We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury @ Auckland Downtown”
Review of Quest on Hobson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest on Hobson
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I relocated to Auckland for an assignment and found this very welcoming serviced apartment. Needless to mention my initial settlement was seemless and I never felt any missing facility. This serviced & serviced facility is personally taken care by the owner, staff is highly efficient and very friendly. I have stayed in NZ for 9 months and could never move elsewhere. Excellent service and value for money. This is central to Auckland downtown and all possible facilities. I have gone ahead and made many official and personal recommendations. I thank the staff for making my stay pleasant and memorable!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are quieter and nice. To add to this, they have excellent penthouse on the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have stayed here on and off in a one bedroom apartment for the last 8 months for business with stays of 1 week to a couple of months.
Location is great for work (in the CBD) and social activities.
Rooms are clean and modern and include all essential amenities required for longer stays (regular servicing, washer, dryer, fridge, fully equipped kitchen).
The staff are polite and very attentive; any minor issues have been resolved promptly.
I highly recommend for both short and longer stays in Auckland.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a relatively new hotel and we got a good price as "opening special" seems others had some complaints when construction was still ongoing but this was not evident during our stay.
As with many places in N.Z. our room had a kitchen, a studio and was very efficient with everything we needed including washer/dryer. No balcony but big picture window - we had upper floor which was quiet from any street noise.
It is more like an apartment bldg. and does not have a fancy hotel lobby or resto etc.
Location is very good especially if you arrive or leave by coach as it is barely 100 meters from the Sky City coach terminal. Also in CBD and close to many restos, shops, post office, grocery stores.
I liked this place and recommend it for economy and will return if back in Auckland.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Absolutely brilliant place to stay. Have stayed here a number of times and it is one of the place I always choose to stay when i am in Auckland. Friendly staff highly professional. Situated right in the heart of the city with sky tower at arms length. The manager is great and always makes you feel welcomed. Top Marks for the service and facilities available.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaival a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Shaival,
Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. As always it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The location and rooms are good. I wish some small things like iron boxes were of better quality. Mattresses are little too soft for a person like me who complains about back ache. Otherwise, interior of the rooms is good. Kitchen is also nicely furnished. Penthouses are awsome (except soft mattresses). There is no swimming pool. Gym is located at some distance (7-8 min walk).

Room Tip: Chose penthouses if you can afford however ACs were not installed in penhouses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandeep2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you fro taking time out to review our property and your comments. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The rooms are really nice and clean with all the things which we needed. Rooms having nice air-conditioning system. And the main thing is it is situated in the heart of the city which is really awesome. queen street by walking 3 minutes away, Britomart train and bus station only 8 mins away by walk, awesome restaurants at viaduct harbour just 5 mins walk, and the biggest entertainment area of Auckland which is " Skycity " just on the other side of the road across the signals. And the staff is really helpful and friendly. I will recommend my friends and relatives about this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors are really big and had a really big balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karanveer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you fro taking time out to review our property. It was a pleasure seeing you again and we are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have decided to edit my review for this place because of all the dramas I had to deal with months after I have left. This place might be cheap but everything else was awful, in the first response from the manager he said he didn’t charge a penalty fee ($150) where he did and I have received a refund after I made a formal complaint to the head office.

The second was the accusation of false pictures of my stay, I have never said the room was untidy and the room was okay but the windows weren’t nor were the tableware, all they had to do was to apologise for the mistake instead of accusing guests for posting false images. Everything I have written was true and the only one who wasn’t telling the truth was the hotel manager for lying about the fee he had charged and then had to refund after the head office ordered him to. I would AVOID this place at any cost.

Below is the original review.

Stayed at this hotel when I went back to Auckland for a visit but it was quite a bad experience and it has certainly put me off staying at another Quest Service Apartment again. When I made the booking I requested a room on a higher floor but then was given a room on the 3rd floor and looking at the back of another apartment block which was 3 metres away!

The room was okay but the windows were extremely filthy (this cannot be caused by me within 3 days of stay for sure) and the tableware were filthy as well and I didn’t know if they were cleaned properly so I have decided to wash them all again in the dishwasher, just as well I had a dishwasher in the room.

Internet was not included but I was shocked to see how much they were charging for using Wi-Fi. So if you are staying here try to get a package which includes the internet otherwise be prepared to pay for it.

Unfortunately I had a family emergency and had to go to leave and I tried to tell the manager I had to cancel the next booking. It was about 40 hours when I notified him because the office was closed when I realised I had to but the manager still insists to charge the cancellation charge no matter what, it was quite disappointing because it wasn’t like the hotel was fully booked and they had to turn people away. The manager said he will keep the room for me until the day I check in but unfortunately I had to go so that was an useless offer anyway. Also there is a charge on the credit card fees too, pay in debt card if you could.

Overall I would not stay here again and I only chose to stay there because I couldn’t find other places in the city that week but now I will make sure I avoid it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Walkman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
946 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Hobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: £98 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing