memorable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,181 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
5.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,469 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Address: 259B St Heliers Bay Road | St Heliers, Auckland 1071, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This multimillion dollar palatial home in one of Auckland's finest suburbs has been occupied in the past six years by the Consul General of America to New Zealand. An opportunity now exists to stay where Presidents and Prime Ministers have visited,and where American Ambassadors have slept. Stay and enjoy the luxury, and relax both inside and outside of this lavish home in uncompromising style. Play tennis, swim in the pool, enjoy the games room or just collapse in front of the fire and large screen TV. Discover Auckland, the largest city in New Zealand with almost one and a half million residents. Enjoy the near by famous beaches and restaurants of St Heliers and Mission Bay. Take a cruise to Waiheke Island. See Kelly Tarlton's underwater world. Take the Explorer bus to see Big 14 Attractions.Plus many more exciting adventures. Don't delay. See you soon at The Consulate Luxury B&B Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Consulate Luxury Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Consulate Luxury Bed And Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing