We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but good”
Review of Quest on Hobson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Hobson
Ranked #20 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
raglan
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Cheap but good”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed two nights here and thought considering the price $120 per night that the location and room size was very good value for money. The room was on Hobson street so some road noise but nothing unusual for a inner city hotel.
Our room was clean the shower worked well and for an extra $20 we parked the car under the building.
being right by sky city you had great access to restaurants at federal street and taxis etc.

Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on Hobson Street are slightly more noisy than ones on the eastern or western sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raglantripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    81
    39
    19
    11
See reviews for
29
61
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Lovely staff to meet and greet. Room was surprisely large with all amenities available.
Location was great for all the city activities, it's uphill to get to, but easy down hill to everything. Sky tower and coach station next door, so great for going further afield.
Would recommend to all.
Thank you staff for a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katethekracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A good stay. Everything I expected. Room was a good size, however no view at all. Good location.

Only improvements I can think of -

1) An extra blanket would have been nice. Despite the AC being turned to heat, it was still too cold with just one sheet and one blanket.

2) No power outlets in the bathroom. Kind of them to provide a hairdryer..but to use that in the kitchen, with a mirror was pointless.

3) Wireless internet should be free. Its become pretty standard of most hotels internationally to provide their guest with this. I did see the computer in the lobby, but really these days everyone wants to use the internet on their own devices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryripe1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.

There are only 3-rooms which unfortunately dont have power outlet in bathroom, I apologise that you were in one of them, however we are working on getting them installed asap in these rooms.

We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I relocated to Auckland for an assignment and found this very welcoming serviced apartment. Needless to mention my initial settlement was seemless and I never felt any missing facility. This serviced & serviced facility is personally taken care by the owner, staff is highly efficient and very friendly. I have stayed in NZ for 9 months and could never move elsewhere. Excellent service and value for money. This is central to Auckland downtown and all possible facilities. I have gone ahead and made many official and personal recommendations. I thank the staff for making my stay pleasant and memorable!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are quieter and nice. To add to this, they have excellent penthouse on the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have stayed here on and off in a one bedroom apartment for the last 8 months for business with stays of 1 week to a couple of months.
Location is great for work (in the CBD) and social activities.
Rooms are clean and modern and include all essential amenities required for longer stays (regular servicing, washer, dryer, fridge, fully equipped kitchen).
The staff are polite and very attentive; any minor issues have been resolved promptly.
I highly recommend for both short and longer stays in Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a relatively new hotel and we got a good price as "opening special" seems others had some complaints when construction was still ongoing but this was not evident during our stay.
As with many places in N.Z. our room had a kitchen, a studio and was very efficient with everything we needed including washer/dryer. No balcony but big picture window - we had upper floor which was quiet from any street noise.
It is more like an apartment bldg. and does not have a fancy hotel lobby or resto etc.
Location is very good especially if you arrive or leave by coach as it is barely 100 meters from the Sky City coach terminal. Also in CBD and close to many restos, shops, post office, grocery stores.
I liked this place and recommend it for economy and will return if back in Auckland.

Room Tip: Upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Hope you are well and thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback.
We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Absolutely brilliant place to stay. Have stayed here a number of times and it is one of the place I always choose to stay when i am in Auckland. Friendly staff highly professional. Situated right in the heart of the city with sky tower at arms length. The manager is great and always makes you feel welcomed. Top Marks for the service and facilities available.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaival a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harsh K, Owner at Quest on Hobson, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Shaival,
Thank you for taking out time to submit your feedback. As always it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Harsh Khanna
Franchise Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#44 of 67 in Auckland
101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 67 in Auckland
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barclay Suites Auckland
Barclay Suites Auckland
#7 of 123 in Auckland
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Hobson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Hobson

Property: Quest on Hobson
Address: 127 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Hobson 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Quest on Hobson Serviced Apartments Strategically located on the western side of the CBD, Quest on Hobson is opposite the famous St Matthews Church and adjacent Sky Tower, besides being only 1-minutes walk away from a multitude of businesses, fabulous shopping, restaurants, bars and theatres on Queen Street.Quest New Zealand and Fiji CEO Stephen Mansfield says that the new property will be a great choice for business and leisure travellers alike."Accommodation in the CBD is in hot demand and Quest on Hobson will provide further access to New Zealand's largest business, leisure and entertainment centre."The 44 room complex will host a range of studio, one bedroom, and interconnecting two bedroom apartments, each equipped with all the modern furnishings and independent facilities that Quest has become known for.Quest on Hobson reception hours are 7am to 9pm Monday-Friday and 8am to 6pm Weekends and public holidays. Guest may still check in after these times using our afterhours lock box and call centre. Instructions for this can be found outside reception doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on Hobson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Hobson Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing